We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acquapazza

Acquapazza
Campo Sant'Angelo 3808, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
041-277-0688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 1,197 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Marco
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Acquapazza was suggested at our hotel near San Marco, and a short stroll through the narrow streets led us to an enjoyable meal. Three of us ordered pizza, which ranged from a "wonderful" eggplant pizza to my slightly soggy four-cheese pizza (admittedly an uninspired choice), and the fourth person in our group was presented with a huge portion of mixed seafood in a broth, which she said was delicious. The assorted appetizers and the frosty bottle of excellent limoncello that was plopped on our table with four little ceramic cups after dinner were tasty surprises, but I assume the modest cover charge stated on the menu and included in our bill went for those treats. The wine was excellent, and we enjoyed watching the bustling wait staff. We definitely would go back, if only we could.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    119
    41
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Brusque, unfriendly service. Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We chose to eat here after reading some positive reviews in a number of travel guides. The restaurant was busy, and the menu pretty standard. It would have been a much better experience if the service was friendly, but we found the waiters to be rude and rushed. It was pretty expensive for what we had, we have had far better meals with more food and drinks and a better atmosphere in Venice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Eulalia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“LAST BUT NOT LEAST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our last evening in Venice and we were feeling rather jaded. Asked the concierge where she would go for dinner and she recommended this restaurant. We arrived to be seated outside on their raised terrace in the Campo Sant' Angelo (it was a cool evening but we preferred to be there as the restaurant itself seemed very full and busy) which was very pleasant. Almost at once complimentary bruchetta arrived and we were recommended an excellent Campania white. Our main courses included excellent cheese stuffed zucchini, an 'historic' pizza and the signature meat pasta dish 'tagiata di manzi al profumo mediterrano', which was outstanding. With friendly and attentive service this was a very good 'last supper' at reasonable prices. We will certainly return here for lunch sometime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As a general rule we avoid restaurants featured in international guidebooks. AcquaPazza was recommended by our hotel and was a short distance away. Very good FREE plate of bruschetta and assorted cicchetti soon arrived at the table, followed by a cracking bowl of linguine vongole and a perfectly executed tagliatelle with red mullet. First half bottle or red was corked - and the waiter agreed with us simply on sniffing the cork. Replaced the bottle immediately. Second bottle delicious. Wine list limited to the Naples area. Very good service indeed. We only realised later that AcquaPazza is actually in the International DK Venice Top Ten guidebook as one of the Top Ten restaurants!!! Rule broken then.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had dinner and although the waiters were not overly friendly, they were efficient. We went back for lunch and the service was much friendlier. They recognized us and were very accommodating. We sat on a lovely piazza, very quiet with a view of a leaning bell tower. So Venice. By Venice standards it's not outrageously expensive and lunch on the piazza was a highlight. Worthwhile.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acquapazza also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Acquapazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acquapazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.