We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday and anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday and anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After many weeks of looking on trip advisor for a good hotel in Venice I came across the plazzo stern,we have stayed in 3 other hotels before and this is by far the best. The location is ideal ,short walks to coffee bars,restaurants, not far from st marks, We arrived to a wonderful welcome, the staff are exceptional and work so hard. I had booked a suite but as they did not have a canal view room I decided on the suite with side canal. The room itself was truly wonderful, we had a lovely bedroom separate sitting room and the best bathroom ever!! Big bath tub with jets. Just what we needed. The breakfast was ample with lots to choose from and again the staff were very attentive. The terrace us superb but sadly the weather was not warm enough to eat outside however we wrapped up warm and took our coffee out each morning to watch the word go by in
venice.we have been spoilt by this lovely hotel and would go back again tomorrow

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for this very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    171
    46
    4
    8
See reviews for
226
785
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our second trip to Venice, and we didn't even look at other hotels.

Our first stay at the Palazzo Stern was so wonderful and the location was so great that we had no reservations staying here again.

Once again the staff were exceedingly helpful whenever we wanted anything.

We stayed in room 304 (our first stay was the room above) and it was a lovely suite, once again overlooking the Gran Canale.

Breakfast was good, a nice selection and a good start to the day.

It's very central (sort of halfway between Rialto and San Marco) but still in a nice quiet area, with lots of great restaurants nearby (do try Do Farai, recommended by the hotel to us), and just a couple of steps from Ca'Rezzonico vaporetto stop.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I hope to welcome you soon again!
:o)

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived in style by water taxi speed boat from the airport which was a great start to our holiday. We were checked and given a complimentary orange juice but as we were early, and our room was still being prepared, we dropped our bags and walked to Zattere for ice creams at Bar Nico (mentioned in Donna Leon novels) which were fantastic.

We stayed in room 304 which was a suite over looking the Grand Canal. It was a good size, immaculately presented and had a pretty bathroom with a jacuzzi style bath and separate shower. It had all the facilities you would need and the best aspect was the ability to watch the world go by. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sound proofing generally was good - of course you do expect to hear some noise from boats/church bells etc.

This is a stylish and atmospheric hotel - beautifully renovated

Breakfast was good - it was very busy on Sunday morning but the staff worked very hard to keep standards up. It was much quieter on other days. The staff in general were very helpful and friendly.

The position is very handy. The walk to St Marks square was about 15 - 20 mins max - however even in February it is very busy in the main tourist areas and I really appreciated the slightly quieter atmosphere near the hotel. In the square behind the hotel there was an excellent restaurant - Oniga (reccomended by reception) - and on Calle Toletto & around there were plenty of nice bars, modest restaurants and little shops. I bought some reasonably priced souvenirs there.

I genuinely felt welcome and would go back at a moments notice!

I felt for the price we received good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay for a Grand canal view - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

I look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at Palazzo Stern and highly enjoyed it. Not only was the hotel itself a joy to stay in, with beautiful tasteful Venetian decoration everywhere, a charming breakfast room and nice bar, not to mention the very good beds with refined linen. It is also perfectly situated. No dragging of luggage because the regular water bus as well as the bus to the airport stop just besides it. There is a charming area just behind it, and it is on good walking distance of f.e. Rialto and San Marco.
Last but not least: all employees were very pleasant, genuinely helpful with whatever we asked for. The hotel offers a free drive with a private boat to Murano.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
THank you for your very nice review!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Excellent location (close to a vapôretto stop), beautiful building, friendly welcome, very good service, well diversified breakfast (which is not always the case in Italy). Really, to drink a prosecco on the terrace while looking at the Canal Grande is one of these pleasures which make life enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for a view on the Canal Grande
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon here.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the palazzo stern for five days over valentines day weekend. It was wonderful. So romantic and beautiful, right on the grand canal and the terrace is amazing even in the cold.
We had a room on the ground floor with a small balcony overlooking the small canal at the side of the hotel. It was small and quite dark but beautifully decorated and the balcony would be lovely if the weather was warmer. We were happy with our room but took a peek at others which looked much bigger and brighter. We did ask to change rooms but were only showed one other standard room which had no windows, so stayed put. To be fair we had only paid for a standard room but so many reviews mentioned an upgrade we thought we might be lucky....but not!
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, we asked for fried eggs the first morning and were presented with them each morning after that. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, they were attentive and the hotel had an intimate feel without ever beng intrusive. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.
Venice itself needs no review, it is everything you want it to be...
We went three nights out of five to the venice jazz club, about two minutes walk from the hotel and fabulous entertainment and value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

The standard double you had is very nice, not the best room of the hotel (it's a standard), but with a view on the small canal which is a big luck here in Venice!

Sure we usually give upgrades when we have any vacancy on the higher category (and those who book directly with us have more chance to have an upgrade!). But unfortunately we don't have always the chance to do that.

I look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Palazzo Stern is a great hotel in Venice. It is on the Grand Canal. The AliLaguna boat from the airport stops at the hotel; however, make sure you take the boat that stops at Ca' Rezzonico. The information provided on the hotel website does not mention this. The interior of the Palazzo Stern has been totally renovated and it is impressive. You feel like you are staying in a palace. The breakfast served in the morning was very complete.It included eggs,bacon, cereal, fruit, pastries, yogurts, and, of course, Italian coffees. The staff was very helpful and provided good sightseeing suggestions. The hotel is about a 15-minute walk to either Piazza San Marco or Ponte Rialto; however, the walk is pleasant and relaxing. Palazzo Stern was definitely one of the highlights of our recent trip to Venice and I would highly recommend it. It made us forget the cold, windy and snowy weather.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room on the second floor. The hallway is very impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm sorry for the lack on the info regarding alilaguna. Unfortunately they are always changing their lines and sometimes is hard to be updated!
Anyway we are doing a completely new website, it should be released in the next few days.

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#10 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.