We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More of a business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The grounds of the Hotel are nice, the room are spacious and the location is in a quiet neighbourhood away from Piazza San Marco.

However we were expecting a Hotel geared for tourists however but found that staff had more of business hotel type attitude and were a bit cold. There are few incidents that made me feel this way:

1.The porter who helped us with our bags, overstayed his welcome in the room because he was expecting a tip.

2.When we had breakfast in the morning I noticed the breakfast staff keeping tabs on how much food the guests were eating.

3.I fell sick during the stay at Venice. My husband asked the staff for some direction to a restaurant that would serve soup. He was given the wrong direction by the hotel and went in circles finding a nearby pizza shop to help. The restaurant was only five minutes away and Hotel Stern could have sent someone with husband knowing how confusing the routes can be for a newcomer.

4.On the day of our departure I had to check out earlier than my husband. I said ‘good bye’ to the gentlemen at the desk, he jumped out of chair asking me to checking out properly. He apologized afterwards when he realized that my husband will finalize the checkout. An hour before we mentioned to the same man that I am leaving earlier and my husband will finalize the check out process. He was not listening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, but I think that there has been few misunderstanding about the behavior of the staff. So please let me write a couple of things regarding the things you pointed out.

1) The porter has been instructed to show you all the amenities and services of the room because it happened that all the guest were coming down asking for more information about this or that. we thought that it would be a better service to give all the info at the check-in, so the purpose was not the tip (the service is always included in our rates).

2) We are taking note of what the guest eat for statistic purposes, you can eat as much as you want and it's always included in the rate.

3) Sure, someone could come with you to the restaurant. I'm sure that it didn't happen because it's a so easy way that the concierge thought that it was not necessary. Anyway I'm sorry for that.

4) This has been for sure a mistake from the concierge. He was probably tired or confused. Unfortunately we are not perfect and mistake can happen, the important think is that he recognized the mistake and gave you his apologize. And please accept also mine.

I'm sorry that our behavior has been misunderstood, as you can see our intentions were different. This doesn't justify the mistakes anyway.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    157
    45
    3
    7
See reviews for
211
714
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We decided to visit Venice for our Anniversary. A friend recommended staying at Palazzo Stern and I did not hesitate in using some extra savings to pay for this beautiful experience! The hotel is a renovated boutique building full of enchanting details! We were treated very nicely by the hotel staff during all of our stay and their suggestion for us was: "the best room for a couple is room 403". And it was so. We had a great view of the side canal and of the inner garden. We also were on the opposite side of the Ca Rezzonico water taxi and the noisy did not bother us at all. Since it was our anniversary they gave us a cold delicious Proseco as a courtesy and won our hearths.
PS: for the sake of location the place is ideal. Located in the Great Canal and very close to either Rialto or San Marco.

Room Tip: 403 was our suite and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the extra touch we dedicated you.
Thank you for the very kind review and for sharing your pictures!

We all look forward to welcome you again soon. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the hotel we truly enjoyed during our Europe trip. We booked the superior room and it was beautiful with a grand canal view. They gave us a bottle of champagne for our anniversary and the services were really good. The coffee machine was broken, so they provided all the coffee and tea room services free of charge. The breakfast was good but in not big portion. In all, we enjoyed the stay and the WIFI was very quick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm not sure to understand what you mean when you say that the portion at the breakfast are not big, as it's mainly a buffet and we don't have any limit. It means that you can ask also 1000 coffees and you can serve yourself as many time as you want.

Thank you for the review and have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the superior suite, with views over the grand canal, and the kids in the deluxe. The staff are all friendly, with english not a problem, recommending tours and restaurants. The building is beautiful and clean and the location, being on the fringe of the tourist sector we had a more local resident group of restaurants and bars available to us. The academia galleria is nearby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would come back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location on the Grand Canal, adjacent to the Ca'Rezzonico Vaporetto stop. (We bought a 72 hour travel ticket so we made extensive use of the brilliant Vaporetto system). The hotel is immaculately decorated, Murano glass chandeliers, fabric wall coverings, it really gives off the atmosphere of the "Palazzo" it once was. Our "Deluxe" room was spacious, and the bathroom was excellent, even a whirlpool bath.Front of house staff were friendly & informative: we were given a quick "guide" to the best sites to visit when we arrived. General facilities are limited to a bar and breakfast room, but the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal must be great in Summer. We weren't brave enough to try the Jacuzzi on the roof terrace: it was January! Probably the best small hotel we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Junior suites overlook the Grand Canal, but you might be able to hear Vaporettos etc at night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
You don't have to be so brave to try the Jacuzzi, it's heated!!!
I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here, maybe in a warmer monthso you will have the chance to enjoy both the Jacuzzi and the terrace on the Grand Canal.
Thank you for your very kind review and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our visit to Venice was made so much more pleasurable by the comfort and warmth of this hotel. The staff were polite and very helpful. On arrival we were even given an impromptu travelogue of the city by the duty manager!
The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the period furnishings added to our experience of this historic city. The bathroom was very modern and luxurious.
The hotel is located only minutes walking distance from the main tourist attractions but in an area with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby that do not charge tourist prices.
We will be sure to stay at this hotel if we ever get another chance to visit Venice again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind and nice review!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We picked the hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and pleasant. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a wonderful surprise. The rooms were beautiful as is the hotel itself. The location was great with restaurants nearby. This was our second visit to Venice and we would without doubt recommend Palazzo Stern and would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Escapio, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.