We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Sebastiano Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta S. Sebastiano - Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 382 hotels in Venice
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed for two nights at this hotel and we were very impressed. The room was lovely; it was very clean with a large bed and an excellent shower/bathroom. The hotel was also very clean and quiet, and the staff were really friendly and always willing to help. The buffet breakfast was excellent and we were very pleased with the location. It is a 15-20 minute walk to San Marco, but closer to Piazza Margarita where you can find lots of places to eat and drink. I can imagine the garden would be a big bonus in the summertime. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would most certainly book a room here again if/when I go back to Venice!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    120
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
31
151
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Excellent little hotel in a great location. Balcony room superb. Delightfully, tastefully furnished with antiques. Good buffet breakfast. Helpful staff always and with the benefit of a garden area to the rear

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is nice and rooms are spacious. There was air conditioning and the rooms were clean. We are a family of four (with two small kids 3 and 6). We were very comfortable in one room with three beds and an additional roll away. The website says that they allow a maximum of three people but I think they mean adults. There was no problem at all brining in a roll away. We made sure we let them know ahead of time.

The hotel is located in a nice area - walking distance to a more locals part of town which we really enjoyed. Restaurants were excellent and you can watch the local kids playing in the courtyards. It was a bit farther away from the center of town but in Venice everything is close if you're prepared to walk all over!

The staff was nice and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

this is an excellent hotel. The rooms are good size and the location is ideal. The garden is a great bonus. A short walk to everything. The water taxi drops you off right outside and it is oh so easy to navigate everything
We had a great time there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It is my fourth time in Venice. I have been in better hotels and in others that were worse. San Sebastiano is average.
I would not say location is its up. Though it is right that it is near the San Basilio Cruise Terminal, it is rather far from San Marco and other attractions. Convenient to go to the Gran Canal,and áccademia bridge where you can take the vaporetto. You have to walk. Anyway, who does not love to walk in Venice. But, if it is your first time I would choose better location. The streets and neighborhood could be rather dark at night.
Said that, the staff was quite polite.
Room was on the ground floor, to the front. No much noise and the room was really big and comfortable. The same could be said of the bathroom where the shower was strong. Only criticism I could make to the room that many lights did not work and though I told the front desk, they were not fixed. It is true that it was a weekend but my husband was able to repair one of them. So, why did not they do that?- Everything was quite clean.
Breakfast was OK: the woman in charge was very kind and she gave us orange marmalade she has prepared by herself. Not only it was tasty , we loved her for the kindness.
The hotel is near a Billa Supermarket and a Greengrocer and though we did not eat there there are many restaurants nearby.
I would say it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Two weeks ago, my husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. On the plus side, the location was an easy walk from the San Basilio Cruise Terminal and within walking distance to many sights. The included breakfast was very good and we had no problem using WIFI. The negatives included our room which was somewhat dark and minimally furnished with a very hard mattress. The young lady working the reception desk during the day seemed to have an attitude problem; she was not at all friendly and was difficult to deal with. Not sure what her problem was, but other guests also remarked on her lack of customer service. On the other hand, the late afternoon shift was covered by a young man who was extremely helpful and always a pleasure to approach with questions or requests. In summary, I think I will find another hotel the next time I am in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have travelled extensively and have enjoyed all types of vacations/hotels/resturants from extravagant to economical. My reviews are with an eye for understanding about where I am in the world and that there are a world of differences.

We chose this hotel based on the location. It was a short walk from the dock where we ended our vogage on Windstar. We wanted to stay in Venice for 5 days before going home.

Dosodoro area is perefect if you want to experience Venice “like a local,” want to be near some of Venice’s most major sights; be near the Grand Canal; and if you’re interested in Venice’s nightlife. Stay at the San Sebastiano Garden Hotel and you won't be dissapointed. It is a romantic haven!

We had a very large room on top floor facing the garden. Every day after walking, touring, visiting museums, and getting jostled by the CROWDS, we came back to our haven with a bottle of wine, cheese, and prosciutto and sat out in the garden toasting ourselves for our good fortune (Tip: we bought all these goods at a local grocery store very cheaply. It is located just a few minutes away along the Grand Canal).

As you probably already know, Venice is very walkable and in no time you'll find your way around to everything you wish to see. The water taxis are very close by, so no hassle at all to get one of those too. There are neighborhood restaurants to choose from as well.

The hotel staff was wonderful. They organized so many things for our days. The breakfast offered every morning was perfect and the server was so accomodating. Our bed and room were comfortable, clean and quite large. We liked enjoying a glass of prosseco while sitting at the lobby bar before heading out for the evening. Delightful service!

Room Tip: Loved our room on the top floor facing the garden. It's quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Address: Fondamenta S. Sebastiano - Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#117 Family Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.