We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 382 hotels in Venice
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great room, great service, great location to enjoy venice.
Breakfast are very good.
Very easy to find since close to ca rezzonico stop.
Just one area of improvment : lack of tv channels to enjoy a good movie after a day of visit, but are we ine venise to watch tv ?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review! You are right, you are not in Venice to watch TV, bu you are also right when you say that it's a good way to relax at the end of the day. We will try to improve our offer of tv channels, thanks for the suggestion!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    863
    149
    43
    3
    7
See reviews for
193
681
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Turned up at the hotel on 2nd December and we were welcomed with a refreshing drink and showed points of interest in Venice by the friendly concierge. Then we were showen to our room and it was wonderful with a hanging chandelier over the bed and decorated to a very high standard it was spotlessly clean we loved it. The surrounding area was peaceful and quite and the restaurants in this area were of a very high standard and good value for money as it is not in the heart of the tourist centre but getting to San Marco is only a 10 - 15 mins walk and roughly the same for the Rialto bridge. All in all this a beautiful hotel with a lot of love put in to the decorating of it, the staff are friendly, kind, helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay even better top marks to them all and the surrounding area is peaceful and qiute just what you need after a day of sight seeing 10 out of 10. 100 % will recommend. Thank You for a Lovely holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review!!!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Highly recommended. The first thing you must understand about Venice is that the hotel location will determine how much you enjoy your visit. This hotel is ideal in every way.

Initially we stayed at the Hilton Molino Stucky, which was a disaster. When we switched to the Hotel Palazzo Stern, we had very low expectations. What a wonderful surprise. The Palazzo Stern is beautiful, luxurious, convenient, comfortable and the building is a work of art.

The location is superb. It is located on the Grand Canal in an enviable spot, overlooking the Accademia bridge, but far from the tourist crowds. It's right next to the Ca Rezzonico vaporetto stop, and it has its own dock for water taxis. That is very convenient. By foot, you will find the Accademia bridge is a short distance from the hotel, and St Mark's Square is an easy stroll from there.

The Hotel Palazzo Stern is situated in a fascinating neighborhood. It is not the touristic part of Venice. Instead, it is filled with art and craft shops from local merchants. We found beautiful fashion and design and jewelry shops in the small streets near the hotel. There are also a dozen very good restaurants within a five or ten minute walk from the hotel: we ate most of our meals in this neighborhood because we liked it so much. There are also many small bars in the next neighborhood (follow the signs towards Ferrovia / Piazza Roma and you will be there in five minutes).

Inside, the hotel is a jewel box. The building has a fascinating history. In the late 1800s, the art-collecting Stern Family from Paris purchased what was then a small ceramic studio located on the Grand Canal. Previously there had been a legendary palace on this site, but that family went bankrupt and the house was stripped for building materials. As a result, the Sterns were able to build a showcase for their vast collection of art work and sculptures. Imagine: a 19th-century recreation of a classic Venetian palace, decorated with medieval sculptures from all over Italy and Europe. The entire building is like an art history tour with striking details in every corner.

The rooms are quiet and well appointed with luxurious fabrics and nice amenities. We stayed in a suite overlooking the Grand Canal. I can say that this is one of the finest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in (after 30 years of world travel). The view from the window was magnificent. All day long we watched with joy as the boats traveled up and down the Grand Canal past our room. The bathrooms are clean, built with excellent materials and very comfortable appointments.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I strongly urge you to consider staying here and making this your home in Venice.

Room Tip: If you care for a view of the Grand Canal, you must book a suite. If you are on a budget, I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for this really nice review!
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

You are right when you say that the location of the hotel here in Venice is very important, and I'm happy that you find our very convenient.

I look forward to welcome you again soon, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We, a family of four, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Palazzo Stern in Nov 2012. We stayed in the junior suite with two comfortable adult sized beds for my 11 and 14 year old boys. The hotel located in the artistic quarter of Venice (Dorsoduro) was an easy stroll to the major attractions in Venice yet away from the tourist crowds. In my opinion, Dorsoduro is the most charming area in a city that is already oozing with charm. Being next to the vaporetto stop along the Grand Canal made things extra convenient on days where we were lazy to walk or had heavy bags to carry (St Mark's is a couple of stops away - close but not too close!!). The hotel is a luxurious and intimate with beautiful fittings, moldings and carvings. It is clear that a lot of thought went into the preservation of this building without sacrificing creature comforts of demanding guests. Pictures of the hotel did not do justice to how pretty this hotel is. Service at the hotel matched the top quality of the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was eager to serve and recommendations to attractions and restaurants were spot on. The terrace by the canal was perfect after a day of exploration- a end of the day highlight for me. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again here.

Have a nice day and Merry Christmas!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

very good location, close to san marco, academia, dorsoduro and vaporetto station (10 meters) Staff is very nice, efficient and professionnal. Breakfirst is very large choice. Room is quite and the view of our room on the roofs and steeples is very beautiful

Room Tip: choice a high floor to the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review!
We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This charming hotel right on the Grand Canal is in a fabulous location, just steps from the Ca'Rezzonica vaporetto stop making it easy to get anywhere in the city. The historical features of the hotel add to it's uniqueness as well as the delightful terrace overlooking the canal. It is also an easy walk to many sights and museums The staff is friendly and very helpful, the breakfast is lovely and the rooms quite comfortable and well appointed. Dorsoduro is a delightful quiet neighborhood away from the hubbub of San Marco with many good restaurants and shops. We were in Venice in an early November high flood tide which was actually lots of fun - we were able to buy rubber boots nearby and continue about our sightseeing without so many other tourists around!

Room Tip: At first we were disappointed not to be overlooking the canal but our windows opened instead to a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and also the "Acqua Alta". Media usually present it as dangerous, and people get scared. But it's not, and sometimes can be also fun.

Please remember that if you want a room overlooking the Grand Canal you need to book a Junior Suite or a Superior!!! And sure, if you want a very quiet room you have to book the view on the backside (garden or small canal view usually).

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived by water bus from the train station, the water stop was just next to the hotel, which was helpful as we had heavy luggages. We were then greeted most warmly by hotel staff. The location is a bit off San Marco, and since it was off season, that side of town was a bit quiet. The walk from San Marco took about 15-20mins, and passed some unsettling part of town, especially late at night, although I must say the surroundings were well patrolled.
Breakfast was a wonderful spread, the croissant was the best i've tasted this trip in Italy!
A well worth stay , if you don't mind the walk to San Marco...

Room Tip: we had the standard double, which we found to be a bit of a sqeeze.. thought i guess its common in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!

The distance to San Marco (a 10 minutes walk is not far!) is one selling point of our property. It can be a plus or a minus, depends on what you want. If you are looking for a venetian area (where you will not meet only tourists), where you can sleep comfortably without any noise from outside, with a lot of local restaurants and bar and shops, we are the right choice!

Please remember also that Venice is a very safe town. There are no dangers during the day and during the night, you can walk everywhere and stop everybody for directions. I know that all our little alleys can be a little scary in the night, but it's just because you are not used to it.

Thanks again for you review, I hope to welcome you soon again here! Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.