We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ca'Sagredo Hotel to your Saves list
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Ca'sagredo staff and Manager

Just a message to say we had a wonderful time at your hotel whilst staying with you from the 23 to the 27 of March this year..

Your staff from the start of each day at breakfast through the day to the evening meal where exemplary in everything they did. We stayed in room 205 which having travelled the world on business and pleasure was the quietest room I have ever stayed in. The lady that looked after our room was wonderful to.

Please pass on our thanks and best wishes to your staff and let them know it will take a long time to ever forget our stay. As a special note there is one lady at breakfast who set up each day with a smile and a greeting each morning that started our day perfectly.

Your very lucky and fortunate to have such a great team working for you keep it up.

REGARDS KBJ.

Room Tip: Room 205 if you need peace and quiet. No view though as it is the only room on this floor 205A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ca'Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for your email.
We would like to express our gratitude for the nice words. We are really pleased to hear that you liked the hotel and appreciated our assistance.
We have relayed the compliments and your comments to our General Manager, to the entire staff and to the lady at breakfast!
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future,
Our best regards
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    122
    42
    14
    14
See reviews for
85
504
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and the location is perfect. However, the staff and management really let this hotel down. We stayed in room 112 which is below the 'music room'. There was awful noise from a 100 party function on our first night which continued until after midnight. This ruined our stay. When complaining, I spoke to a male receptionist who hung up the phone on me and refused to provide me with his name. The management informed me he was one of their best staff and implied I was 'mistaken' in my complaint of him. We received no compensation for our sleep being disturbed and no genuine apology from management. Sadly, although this is a beautiful hotel, the staff and management fall far below the standard expected of a five star establishment. The hotel have an incredibly poor customer service policy, particularly when dealing with complaints. The fact that the hotel seem to ignore all criticism on tripadvisor reviews is undoubtedly indicative of their tardy approach to customer service. In summary, look elsewhere and receive the attention from management and staff that you should when paying five star prices.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ca'Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Friday 4th April 2014
Dear Guest,
my name is Patrizia Coccato Guest Relations of Ca’ Sagredo, I met you today and on your arrival date.
We are reading tonight the comment you posted yesterday on Tripadvisor (but it is only visible today) while you are still in the hotel in our accommodation number 112 (which is not a regular room room but a deluxe Sagredo Junior Suite)
I am replying to you via Tripadvisor on behalf of myself, our Reception Manager, Mr. Raffaele Lo Mastro, and our General Manager, Mrs. Lorenza Lain and on behalf of our entire Front Office Staff.
The party you are referring to was held on Wednesday 2nd April (your arrival date) .
As you may recall, you phoned and talked to Mrs. Laura, Front Desk Receptionist, the same evening (wednesday) at about at 9:30 pm complaining for the noise coming from upstairs. Laura immediately advised you that the party was due to end at midnight (as per Italian regulation)
Later the same night you talked a gentleman, Mr. Michele, our Night Concierge.
You also talked to me personally, since I was the Manager on duty.
I personally apologized for the noise inconvenience and offered you to move your accommodation to an higher floor accommodation but you refused.
All of us introduced our names and all of us wear identification badges.
Yesterday in the morning (Thursday 3rd) you talked to Mr. Raffaele Lo Mastro, our Reception Manager, who was on duty. He was well aware of your complaint and promptly apologized for the noise inconvenience and offered you to change accommodation several times.
As a “compensation” he showed you a Sagredo Gran Canal Suite as un upgrade but you decided not to move from your junior suite.
He also placed all our VIP amenities in your room on behalf on the Management and the Team,
As you can see we did handle your complaint and did show you our hospitality.
I met you also personally today (Friday 4th) and you did not mentioned anything.
As you may imagine, your behavior entitled us to think you were fine and made us understand that all was solved on your sided.
We are therefore very surprised now to read your review on tripadvisor.
Just for your information , we will send your file and complaint to Tripadvisor Management with our request to be duly removed from the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a fantastic hotel. The service was excellent, the junior suite was spacious and very comfortable (a little warm at night) with a view to the 'courtyard' and looking to the right you see the gondola stop on the Grand Canal. Conveniently the traghetto also stops here for €2 to cross to the Rialto Market. The vaporetto stop Ca' D'Oro is only 2 mins away. But the special feature of this hotel is it's setting, as a 16th century restored palace with art work on ceilings and murals; be overwhelmed by the ballroom and surrounding rooms where breakfast is served. Enjoy the music whilst soaking up the art and atmosphere of this exquisite hotel. Breakfast was also excellent, with a varied selection of breads, cakes, 'home baked' fruits, meats, cheeses, eggs etc. Both hot & cold breakfast as part of the buffet. Gluten free breads were available on request. I would certainly recommend this hotel, as a special treat you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaSagredo, Guest Relations Manager at Ca'Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your nice words and we look forward to welcoming you again in near future,
our kind regards
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed December 14 for 4 nights. It started bad and stayed bad in the area of customer service. We booked trip through American Express Concierge and cleared with hotel in advance that we were bringing our small dog, the confirmation had noted the small dog BUT the front desk clerk immediately challenged that we had not notified them. To make a long story short we asked to see the manager everyday that we were there to challenge the additional charge for the pet and complain about the service and basically were told that the manager is traveling and is not available. We had problems with our room being too hot, their response was dismissive. We had problems with the television signal being lost, their response was dismissive. The dinner in their very expensive restaurant was good but we were asked to pay the tip in cash, and not write it on the ticket, hmmmmm? The room was beautiful, the furniture and maid service was very good. It was our 10th anniversary and we were shocked by the service. I complained even upon check out and basically was dismissed by the front desk clerk saying he had no authority to others had done or said things not him.

