We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Lyon, France
1 review
“love venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

very good location, close to san marco, academia, dorsoduro and vaporetto station (10 meters) Staff is very nice, efficient and professionnal. Breakfirst is very large choice. Room is quite and the view of our room on the roofs and steeples is very beautiful

Room Tip: choice a high floor to the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review!
We all look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    153
    42
    4
    7
See reviews for
207
702
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This charming hotel right on the Grand Canal is in a fabulous location, just steps from the Ca'Rezzonica vaporetto stop making it easy to get anywhere in the city. The historical features of the hotel add to it's uniqueness as well as the delightful terrace overlooking the canal. It is also an easy walk to many sights and museums The staff is friendly and very helpful, the breakfast is lovely and the rooms quite comfortable and well appointed. Dorsoduro is a delightful quiet neighborhood away from the hubbub of San Marco with many good restaurants and shops. We were in Venice in an early November high flood tide which was actually lots of fun - we were able to buy rubber boots nearby and continue about our sightseeing without so many other tourists around!

Room Tip: At first we were disappointed not to be overlooking the canal but our windows opened instead to a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and also the "Acqua Alta". Media usually present it as dangerous, and people get scared. But it's not, and sometimes can be also fun.

Please remember that if you want a room overlooking the Grand Canal you need to book a Junior Suite or a Superior!!! And sure, if you want a very quiet room you have to book the view on the backside (garden or small canal view usually).

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived by water bus from the train station, the water stop was just next to the hotel, which was helpful as we had heavy luggages. We were then greeted most warmly by hotel staff. The location is a bit off San Marco, and since it was off season, that side of town was a bit quiet. The walk from San Marco took about 15-20mins, and passed some unsettling part of town, especially late at night, although I must say the surroundings were well patrolled.
Breakfast was a wonderful spread, the croissant was the best i've tasted this trip in Italy!
A well worth stay , if you don't mind the walk to San Marco...

Room Tip: we had the standard double, which we found to be a bit of a sqeeze.. thought i guess its common in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!

The distance to San Marco (a 10 minutes walk is not far!) is one selling point of our property. It can be a plus or a minus, depends on what you want. If you are looking for a venetian area (where you will not meet only tourists), where you can sleep comfortably without any noise from outside, with a lot of local restaurants and bar and shops, we are the right choice!

Please remember also that Venice is a very safe town. There are no dangers during the day and during the night, you can walk everywhere and stop everybody for directions. I know that all our little alleys can be a little scary in the night, but it's just because you are not used to it.

Thanks again for you review, I hope to welcome you soon again here! Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights here for our 30th wedding anniversary. I chose this hotel based on previous reviews and I'm glad I did. I couldn't have been more pleased with this property. It is easy to get to, just step off the vaperetto stop Ca' Rezzonico and you are there. This also makes it convenient to get anywhere in the city you'd like. The location is close to all the attractions and the best part is that it's situated right on the Grand Canal. We had the junior suite with a stunning view of the canal. The room was beautifully decorated in both modern and period design. The staff had a chilled bottle of Proseco waiting in our room at check in. The breakfast that is included was a full buffet (not just continental) and we loved eating outside overlooking the canal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day, ciao!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived at the Palazzo Stern on the Alilaguna Water Taxi from the airport which is an efficient, reliable way to travel. We were warmly welcomed into the hotel and provided with information and a map. The accommodation, whilst not being given a room with a view, was very clean and comfortable. We did find the room very warm, but we could open a window, although it was a little noisy in the street below which was the main route for the water taxi stop. The breakfasts were very good and the staff very helpful and polite. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Venice.

Room Tip: Check if your room is on a split level ... our room had a bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for this very kind review!

We all look forward to welcome you again here.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you want the best Venice has to offer, then this is the place.

The rooms are deluxe, the staff caters to your every need, the breakfast is the best I have ever had in a European hotel, and the location is the best.

I could go on all day about this place. Yes it is a bit pricey, but so worth it. I will stay here every time I visit Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the great review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived at the Palazzo Stern situated on the Grand Canal by water taxi from the airport (definitely the way to arrive in Venice). We were warmly welcomed with a drink and were provided with a map and shown the key points of interest. Our room was in excellent decorative order and very clean, very comfortable. As our coffee machine was out of order they provided us with tea and coffee as room service or in the lounge whenever we asked for it at no extra charge. The hotel is situated right by a Vaporetta/Aliliguna stop (the latter going directly to Marco Polo airport) and was in walking distance of key attractions such as the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. We also enjoyed a complimentary water taxi to the island of Murano where we were escorted to see glass-blowing with strong encouragement to buy glass - we didn't and had plenty of choice to purchase glass later in the very many shops on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#10 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Escapio, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.