We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 382 hotels in Venice
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the hotel we truly enjoyed during our Europe trip. We booked the superior room and it was beautiful with a grand canal view. They gave us a bottle of champagne for our anniversary and the services were really good. The coffee machine was broken, so they provided all the coffee and tea room services free of charge. The breakfast was good but in not big portion. In all, we enjoyed the stay and the WIFI was very quick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm not sure to understand what you mean when you say that the portion at the breakfast are not big, as it's mainly a buffet and we don't have any limit. It means that you can ask also 1000 coffees and you can serve yourself as many time as you want.

Thank you for the review and have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    857
    150
    41
    3
    7
See reviews for
201
690
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the superior suite, with views over the grand canal, and the kids in the deluxe. The staff are all friendly, with english not a problem, recommending tours and restaurants. The building is beautiful and clean and the location, being on the fringe of the tourist sector we had a more local resident group of restaurants and bars available to us. The academia galleria is nearby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would come back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location on the Grand Canal, adjacent to the Ca'Rezzonico Vaporetto stop. (We bought a 72 hour travel ticket so we made extensive use of the brilliant Vaporetto system). The hotel is immaculately decorated, Murano glass chandeliers, fabric wall coverings, it really gives off the atmosphere of the "Palazzo" it once was. Our "Deluxe" room was spacious, and the bathroom was excellent, even a whirlpool bath.Front of house staff were friendly & informative: we were given a quick "guide" to the best sites to visit when we arrived. General facilities are limited to a bar and breakfast room, but the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal must be great in Summer. We weren't brave enough to try the Jacuzzi on the roof terrace: it was January! Probably the best small hotel we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Junior suites overlook the Grand Canal, but you might be able to hear Vaporettos etc at night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
You don't have to be so brave to try the Jacuzzi, it's heated!!!
I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here, maybe in a warmer monthso you will have the chance to enjoy both the Jacuzzi and the terrace on the Grand Canal.
Thank you for your very kind review and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our visit to Venice was made so much more pleasurable by the comfort and warmth of this hotel. The staff were polite and very helpful. On arrival we were even given an impromptu travelogue of the city by the duty manager!
The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the period furnishings added to our experience of this historic city. The bathroom was very modern and luxurious.
The hotel is located only minutes walking distance from the main tourist attractions but in an area with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby that do not charge tourist prices.
We will be sure to stay at this hotel if we ever get another chance to visit Venice again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind and nice review!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We picked the hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and pleasant. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a wonderful surprise. The rooms were beautiful as is the hotel itself. The location was great with restaurants nearby. This was our second visit to Venice and we would without doubt recommend Palazzo Stern and would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

wonderful hotel in a perfect location with many restaurants nearby as well as major sights. this hotel lives up to its name and reputation of being a "palazzo". beautifully restored it was luxurious to stay in. we had the 4 bed suite with views of the grand canal and it could not have been better. the wi-fi worked well.

Room Tip: must have view of grand canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Buonasera!
Thank you for the beautifull review.
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton Beeches, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been to Venice many times, and this is the fourth year that has included a short January break. And this was the best of these breaks. We would recommend to anyone a stay at the Palazzo Stern, at least once in a lifetime! It is the most exquisite building, wonderfully restored, in the most beautiful Canale Grande setting. It was peaceful, and the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. An exquisite experience. Do go if you can. You will never regret it!

Room Tip: We had the most beautiful room, with Grand Canal view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#10 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, EasyToBook, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.