We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, friendly staff, and a romantic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Stern to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Stern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 383 Hotels in Venice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic location, friendly staff, and a romantic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were greeted by the most helpful hotel manager and were made to feel very special. All the staff were so friendly and helpful to all our needs, and the attention to detail at this hotel made it one of the best experiences for our romantic visit to Venice. This is possibly as close as a hotel can come to a perfect experience. Simply outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Superior Room - definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review!

We all hope to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    163
    46
    3
    7
See reviews for
219
742
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our trip included a visit to this wonderful hotel. Located right on the grand canal, our room was HUGE by European standards, with the tall Glass doors opening onto our private balcony! Breakfast included and right next to Ca Rizzocconti (sp) water taxi....2-3 stops from San Marco and much quieter....for a great experience, add the pricey but enjoyable water taxi. Added bonus....free tour and one way taxi to murano glass factory.

Room Tip: The top suite was wonderful....didn't check out the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What an exquisite hotel for our first trip to Venice to celebrate our 40th anniversary. A lovely Moorish palazzo , with a generously sized room, a delightfully appointed bath, and a wonderful breakfast buffet. Service, whether at breakfast or for coffee at anytime was prompt and efficient.

But the best aspect of Palazzo Stern is its location. Just steps to vaporetto linea #1 make getting to other parts of town so convenient, yet the neighborhood is quiet and crowd-free. An unexpected plus was the proximity to Campo San Barnaba and Campo Santa Margarita - a trove of wonderful local restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed our hotel and I look forward to welcome you soon again.
Have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Mother, Sister and I traveled to Italy for two weeks in September, and the Palazzo Stern was our first stop. We took a private water taxi directly to the hotel from the airport, which was worth every penny after having been on an airplane for 16 hours! Our room was beautiful and the staff very friendly. The morning breakfast on the terrace was fabulous! We also loved the neighborhood - close enough to everything in Venice, but far enough so it wasn't so busy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes the neighbor of the hotel is very nice. A lot of local restaurants, bars and shop. And not touristic at all!!!

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my wife wanted a romantic retreat for our 10th anniversary, which better place than Venice !? Than the question was where to stay! Our choice fell on Palazzo Stern and we are both happy that we did . A perfect combination of beauty, love of details, gentleness (a special thank you to our morning waiter in the breakfast room!), good advices such as restaurants (2 excellent choices we got from the front desk manager!! Thanks you!). Basically a perfect week end in the most beautiful city in the world. Palazzo Stern will see us back for sure ! An please, take some time to visit the hotel, it is worth it !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Buongiorno!!!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again here.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose this Hotel after a friend had recommended it. Our first visit to Venice after 20 years. We stayed for five nights and were impressed with the location. The Vaporetto stop was only 20 yards from the Hotel entrance, with a side stop alongside the Hotel for a watertaxi. When the sun was shining, breakfast was taken on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal under Sun Shades! a lovely experience. Our bedroom on the second floor was comfortable and well appointed with a view over the city roofs. The design was elegant and toned in with the background of a converted Palazzo.
The area on this side of the Canal is less crowded, with little restaurants, but the need to walk.
The Hotel staff coped well when the floods came.on our last day. It would be nice to have more space to sit inside when it is raining.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay!!!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice. Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Palazzo Stern and could not have been happier with our choice. The staff could not have been more attentive, only to be surpassed by the luxurious details of the hotel's furnishings - gorgeous fabrics, period furniture, art, murano glass chandeliers, wall coverings. The hotel has an ideal location overlooking a quieter area of the Grand Canal, with a convenient private dock, as well as the public vaporetto stop right outside the front door. A lovely buffet breakfast is included in the price, making it easy to get an early start. The proximity to many wonderful little restaurants in the surrounding quiet Dorsoduro neighborhood was great after walking through the busy areas of St. Mark's Square and the Rialto during the day. The hotel was excellent in recommending exactly the type of restaurants we were looking for each night and secured reservations for us. We loved the feel of staying in a small boutique hotel with private concierge service. We highly recommend the Palazzo Stern, a quality property with a quality staff.

Room Tip: The superior room with the Grand Canal view was a bargain - not as many windows as the suite, but st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Stern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.