We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in prime location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in prime location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Although the Dorsodouro area is slightly away from the hotspots of the Rialto and St Marks square, its a good location for a stay in Venice as its very easy to get to all the main attractions by foot or Vaporetto. And if you decide to stay in this area the Hotel Stern is an excellent choice. This old palazzo with its elaborate decorated stairways and glass chandelliers has well appointed and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, a lovely terrace overlooking the grand canal and serves a very good breakfast. No restaurant but several good local eateries within a few minutes walk including the highly recommended Oniga.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thanks for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!
You are right when you say that we are a little off the main spots of Venice, and that's why our location is so beautiful. We are far from the crown in a very venetian area. But still very easy to reach and in a walking distance from everything.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    173
    46
    3
    9
See reviews for
236
793
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We returned last week from a week's stay in this lovely hotel. It is small, personal and unique. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, from the front desk, to the cleaning personnel to the bar and breakfast staff. The breakfast is a highlight, great choice, fresh fruit, hot & cold meats & delicious fresh cakes & pastries. The decoration is stylish, stunning glass lighting & rich mosaics; the chapel area is especially lovely. The weather did not permit a trip to the rooftop jacuzzi but the view must be magnificent. Thanks to all at the Stern who made our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank to you for this beautiful review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again here, maybe with a better weather to enjoy the jacuzzi on the roof!!!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Stern in January, although the weather was awful this did not spoil our stay in Venice. The Hotel staff are extremely friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The location could not be better situated between Rialto Bridge and St Marcs Square. The water bus stop is right outside the hotel! There are various restaurants to eat in nearby that all serve local cuisine and are not full of tourists.
The hotel rooms are all of a good size and extremely clean (we viewed other rooms as well as our own). Large bathrooms with fantastic views over the Grand Canal.
Breakfast is very good offering Bacon, Eggs (of all descriptions) bread, fruit, and a selection of cereals.
Worth a visit to the hot tub on the roof that can be rented for €70 per hour!
Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return when we next visit Venice!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We took the junior suite with Grand Canal view. Wonderful large elegant room, small balcony. Very nice bathroom fittings and facilities. The view of the GC is everything we had hoped for. There are cheaper rooms in Venice but if you want to treat yourself to a full-on GC view, this is a superb option.

The hotel generally is superbly decorated and finished. Gorgeous Venetian Palazzo. Staff helpful. Breakfast had everything you could reasonably want. Only metres from Ca Rezzonico Vaporetto stop: this proved very convenient, and a lifesaver for tired legs.

We think this location, in the Dorsoduro is far nicer than the tourist-zoo of San Marco. Only 5-7 mins to Academia Bridge. We would definitely use Stern again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Venice and decided to stay in Palazzo Stern, checking in on New Year Eve. We are very impressive in all elements of the hotel. Actually, it is not the hotel, but the small luxury palazzo that is so nice, elegant but cozy at the same time. All of the staffs are very helpful, gentle and provided all information we needed. We could easily access to all Venice attractions including some local Italian restaurants, given 4 stars rated by tripadvisor, just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful for me, but my husband would like to suggest that it would be great if they would provide sausage menu in the future :) All in all, we were very happy in this hotel and definitely will revisit again in the near future! We would like to thank all the staffs for our wonderful experience again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks to you for this wonderful review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your holiday with us. And thanks also for the suggestion regarding the breakfast, we will check if it will be possible to improve it!

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The last leg of our family's great Italian journey: Venice, The sten hotel: a stunningly beautiful interior makes this hotel a little gem - a haven of peace and calm from the bustle of Venice. We had booked a 4 night stay and got 20% off due to a package - but they upgraded us on arrival. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
There are some great restaurants within walking distance and so we didn't find the location a problem in the evenings.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Buongiorno!

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I'm happy you appreciated the free upgrade!!! We always try to give a small advantage to all the guest who book directly with us.

Thanks a lot for your very kind review, I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!!!

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a very nice room overlooking the grand Canal. It was beautifully appointed and had a sparkling bathroom. The staff was helpful and the water taxi drops you right in front. My only disappointment was that the room had no shower. It was a Jacuzzi tub only.....kind of weird when you just want to rinse off.

The location is great. It is slightly off the beaten path but accessible to everything. The streets behind the hotel where fun to wander and a public transit stop was right out front. The rooms are expensive but you get a lot. They were big and came with a very nice breakfast. We would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: We loved the water view but they do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay, despite the pack of the bathroom.
In effect your room have only the bathtub with and handheld shower if needed. It makes the job but it's not as a regular walk in shower. We are actually working to find a solution, but it's not a so easy thing.

We have other Junior Suites with both JAcuzzi and walk-in shower. If this is a necessary amenity for you please mention it on the reservation and we will try to accomplish the request!!!

Thanks again for the very nice review and have a nice day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.