We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Sebastiano Garden Hotel to your Saves list
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta S. Sebastiano - Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

this is an excellent hotel. The rooms are good size and the location is ideal. The garden is a great bonus. A short walk to everything. The water taxi drops you off right outside and it is oh so easy to navigate everything
We had a great time there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    115
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
35
176
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It is my fourth time in Venice. I have been in better hotels and in others that were worse. San Sebastiano is average.
I would not say location is its up. Though it is right that it is near the San Basilio Cruise Terminal, it is rather far from San Marco and other attractions. Convenient to go to the Gran Canal,and áccademia bridge where you can take the vaporetto. You have to walk. Anyway, who does not love to walk in Venice. But, if it is your first time I would choose better location. The streets and neighborhood could be rather dark at night.
Said that, the staff was quite polite.
Room was on the ground floor, to the front. No much noise and the room was really big and comfortable. The same could be said of the bathroom where the shower was strong. Only criticism I could make to the room that many lights did not work and though I told the front desk, they were not fixed. It is true that it was a weekend but my husband was able to repair one of them. So, why did not they do that?- Everything was quite clean.
Breakfast was OK: the woman in charge was very kind and she gave us orange marmalade she has prepared by herself. Not only it was tasty , we loved her for the kindness.
The hotel is near a Billa Supermarket and a Greengrocer and though we did not eat there there are many restaurants nearby.
I would say it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Two weeks ago, my husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. On the plus side, the location was an easy walk from the San Basilio Cruise Terminal and within walking distance to many sights. The included breakfast was very good and we had no problem using WIFI. The negatives included our room which was somewhat dark and minimally furnished with a very hard mattress. The young lady working the reception desk during the day seemed to have an attitude problem; she was not at all friendly and was difficult to deal with. Not sure what her problem was, but other guests also remarked on her lack of customer service. On the other hand, the late afternoon shift was covered by a young man who was extremely helpful and always a pleasure to approach with questions or requests. In summary, I think I will find another hotel the next time I am in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have travelled extensively and have enjoyed all types of vacations/hotels/resturants from extravagant to economical. My reviews are with an eye for understanding about where I am in the world and that there are a world of differences.

We chose this hotel based on the location. It was a short walk from the dock where we ended our vogage on Windstar. We wanted to stay in Venice for 5 days before going home.

Dosodoro area is perefect if you want to experience Venice “like a local,” want to be near some of Venice’s most major sights; be near the Grand Canal; and if you’re interested in Venice’s nightlife. Stay at the San Sebastiano Garden Hotel and you won't be dissapointed. It is a romantic haven!

We had a very large room on top floor facing the garden. Every day after walking, touring, visiting museums, and getting jostled by the CROWDS, we came back to our haven with a bottle of wine, cheese, and prosciutto and sat out in the garden toasting ourselves for our good fortune (Tip: we bought all these goods at a local grocery store very cheaply. It is located just a few minutes away along the Grand Canal).

As you probably already know, Venice is very walkable and in no time you'll find your way around to everything you wish to see. The water taxis are very close by, so no hassle at all to get one of those too. There are neighborhood restaurants to choose from as well.

The hotel staff was wonderful. They organized so many things for our days. The breakfast offered every morning was perfect and the server was so accomodating. Our bed and room were comfortable, clean and quite large. We liked enjoying a glass of prosseco while sitting at the lobby bar before heading out for the evening. Delightful service!

Room Tip: Loved our room on the top floor facing the garden. It's quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would be very careful with this place in regards to the city tax charges!
We were charged on our credit card for nearly 60 Euros for the Local city tax on our initial booking(on top of the rooms fees inc VAT)
On check out, we were asked to pay again in cash(I had not realized this has been paid until I looked at our internet receipts closely)
Then we found that a further amount from the hotel that has been charged from our credit card without our authorisation when we returned from our trip(again presumably for the city tax - no receipt has been sent to us either for this)

The Classic room we had was also very small - with uneven floor, the bathroom was more like a narrow room under the stairs.(avoid this room if you are booking)

Better to go down for breakfast later - leftover bread and fruit salad was served when it first opened and the staff are told not to take out the lovely Italian prosciutto to slice until later

Location wise - it is about a 30min walk to Piazza San Marco. The alleys can be quite dark at night - lots of graffiti on the walls along the way can make one feel unsafe. Even in the morning, there are some beggars in the nearby alleys. But it is not far from the public water bus stops and there is also a grocery shop nearby.

The staff are all friendly esp the kitchen staff during breakfast time.

I think this issue is with management higher up trying to make the most money out of unsuspecting hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked through Gala Hotels, we had a very enjoyable 4-night stay here. the twin-bedded room was compact, but fine once the cases were emptied and tidied away. The bathroom was very good, with marble everywhere, but one drawback was the lack of shelves there. Staff very helpful, Breakfast was fine, location was opposite a world-renowned church, stuffed with Tintorettos.
Allow 100 minutes for the very scenic Allilaguna blue line waterbus (Euros 15 per person each way) to Zattere, an easy ten-minute walk to the hotel. I loved Venice and would go back like a shot, but one needs to choose the time of year carefully, to avoid the crowds, the mosquitoes and the floods. If it is raining hard, you may wish to take a water taxi, Euros110 for four people each way, as it will take you to the door and more quickly, but not necessarily as scenically. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best location in Venice. Easy walk from the small Cruise Ship dock, minutes from the water bus stop, 4 good restaurants within. 5 minutes walk, air conditioned rooms, great garden patio, great staff. We were there Sept 20-25.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Address: Fondamenta S. Sebastiano - Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.