We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, comfortable and clean hotel with knowledgeable, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 382 hotels in Venice
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful, comfortable and clean hotel with knowledgeable, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Palazzo Stern Hotel in Venice for 2 days and three nights in mid-March. Like the other reviewers, we were pleased with its proximity to the vaporetto stop, which made sightseeing and getting to the airport a cinch. The lobby, hallways, and our room all were beautifully decorated, in good condition, and immaculately clean. The free breakfast was good too: fresh fruits, various baked goods, scrambled eggs and bacon, toast, yogurt, and cereals.

We stayed in Room 306, which was spacious, had two very comfortable beds, a pair of wing back chairs, plenty of shelf/hanging/drawer space for our clothes, a writing desk and chair and, best of all, floor-to-ceiling windows on one wall that gave us a terrific view of the Grand Canal.

The front desk staff knew how to direct us to the important sights, when and where to catch vaporettos to specific destinations, and were able to recommend some good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel when we asked.

The only negative we have to say about this hotel is that the front desk staff asked us to sign a card at check-in time. The card gave the hotel management permission to share our contact information with third parties. Although we were not told we *had* to sign the card, we also were not told we *didn't* have to sign it. In retrospect, we worry that the hotel management might have taken advantage of us by asking us to sign the card at check-in time when we were tired from traveling non-stop for nearly 24 hours and not thinking clearly. In our well rested, better frames of mind, we would have declined to sign the card, not wanting to receive mail, email, or phone calls from salespeople and wanting, in general, to protect our privacy as much as possible. It would be better, we think, either to tell guests that signing the card is optional or to ask them to fill it out any time before they check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
There is a BIG misunderstanding about what you signed at the check in. That "card" is a notification that we have to give to the local police. They need it to check all the people that are in Italy.
In the card is wrote that we will use those personal data ONLY to accomplish the things that we are forced to do per law.

There's no connection between this document and the marketing that we do on the web.

Also we don't share any information with third party and we will never do that.

I hope that this will clarify all your doubt! Thanks a gain for the review, we all look forward to welcome you here again.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    843
    146
    42
    3
    7
See reviews for
194
682
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Venice as complete novices over the Valentines day period, looking for a lovely and romantic experience - we found it at the Palazzo Stern.

From the moment we arrived at the vappareto stop (70 minutes, orange line straight from the airport, 20 yards from hotel entrance) we were impressed by the simple beauty of this hotel. The location is perfect, easy to get around, it's on the grand canal and close to the academy bridge so within a pleasant walk from all the major sites.
The welcome at reception was sublime, friendly, considerate and informative, it really felt like you we're welcome. The hotel inside is wonderful and makes you feel very special, you can see evidence all around that this was once a well loved residence and the architecture is lovely. This is one of the first times we have stayed in a smaller boutique type hotel and were so impressed we will look to do so more often.
The room was divine and gave a wonderful view across the Venice rooftops, everything was clean, cared for and well appointed, we felt very happy and comfortable.
Breakfast was tasty, good quality, friendly and relaxed with a wonderful sense of the light reflecting off the water into the restaurant.

We had never been to Venice so were very hopeful that our decision to choose this hotel would pay off - I am happy to say it did. We had a wonderful 3 nights here and would happily return and recommend. Thank you to the hotel and the team, they made a romantic stay even more special.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks to you for this beautiful review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Was impressed on first stay in Dec 2010 and not disappointed this time on return in March 2013. Still highly recommended on BA web site and with good deals for a 4 night stay. Given a splendid room with windows on two sides giving lots of light and a delightful bathroom complete with jacuzzi with deluge shower, all tiled beautifully. Kindly given welcome bottle of prosecco on arrival as returning guests. Hotel is ideally situated on Grand Canal next to water bus No1 line stop, Ca Rezzonico in Dorsoduro district where there are plenty of places to explore and eat out. Breakfast is great and staff extremely helpful and welcoming. This is a beautiful hotel in which to stay in the heart of Venice at any time of the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us... again!
:o)

