We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Loredan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Loredan to your Saves list
Ca' Loredan
Calle Corner Piscopia o Loredan, No. 4122 | San Marco, 4122, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 444 Venice B&B and Inns
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Venice for 3 nights. After a not-so-great experience in Florence, we were pleasantly suprised by Ca' Loredan. This B&B is a small operation, and the operators are very attentive to your needs and comfort. The room we stayed in was bright and roomy, with a spacious bathroom (which is rare for Italy: the shower was still very small). The Ca' is only a few blocks away from the Rialto vapperetto stop putting it in a very convienient location. My only complaint was that there was a German couple there the same time as us who had a small infant, and they were extremely inconsiderate of the other guests. So barring any bad neighbors, the Ca' Loredan is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    16
    4
    12
See reviews for
2
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

This B&B, is very close to the Rialto vaporetto Stop, and 10 minutes walking, to S.Marcos Cathedral.
We `ve stayed in the room, on top of the building, that as a terrace.( but with no view)
That room is very large, and the bed is large, too.
.The room was always with a perfect temperature,- good Air.condi.
We had a good nigth sleep, because the 4 windows , had old " blackout" system", and almost no light entered.

the bathroom: has hair-dryer; the hot water doesn`t have much pressure, and has a bahttobe- but it is not possible to stand up to take a shower( because of the celling)

The breakfeast was a little poor: milk, coffee, tea, orange juice, only toastes,and no fresh bread.
The owners were very kind and very helful, with our questions and requests( rent a car)
The location and price, are the best.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — Breakfeast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

We ended up with a room at Ca Loredan after our previous hotel overbooked. This caused us some concerns, but we ended up pleasantly surprised. Ca Loredan is actually a small apartment with only a few bedrooms. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location was fantastic - 2 minutes from Rialto Bridge (and the Vaporetto stop) and 5 minutes from Piazza San Marco. The apartment was also very clean and suprisingly spacious.

The only downside was that the central location made it a bit noisy at night especially as the apartment is close to a busy square (Campo San Luca).

Overall though, for a budget hotel, which is cheap by Venice standards, this was a good place to stay.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My wife and I had booked another B & B near San Marco by the name of Ca del Pozzo. Upon arrival at Accademia boat stop as instructed, we were unable to find the b & b. After an hour of hopeless searching, we were helped by someone in another hotel who kindly phoned for us. Eventually someone came to take us to the b & b, but it turned out to be the Ca Loredan instead. We were puzzled by what happened but in the end, we did have 3 good nights at the Loredan. The place is clean, quiet, and very close to San Marco. As the previous reviewer said, breakfast was nothing special, and the person there could have been friendlier. Unfortunately for us, he could not speak a word of English. Be warned, payment was demanded in cash on arrival, and there was a 10 euro late arrival charge. Also, the place is unmarked and very hard to find.
All still worth it though, considering the good location, comfortable accommodations, and value for the money (90 euros per night for 2 with bath).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of ambience, unfriendly owner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Located about 3 minutes walk from the Rialto stop on the Venice Water Taxi, and 10 minutes walk to St Mark's plaze, this affordable B & B (for Vennice during the summer) suits basic needs from a good location. I choose a stay in a room with a double bed and shared bathroom. The management kept the rooms and bathrooms quite clean, but the *modest* breakfast consisted of a tea or cappucino, a juice and a packaged breakfast roll. We often found ourselves forced to eat immediately upon leaving the apartment.

As for the management, we could not decipher who they were, and we very much felt like we rented a flat rather than stayed at a B & B. We met only the evening escort (more on that chap below) and the breakfast server. Now, the breakfast server may or may not have been the owner. He seemed quite pleasant, but I found his role a bit peculiar, for he takes the payment (without identifying precisely his status with the B & B) provides a receipt (with the establishment's name on it, thankfully, since he expressed a preference for cash payment). At any rate, my only real complaint with the stay concerned the 10 euro "late arrival fee" (any arrival after 8pm) for an escort from the water taxi to the apartment. Useless, really, as anyone could direct you to the establishement. The man met us, barely said hello, began walking briskly, made my wife carry her luggage, took us to the room, gave us two keys, processed some paper work and then asked for the 10 euro fee, which was his salary. In the midst of this hasty exchange, he forgot to tell us about the misquito problem in the room and the electrical equipment provided in order to mitigate the problem. The misquitos feasted on me all night (over 20 bites and very sleepy the next morning). So, if you stay here, don't be bashful about asking questions to the hurried employee who greets you.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed for a weekend at the Locanda Loredan in October. Hotels in Venice are expensive, so I thought that €130 per night (for two people) was close to the best we were going to find for a nice-ish hotel.

Be warned, the place is hard to spot! It's at the bottom of Calle Loredan (away from the Grand Canal) on the right hand side immediately before the bookshop - there's no other markings and only a small note on the buzzer. The stairs up are steep. The rooms are very nice, although simple. They are done in more or less all white and are a good size. We were asked to move room (don't know why) so we saw two of them, including the top attic room which has its own balcony area. The bathroom was smaller in that room though and had a shower head that you had to hold over yourself, which is a little fiddly.

Breakfast is brought to you each morning on a tray, but it isn't great - vacuum-packed croissants and cheap orange juice. We skipped it and got a foccaccia or something from one of the street vendors.

The location (once you find it!) is really great. It's less than a five minute walk to Rialto and is also close to St. Mark's square. It's on a quiet street though so there wasn't any street noise. The people working there were ok, but we didn't have much interaction with them. I've met friendlier...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast!
  • Tips/Secrets — It's hard to find!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#196 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#224 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#106 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#146 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
San Marco
Lanterna di Marco Polo
Lanterna di Marco Polo
#78 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Loredan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Loredan

Address: Calle Corner Piscopia o Loredan, No. 4122 | San Marco, 4122, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Ca' Loredan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Loredan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.