We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments and a caveat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Sebastiano Garden Hotel to your Saves list
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta S. Sebastiano - Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Central Mississippi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Compliments and a caveat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We thought this hotel was lovely. It was an easy walk with our luggage from the vaporetto stop. It was very clean, and breakfast was plentiful and tasty--pastries, cereal, yoghurt, sliced meat, fruit, etc. we had a quiet first floor room with windows that looked out on a small courtyard. The back garden was lovely and peaceful, but we didn't really have time during our 3 night stay to enjoy it.

Our bed was the twin beds pushed together arrangement, with my side being fine and my husband's side having a list to it (I'm taking his word for this). We were assigned to room 11, which is handicapped accessible, although I say this without any real knowledge of the official meaning of the term. Anyway, the bathroom is very spacious, but the shower is very strange and there is one of those raised up things on the toilet seat. I saw that one reviewer definitely didn't care for the handicapped features, but they didn't bother us--at least, that is, after we got the hang of the shower.

The caveat: we had to get up at an insanely early hour to catch a water taxi to the airport and we asked for a wake up call. Our mobile devices never reset themselves to European time, so we weren't using our phone for an alarm as we usually would have, I saw the clerk set my wake up call, but it never rang. Had my husband not waked up on his own close to the right time, we would have had a disaster--we had already paid 130 euro for the water taxi and our plane fare to Munich was non-refundable. So, if you're going to need a wake up call, you may want to "practice" a day or two in advance to make sure everything is working.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    117
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
181
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent a lovely three nights in this hotel. Upon arrival we were advised that our room was being upgraded to a canal view junior suite. The room we were given was beautiful and had a perfect view through two large windows of the canal in front of the hotel. The room was very large and comfortable, we could not have asked for better.

The location of the hotel was charming, set in the Dorsoduro area of Venice. This area is quiet, full of locals and not overrun by tourists. Yet at the same time it is in easy walking distance to all the sites, being a ten minute walk to the Academia bridge bringing you across the Grand Canal towards St Marks square etc. Staying in this hotel gives you the best of both worlds: the tranquility and interest of a quieter area of Venice; yet with easy access to the major points of interest. There are a number of nice restaurants within close distance to the hotel, particularly along the Zattere waterfront and along Calle San Barnaba and its square. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the train, we managed the journey by foot with suitcases within fifteen minutes without trouble.

The breakfast provided by the hotel is extensive and enjoyable.

Overall the hotel is a perfect spot and is well worth the visit. I would definitely stay here again upon returning to Venice and would recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel when planning our vacation and decided to give it a try based on other reviews. We appreciate the consistency of the larger chains but for our first visit to Italy together we wanted something special and off crowded center. The San Sebastiano was exactly what we had hoped for, a small hotel (no more than 40 rooms we think), very personalized service, and a charming room that complemented a stunning canal view. The location was great too: in the Dorsoduro Sestiere (neighbourhood), it was a short 15 minute walk from the train station and Piazzale Roma, steps away from restaurants and a small supermarket, yet nestled in the middle of mostly residential buildings. The crowds and the main sites are all very accessible but at night, when you just want a romantic getaway, the hotel can deliver it thanks to its location. The complimentary breakfast was well sorted and the staff even agreed to iron our shirts themselves on a Sunday when their regular laundry service was closed. Of course, the room was fine too: we had room 36 which had a large, comfortable bed, exposed wood beams, integrated entertainment systems, and a large, gorgeous bathroom. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights , just back today. It was a family celebration. There was a bottle of Prosecco in our room when we arrived, but we put it on hold until Wed when we were celebrating. They brought it out to us for breakfast ! Lovely. We couldn't fault the hotel. We were very well looked after....helped out in way possble. It was a bit of a walk..we didn't use the water taxis much we enjoyed it very much

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abijc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have just come back from spending 3 nights in Venice and were really pleased with our choice of hotel. Our twin-bedded room (25) was clean and comfortable, with a lovely modern bathroom and a view over the gardens. The staff from reception, to the breakfast room to the cleaning staff were all really friendly, helpful and cheerful. Great choice a breakfast of fresh and varied food and lovely coffee! The hotel is about a 15/20 minute walk from St Mark's but only a couple of minutes from the San Basilio vaporetto stop. It has some really good restaurants and bars close by though which are very reasonable and have some great views over the water. Walking to and from St Mark's meant you got to see some of the real Venice rather than just the touristy areas. Would definitely return to Venice and this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel before our stay to ask for a twin bedded room with a nice view - they responded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent four nights there as a brithday persent for my wife, Fantastic hotel, quiet, a little quaint, first class service and a lovely room overlooking the garden, close enough to St Marks Square and the touristy bits ( 5 min Walk ) but far enough away to be very quiet and relaxing.
Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I went here on vacation last summer. The Gardens in the Courtyard are really well kept and nice to see. The staff was really helpful and helped us get a water cab to the airport when we needed it. It was clean. The view wasn't the best but we didn't stay in the room very much. The city is perfect for exploring!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Address: Fondamenta S. Sebastiano - Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#129 Family Hotel in Venice
#138 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.