We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This being my second visit to Venice, I continue to be amazed at how hoteliers in this beautiful city with such challenging surroundings manage to offer a comfortable first class stay. From my previous experience, I learned to select a hotel close to a Vaporetto stop so that you are not lugging the luggage all over the unfamiliar streets of Venice. This hotel is right next to a Vaporetto stop which makes it a very convenient location. We were greeted warmly by the hotel staff that offered us refreshing fruit drinks. Our family of 6 stayed in 2 separate rooms and both rooms were very comfortable. Our room had a split-level plan with the bedroom being upstairs and bathroom downstairs. The room was clean and had a large comfortable bed. The buffet style breakfast can be enjoyed in the front terrace with the gorgeous view of the canal. Every morning, Junior from the hotel staff, greeted us with a warm smile and made sure we had everything we needed. The hotel recommended a restaurant by the Grand Canal and they did not disappoint us because we enjoyed a fabulous dinner. Our stay in this hotel was great and we look forward to staying here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: If you don't like dealing with stairs on a split-level room, make sure to request a same level r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review!
We all look forward to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    153
    42
    4
    7
See reviews for
207
702
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent team, terrace, breakfast, building, location...but 102 room (mezzanine) is not worth the price. For sure not a 4 star class room although we had a very large bed with good sleeping quality. Very small window, bathroom not really 4 star, smelled a little musty.
An other guest was complaining that 1st floor was not the best too. For the price he paid he was expecting a room out to the canal side...

Room Tip: Anything above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm sorry you didn't like your room, but it doesn't mean that they are not nice. We have many many guests who book standards and they are more than happy!

Please remember that all our rooms are more than well described, and nowhere is write that they have the view on the water. So I don't understand why you (or someone else) should expect to have that view, doesn't matter the price you are paying. By the way, how much did you paid for your 30 square meters standard room with a 2 square meters window in Venice during a peak season?

We have 4 rooms (out of 24) on the ground floor, the 16% or our capacity. And we don't have the 16% of bad reviews. it means that these rooms are not that bad.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were very impressed with this beautiful, lush hotel. The location directly on the canal is wonderful. The staff is efficient. Our room, Room 101, was NOT a four star room. As they took us to our room, we were led from the hotel, past the bathrooms, down a utilitarian hallway where the service entrance was. The hall frequently had cleaning equipment in it. Our room was directly next to the service entrance. We could hear the buzzer for the entrance every time it was used. We were actually in a brick "bunker" type building next to this beautiful hotel. The room was dark. We had a small window with bars on it and a skylight that we could only open 1/2 way. The other half was broken. TV reception was very poor and wifi was intermittent. We had to leave our room most of the time to use it. The very small shower was lacking a soap/shampoo holder, had to put these things on the floor of the shower. When we used the sink, the water poured out of the bottom of it. Both of these things were fixed the next day. Our window was right next to the alley where the water bus dropped people off. People going by constantly. There was graffiti on the outside of our wall and window area. Water temperature in the shower was variable, several outlets did not work. The room was very dark and smelled very musty. The décor and furniture...very elegant. The glass tile bathroom was small but nice looking. It was depressing to walk from a wonderful atmosphere back to the confines of our room. The breakfast was very nice and the terrace overlooking the canal was beautiful. The rest of the hotel was beautiful and the staff was very efficient. We stayed in 3 Star hotels prior to our time in Venice and were looking forward to our 4 Star hotel room. It didn't live up to any of our previous rooms. The front desk told us that "everyone" who booked a standard room was disappointed. I'm sure, because of the location, our room was the worst one in the hotel. Not a banner way to end our vacation to Italy.

Room Tip: DO NOT book a standard room, especially room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm sorry that you didn't like you room, but not everything you wrote is correct.

First of all the standard rooms doesn't have any view, and this is clearly wrote everywhere. your room had the view on the calle beside the hotel, this is normale in Venice! just a small percentage of the room of the city have the view on the water, and you can easily see it when you look at the map of the town.
The room is not beside the service entrance, the service entrance is on the other side of the hotel.
I double checked the tv and the wifi with my mobile and a tablet, and everything works fine.

Also it's not true at all that everybody who book standard rooms is not happy, and it's not possible that the concierge told you this thing. We have many standards in the hotel and if it was true we would not have been 12th in the listing of Venice.

I'm sorry that you have been disappointed with the room, but if you were looking for the view you had to book another category.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Palazzo Stern is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Features a private dock for water taxis and the Ca' Rezzonica vaporetta stop just yards away. Our room, the Jr suite 304, is the best in the hotel (middle left in the picture). Its three windows open to the Grand Canal on the front with another three windows opening to the Rio Del Malpaga canal on the right side of the room. Amenities are numerous and very up-to-date. Wi-Fi is free and fast, a switchable 115v outlet in the spacious bath was convenient and the bath features a deep Jacuzzi tub and a shower. Beds are comfortable and the linen sheets are a nice touch. Breakfast on the terrace in front of the hotel is included and offers a wide variety of choices including the American standards, bacon, eggs and toast. I don;t think you can find a better hotel in Venice and it ranks with me as one of my all time best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent location, very friendly staff and superb facilities make this hotel stand out. You can sit at the terrace and watch the world go by. No place is too far with the Ca Rezzonica vaporetto stop being few steps away. Breakfast was great. Would certainly recommend to anyone who is not looking for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: When you book a room "overlooking the grand canal", make sure it is not from the sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have been to Venice 8 or 9 times and on our last visit returned to the first hotel we ever stayed at [Pausania] which is nearby. The only upside of this terrible mistake was to discover P. Stern. It must have the best location in all of Venice, and a unique terrace from which you can watch the world go by. The rooms are as good as you could wish, accessed by a lift, and the staff were always friendly and helpful with good enlish. The breakfasts were the best we have had in Venice. It is a small hotel where you are made to feel most welcome. We will not be searching for another hotel when we return next year.
Peter H. Peterborough UK

Room Tip: With the terrace you don't need a room overlooking the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm happy to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us!
Please remember when you will book us again that we are offering a free shuttle service for those who book directly with us!

We are not allowed to go everywhere in Venice, but maybe we will be able to suit your needs.

Thanks again for this wonderful review, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel Palazzo Stern is an excellent choice for staying in Venice. The location is perfect - right by the Accademia bridge and museum with convenient walking or vaporetto axis to both Piazza San Marco and Realto. It's incredibly convenient given the water taxi dock and the vaporetto stop right next to the hotel. The hotel is beautiful with great rooms, great amenities (for Europe), and a great terrace right on the Grand Canal. Finally, the staff is incredibly helpful and wonderful to interact with. When we go back to Venice, we will stay at Palazzo Stern again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review, I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please remember that we now have a boat service free of charge for all the guests who book directly with us. We are not allowed to go everywhere in Venice unfortunately, but maybe we will be able to accomplish your needs.

I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#10 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.