Room Tip: VERY expensive, try a different hotel there are many to choose from in Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaSagredo, Guest Relations Manager at Ca'Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
we acknowledge your comments with regards to your stay in December and we indeed expected them since you stated clearly upon to our Reception Manager at check out that if you didn’t waived the pet daily fee , you would have written on Tripadvisor complaining.
Our reservation policy is clearly published on our website and though all partner channels. Pets supplement has a fix supplement per room per night, of which you have promptly informed both from the Reservation department prior your arrival and also upon check in.
Please note that the Italian tax system does not consider tips in a fiscal document as regular, moreover please note that we do not accept any devious comments which leaves open doubts to consider our staff behavior as not regular.
Air conditioning system and television, audio devices are constantly checked by our technicians and we never had, with regards to your request, any dismissive behavior. Anyhow we will do consider your comment as important as we continuosly improve our service, as per our collected past awards and as our good comments testify.
our kind regards
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is lovely, and perfectly positioned on the Grand Canal, with a convenient vaporetto stop close by, and just far away enough from the busiest spots without being too far and inaccessible. It is a good looking 16th century (or earlier ?) palace which has been well maintained, and retains its very good looks, especially seen from the opposite side of the canal at the Rialto Market. (The wonderful market is served by a gondola-like traghetto in which you are rowed across for 2 euros - less if you're a local - from a pier right at the hotel's front door). Breakfast is served in a splendid set of high ceilinged, art covered rooms, and is very good, we thought. Our room on the 4th floor didn't have a view,(except one of Venice rooftops) which was disappointing, although it did have a tiny terrace. The room was too warm and there didn't seem to be any way of controlling the temperature, so we had to sleep with the large window wide open - actually not a great problem as , with nothing but roofs outside us - there was no noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location is superb, right by a water bus stop on the Grand Canal. There is nothing to dislike about this hotel; where the staff are caring, professional and attentive without intruding. The facilities have every aspect of italian warmth, style and charm.

A wonderful holiday and worth every penny.

Room Tip: You don't have to have a room overlooking the canal because you will be asleep for most of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent four nights in this exquisite hotel in October before embarking for a month at sea, and this was my favorite part of the trip. My husband hates to visit museums, he prefers walking, dining, and drinking. I usually feel deprived because I want to see more art and architecture. This hotel made both of us happy! It IS art, many walls and ceilings painted in murals including a ceiling by Tiepolo, in the dining room where we had our breakfast each morning. So enriching to live within these walls for a few days.

Our room overlooked the plaza and we could see the canal if we stretched our necks. It wasn't exactly quiet, but the sounds we heard were pleasant- people in the street - which is what we like about European cities.

One thing, the gratis trip they offer to Murano that is "no pressure" to buy is in fact high pressure. The glass factory is interesting, but it is clear that you are expected to purchase the wares and you will be returned to Venice soon after your tour ends. So, you might want to skip that or pay for the ride and go over on your own. Also, you might be offered a free pass to the casino. That is worth seeing for the architecture, but I found it to be on the somber and depressing side. We aren't gamblers, and maybe we would have enjoyed it more if we were.

The staff in Ca Sagredo was helpful and charming. Both my husband and I hated to leave and will stay here again when we are next in Venice.

Room Tip: Plan to spend some time inside the hotel. It is worth exploring. You will have the opportunity to li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca'Sagredo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca'Sagredo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Sagredo Hotel is Venice new luxury boutique hotel on the Grand Canal. A 15th jewel in a magical city, where the building's history intertwines with that of the Famiglia Sagredo one of the most important in The Republic, whose destiny was bounded to the Doges and the city itself. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms, most with magnificent panoramic view over the Gran Canal, a trendy restaurant with outdoor terrace over the water and banqueting/meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ca'Sagredo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casagredo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca'Sagredo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.