We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to leave this beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 382 Hotels in Venice
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hard to leave this beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We knew what we were getting into with Venice in the summer, its heat, its crowds, its disregard for order, so we splurged a bit more on our hotel than we might ordinarily have. We lived in luxury for three days and three nights at the Palazzo Stern on the Grand Canal. We kept congratulating ourselves on this decision throughout our stay. Yes! This was the place to splurge. With the vaporetto stop just outside our door, we could move through the crowds by boat and arrive without fatigue each evening to watch the sunset in San Marco Square. We could easily ferry over to Zattare for dinner on the waterfront of the Giudecca canal. We could take another ferry across that same canal to gaze at the entire lagoon from the bell tower of the St Giorgio Maggiore. We could wander in our Dorsoduro sestieri without encountering hordes of people, and we could lunch in the shade of the public giardini in nearby Castello. Our proximity to LaFenice opera house gave us the courage to face the crowds to witness its newly restored grandeur after the fire by arson of 1996. We loved living on the Grand Canal. Early each morning we could hear the boatmen delivering goods to the hotels and restaurants. We spent hours watching every kind of boating activity: gondoliers, private taxis, traghettos, vaporettos carrying happy people on vacation. From the safety and comfort of our window, it all looked good. It was very hard to leave this beautiful place, the Palazzo Stern Hotel, with its attentive and pleasant staff. We departed by the public airport taxi (which picked us up at the vaporetto stop directly in front of our hotel). It couldn't have been easier. But it was so swift, we barely had a moment to look back. Ah Venice and its light. Ah Italy, its beautiful places, it's delicious food, its lively people. When will we return? Will we return? We hope so, soon.

Room Tip: We chose the Superior Double for its window on the grand canal. A very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I also hope to have you here again in the future!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    151
    42
    4
    7
See reviews for
207
699
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is great and the service too. The rooms are of good quality and good AC (not loud). However, the only major drawback is, that many rooms do NOT have a view to the grand canale, also the hotel faces the grand canal. We reserved a standard room and that had even no view (only two little ones to see the sky). Graciously they changed our room without charge for parts of the night we stay. Recommendation, book this hotel but make sure you ask and get approval that you have a room with either a view or even better with a view to the grand canale.

Room Tip: No Fitness and swimming pool. great hotel otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Buongiorno!

it's normal that not all the rooms have the view on the Grand Canal as only one facade of the building faces the Grand Canal. This is clearly wrote in the room's description.
The standards can have the view on the Calle or the windows on the ceiling, and also this is wrote on the descriptions!

Anyway we always give free upgrades to the guests who book directly with us. This is not sure, but if we have a better room available when you arrive (or during your stay) and you booked directly with us you will be upgraded. Also this is wrote in our website!

I would like to have a fitness center and a pool, but this is almost impossible in Venice!
:o)
But we have a Jacuzzi on the rooftop, this is very unique and exclusive!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived we received a warm welcome and the reception staff proceeded to tell us that we had been upgraded to one of their suites. The interior of the hotel was absolutely beautiful. We were so impressed and blown away. When we were shown to the room, we discovered that it was the one with the gorgeous balcony facing the canal! We loved it! The room was very spacious and grand, with a large bathroom. The hotel was right at the water bus stop. We liked staying in this neighbourhood of Venice. It was quieter, with a small piazza nearby. Good restaurants were easy to find. Breakfasts were delicious. We also loved the beautiful terrace. The staff were kind. We highly recommend this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel Palazzo Stern was the best find in Venice. Reasonably priced, great location, and beautifully decorated the hotel was perfect. Our room was on the third floor which was an advantage since it gave us remote controlled covered sky lights. The staff was courteous, friendly, and extremely helpful. The water bus stop was steps from the door. Breakfast was delicious and we were able to eat on the veranda over looking the Grand Canal. It doesn't get any better than this! If I am lucky enough to return to Venice this is where I am staying.

Room Tip: Top floor over looking a side canal. Ask for a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcome you soon again here here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We particularly wanted a room with a view of the Grand Canal and this was ideal. Also, breakfast on the terrace watching the world float by was lovely. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and we would definitely go back. River bus stops close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards heath
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

after one night here I have realised what a find this hotel is. the staff are delightful, the location great and breakfast was all we wanted eaten looking out at the Grand Canal. this is beautiful building, historic and charming. the rooms aren't the largest but have everything you need and the AC is great. good restaurants and bars are a short walk away and the boat from the airport stops about 10 feet away. bathrooms are well stocked with amenities and the coffee machine in the room is good quality, like Nespresso with a tea option.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stunning - if one word was needed to summarise our stay. We came into Venice from a day on the Orient Express - expectations were high. You may or may not beleive it, but I think the hotel exceeded this.

Getting from the station to the hotel - a very simple trip on a water bus.
The staff - fluent in English. Warm and generous. We were given a cooling glass of ice cold lemon drink on th ehottest of hot days, sat dwon and a lovely 10 min tour of Venice on a map with suggestions, highlights and local festivals, favourite restaurants and a special arts festival.

Beautiful clean room, old style comfort. Amazing bath!!!! After 2 days on a train this was a major plus - we were in a Junior Suite - which by many standards is a large room, but it was great. Amazing view onto newer Venice on the other side of the Grand Canal. If you want to go accross, walk round 15 mins to a bridge, or 1 min on water bus 1 stop!

At the end they stored our bags, and waved us off on the speedboat to the airport....if only Monarch Airlines had been as efficient as them, but that is another story.

Room Tip: Grand Canal rooms up high - we had 404, which is actually on 2nd floor - beuatiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us! I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#10 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.