We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just when you thought Venice could not get any more romantic...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 382 hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just when you thought Venice could not get any more romantic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in April 2013 and although it has taken me a while to get around to writing this review, I absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed on the ground floor in a room overlooking the Grand Canal. The rooms are dark, sexy and luxurious with a huge, stylish but comfortable bed with a chaise longue in front of the window. The temptation to spend the entire weekend in bed is overwhelming in these rooms. However, we did manage to go out and the hotel is wonderfully located as it is very near the vaporetto stop.

We arrived at the hotel by water taxi and this really was an exceptional way to start the trip. The street entrance is a little difficult to spot but if you get stressed out by wandering down blind alleys and getting lost then Venice is probably not the place for you anyway.

Breakfast is almost overwhelming with a huge range of fruits, pastries, meats, cheeses, juice & coffee. It sets you up for the whole day. It is nice to have table service rather than a buffet. Reception and bar staff were all so helpful, providing adaptors / restaurant bookings / maps & directions and travel advice whenever we needed them.

Every evening before going out we sat on the tiny two person balcony overlooking the canal with an Aperol. This was truly a magical experience and worth five stars all on its own. Several months on I am still thinking about the weekend spent at Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo which is testament to what a fantastic place it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    72
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
256
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is a fantastic hotel, especially if you do a couple of things which allow it to show off its best side. In this regard, there are two key tips:

- get a suite. We stayed in the corner suite (room 10), and it was incredible. Looking down the Grand Canal is exactly what your room should do in Venice! We didn't see inside any other rooms, but they did look like they could be small without as much light (as other reviews suggest).

- arrive by water taxi. The hotel is hard to find on foot, but very easy to find by water. Arriving at least on the first occasion by water taxi would make this a non-issue (some previous reviews said they found it problematic arriving on foot). If you do arrive by foot (as we did), the trick to remember is: "Yes, it really is down that tiny narrow alleyway!".

Otherwise, the rooms were superb, and the food at the hotel (though not having a restaurant) was excellent. The location is great too - far enough away from Rialto not to be caught in the middle of it all, but close enough to make moving around on vaporetti easy. The hotel is also great at arranging things for you - even, as for us, a restaurant booking way out on Mazzorbo. And ending the day by sitting on their balcony sipping

Room Tip: Room 10 is excellent. Go for a suite if you possibly can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on a recent surprise birthday trip to Venice and absolutely loved it.

Yes, other reviews are right that the hotel can be a little difficult to find from the street. Yes, I can see this can be a bit of a problem with luggage (I was lucky enough to be treated to a water taxi which took us straight to the front door of the hotel). But navigating round Venice is a bit of a headache at the best of times and it's part of the charm of the place..!

The corollary is that the hotel (which is beautifully furnished) is gloriously quiet and relaxing as a result, even though it is close to the centre of town and only two minutes walk away from the S. Toma vaporetto station. And it's definitely one for couples, not families...

Our room was a good size and immaculately clean with one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in in a long time. Although many of the rooms are just off the dining / bar area, ours was quiet. The hotel is (I suspect!) very expensive - but everything in Venice is. But you do get a delicious breakfast (bread; pastries; fresh fruit; meats; yoghurt; fresh, made-to-order coffee) and slick and polite service for your money, which can't be said of everywhere.

If you are able to get to it first, there is also a small balcony on the Grand Canal itself with just enough space for a table and two chairs, which I'd highly recommend - perfect for a coffee or a drink whilst you watch the river traffic go by!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Θεσσαλονίκη
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is vey stylish and modern and the whole atmosphere is very seductive and mysterious. The breakfast also was perfect! However, the entrance of the hotel is difficult to be found, the way until there is like a maze and there is an extremely narrow alley with high walls that lead to the hotel. The price for our standard room was extremely high and in order to see the Grand Canal we should do some acrobatics. The soundproof wasn't quite sufficient and the lighting in the room was remarkably subdued.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very hard to find. Rather small and dark rooms! The view is not on the Grand Canal, unless you have a fortune to spend for a suite. The breakfast room excellent with great view, the breakfast delicious. Prices too high for the whole setting.

Room Tip: Take a water taxi if you want to arrive at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Palazzo Barbarigo and have to say what a great break we had. Our room - no 16 was just off the bar, but was very quiet, and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was gorgeous with beautiful pastries, fresh fruit and hot baked bread all served at the table. No visits to a buffet. We were very well looked after by Alex the barman on a number of occasions, and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the late afternoons just watching the good people of Venice go about their busy lives. The location was spot on, if a little difficult to find on foot, but this added to the fabulous atmosphere, and experience of Venice. The area was well served with restaurants and shops. All in all a delightful little hotel, which we would love to revisit again in the not too distant future. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

i would have given a 4/5 but i tried to contact the hotel 3 times by email and once via their website contact form and got no reply. this was over 3-4 weeks of trying. i wanted to arrange a water taxi as per everyones comments that its worth the €110 but after getting no replies thought i would get one from the airport service. however when i got to the airport there were no taxis as it was a busy time so had to take the water bus. it was a great experience but the driver dropped us at the wrong stop and it took us hours to find the hotel located down a small alley with no sign (thanks to google maps!). we were tired on arrival and when i told reception they weren't very apologetic about no replying to the emails and said they can't of received them - 4 attempts i find that unlikely.
we didn't let it ruin a wonderful weekend in venice
overall i did expect more for the price tag, the breakfast was very nice and its a good location

Room Tip: make sure you arrive by water taxi, €110 worth spending!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.