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is on a curve of the Grand Canal so you can see far both ways. The boat stop is close by so we came from the airport & didn't have to trundle our cases for miles, searching. The waterbuses stop every few minutes during the day & you can get up to the Rialto bridge or down to St Mark's square in a few minutes, with all the Venetian commuters. Buy a pass. So I found the location to be perfect.
I think you will get the noise of waterbus engines anywhere on the Grand Canal. Here it is quiet at night though, apart from the odd private boat which is like a car going past at home. I slept very well, the bed was blissful. The hotel isn't cheap but Venice isn't a cheap place. There are a lot of small hotels that look nice and are set back from the Grand Canal which are no doubt cheaper. But you might not get a huge chandelier in your room! I loved the pink & gold bathroom, and the rose-scented toiletries. My daughter is 5'3" & didn't have a problem with stepping into the bath. Big TV with channels including CNN. Breakfast very civilised, fruit, pastries, cereal, toast, bacon & egg etc. The other guests seemed to be a selection of well-heeled Europeans and Americans. The staff were efficient and we had a warm welcome.
This is a quiet area but there are bars and nice shops in every direction. Can recommend the House of the Nobili restaurant just left off the square at the rear which does pizza & posh nosh too. There is a nice glass shop, a bakers & a bookshop further on, not tourist tat like round the Rialto area. Also if you walk down the side of the Accedemia you come out to the wide channel opposite Guidecca Island and some cheaper restaurants, plus you get the sea air & to see the big ships.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I really look forward to have you here again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found this hotel through the Karen Brown guide, and were not disappointed. The hotel is a magnificently restored palazzo, with incredible attention to detail. It is small and intimate, the stunning architecture is beautifully preserved, yet the hotel has all mod cons, even a Nespresso type coffee machine in the room. The furnishings are sumptuous, bed so comfortable, and room impeccably clean.

The bathroom was modern, and incredibly pretty, with pink and gold mosaic tiles. The only negative was that on the first evening, we had no hot water. However the staff did everything possible to remedy the problem quickly, and by the next morning hot water was back on.

From the moment we arrived ( very convenient - right next door to a Vaporetto stop ) the staff welcomed us. Nothing was a problem, they were happy to show us how to get to places, recommend restaurants etc.

It is about a 15 min walk from St Mark's Square, and there are many small trattorias and coffee shops nearby. It is also very close to the Accademia, and the Peggy Guggenheim Museum.

A real gem, and although not cheap, would definitely recommend as great value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
Sure we are not the cheapest hotel in Venice, but our quality is very high and I'm happy to know that you appreciate it.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you have a special occasion to celebrate (or even if you don't) ...... stay here!
It is the most beautiful hotel !! The precious architecture all beautifully maintained and the bedrooms WOW! Glorious fabric walls and curtains, the venetian chandeliers, the mosaics in the bathroom, the comfy bed .... I could go on and on!
The staff were absolutely amazing - very helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel is ideal for exploring all areas of Venice.
I can't recommend this wonderful hotel enough. It was the perfect celebration for our 25 years of marriage.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room overlooking the grand canal .... you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Congratulation again for your Anniversary!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the nice review!

I look forward to welcome you again soon. Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After many weeks of looking on trip advisor for a good hotel in Venice I came across the plazzo stern,we have stayed in 3 other hotels before and this is by far the best. The location is ideal ,short walks to coffee bars,restaurants, not far from st marks, We arrived to a wonderful welcome, the staff are exceptional and work so hard. I had booked a suite but as they did not have a canal view room I decided on the suite with side canal. The room itself was truly wonderful, we had a lovely bedroom separate sitting room and the best bathroom ever!! Big bath tub with jets. Just what we needed. The breakfast was ample with lots to choose from and again the staff were very attentive. The terrace us superb but sadly the weather was not warm enough to eat outside however we wrapped up warm and took our coffee out each morning to watch the word go by in
venice.we have been spoilt by this lovely hotel and would go back again tomorrow

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for this very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.