We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Tagliapietra B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ai Tagliapietra B&B
Save
You added Ai Tagliapietra B&B to your Saves list
Castello 4943, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 440 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Great host, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

You can see from reading the other reviews of this B&B that there is no rating below 'very good'. That should tell you something right there. We certainly selected this B&B based on its ratings in Trip Advisor and also its price in the very expensive city of Venice.

I made contact with the owner, Lorenzo, by email several times to make arrangements for our arrival before travelling to Venice . He provided very clear information to make our trip flow smoothly. We arrived at Venice airport and took the ATVO Airport Shuttle from there to Piazza le Roma (basically the last stop for motorized vehicles). From there we took a waterbus to the San Zaccaria stop. We took the slow water bus (line 5.1) but we were in no rush and we were rewarded with a fabulous cruise past many historic sites (including going under the Rialto Bridge). A teriffic welcome to Venice! You can buy a combination airport shuttle bus/water bus ticket at the airport for €12. If you are in more of a rush you can take the Alilaguna water taxi from the airport to San Zaccaria for €15 (about 1h, 10min).

When we arrived at San Zaccaria we called Lorenzo as instructed. If you don't have a cell phone there are pay phones at the stop. It took Lorenzo about 5 minutes to arrive and meet us and then help us with our baggage back to his B&B. We would never have found it ourselves as it is very isolated and quiet, yet it is less than 10 minutes walk to Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge.

The B&B is modern and has been recently renovated. The rooms are nice and quiet, with AC, free wifi, comfy beds, big fluffy towels, a desk, a wardrobe with lots of space for hanging clothes and also some shelves, a small TV (who cares - why would you want to waste time watching TV in Venice?!). The ensuite bathroom has a toilet, bidet, sink and shower, and is well lit so you don't feel like you are in a cave when you are shaving. The room has large opening windows complete with exterior shutters that you can close at night to shut out all the light and any street noises.

Breakfast is served at a prearranged time and consists of FRESH pastries (bought by Lorenzo no more than 30 minutes before you eat them!), juice, tea/coffee, cereal, yogourt. You can use the kitchenette to make tea/coffee during the day.

There are lots of restaurants in the area including one very nice one just steps away (Al Vecio Canton). There is also a coin laundry right around the corner which is very handy if you happen to have been travelling for a while as we had.

Lorenzo is a very gracious and helpful host. He printed our airline boarding passes and provided lots of advice about how to get around, what to see, etc. Dont even hesitate about booking a holiday at this B&B; we definitely would not think of staying anywhere else on a return to Venice.

For those visitors using Venice as a base to take a cruise (as we did), you can catch an Alilaguna water bus direct to/from the cruise terminal from San Zaccaria stop (€8).

Room Tip: We stayed on two separate occasions (before and after taking a cruise). We were in different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    51
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
290
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dromana, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this B& B in late September for 3 nights with our 14 year old son.
Lorenzo gave us very precise instructions as to which water taxi to take, getting us to the stop nearest the accommodation, where he met us to take us to the B&B.
Lorenzo was a wonderful host as he was extremely helpful with advice in regards to eating out, places to visit, shopping etc. On arrival he showed us our room and gave us a map highlighting the location and many of the tourist attractions.
Our room was spacious and clean, with lovely decor and plenty of room for the three of us. Our ensuite bathroom was also excellent. We had an ample breakfast each morning served by Lorenzo, and this included coffee, tea, juice, fresh pastries, cereal and yoghurt. You could help yourself to tea and coffee at any time and a fridge was available if required.
The location was excellent as it was an easy walk to all the main tourist attractions with ample shops and restaurants close by.
We would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Venice as it was great value for money, with a very amicable and obliging host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having stayed at Ai Tagliapietra B&B back in May, I am hoping that the "better late" cliché will apply here. There's so much to say but the bottom line is that if we ever get back to Venice, we would stay there again, and again. The location is perfect in that it's a short (5 minute), lovely walk to San Marco and the vaporetto. The B&B is clean and smartly furnished. Italian breakfast was perfect for us to get out quickly in the morning, and sated until later in the day, when all kinds of Venetian treats tantalized us. And now, about Lorenzo. I had read so many reviews that mentioned he was terrific but I must add mine to the top of the pile. While in Venice, we had a little trouble accessing our debit card. Long story short, Lorenzo helped us with talking to banking people in Italian and translating for us ... faxing info for us ... and ultimately giving us his cell phone to use in case the bank needed to reach us as our cell phone did not have good reception there. Thanks to Lorenzo, we were finally able to access our account and have the best time. Grazie mille (a thousand thanks), Lorenzo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Ai Tagliapietra for 2 nights in late September, 2013. The other reviews are very accurate--Lorenzo does a superb job of making you feel at home in Venice. From meeting you at the vaporetto stop, to a thorough introduction to his services, to restaurant recommendations and touring advice, he does it all. He has set up his small B&B to have every convenience. He has a supply of power adaptors, a laptop and printer, etc. The B&B is impeccably clean, the bathrooms nice and the beds very comfortable. And, only one bridge to cross with your bags!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ai Tagliapietra. Lorenzo was extremely helpful in every respect, and the b & b is in a great spot for seeing all of Venice. The breakfasts were super, and there was a sociable atmosphere with the lovely people who were Lorenzo's other guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This B&B is hard to beat. The rooms are large (for Europe), well-appointed and impeccably clean; the location is superb; the breakfast is an excellent continental breakfast; and Lorenzo goes out of his way to be helpful. Lorenzo will meet you at the vaporetto stop, orient you with a map of Venice, recommend excellent local restaurants and assist you in any way he can. Oh, and the price is surprisingly low. We enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent 3 lovely days at Ai Tagliapietra. Lorenzo is a wonderful host and his B&B is in the heart of Venice. Venice was the last stop on our 2-week European vacation and it was the highlight of our trip. The room is very spacious by European standards and the comfortable queen-sized bed was a welcome surprise. We can't say enough nice things about Ai Tagliapietra and our visit to this charming and unique city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ai Tagliapietra B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Tagliapietra B&B

Address: Castello 4943, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai Tagliapietra b&b is just 5 minutes off St.Mark's Square and is easily reachable from anywhere in town thanks to the nearby San Zaccaria's stop (public transportation). The strategic position allows you to reach on foot museums, shops, restaurants or Rialto Bridge in a short time. Double rooms of the b&b are warm and joyful and offer a complete bathroom (shower, basin and bidet). You will also find an hair dryer, soap and shampoo. Free wi-fi available! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ai Tagliapietra Hotel Venice
Ai Tagliapietra Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Tagliapietra B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.