We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 Star Experience at a 5 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ca'Sagredo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 381 hotels in Venice
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A 4 Star Experience at a 5 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this property and I can't remember being greeted once by the front desk after check in. It's a small thing but you really expect to be acknowledged (by name hopefully) at a hotel with a five star rating. Sure it's an old building but it felt dowdy rather than grand and it truly has such unrealized potential. For example, there are spaces that seem unused that could be a comfortable space for guests awaiting their room to be made ready; just some seating on the 2nd floor off of the breakfast area (in what appear to have been a ballroom) could be so relaxing and useful! (I would have appreciated such a space as we were jet-lagged upon arrival and our room was not ready for hours.) The rooms were clean and a nice size but one of our two rooms felt rather warm, a problem in Venice during August. The best part by far was the lovely service by the blonde lady at breakfast. She ALWAYS greeted us and genuinely cared about making us happy. I would say this is a 4 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star which is very disappointing when you expect the best.

Room Tip: The rooms with a Grand Canal view are a little smaller and noisier and the view isn't especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    104
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
429
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is a historic palace with paintings on ceilings, huge rooms and excellent location. It has two entrances: one from land and another one from the Grand canal. If you come from airport or cruise in a water taxi you are taken straight into the lobby. The rooms are very large with all luxuries. This is the hotel to stay when we come back to Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the service was welcoming, responsive and efficient. After our first night we were upgraded from our junior suite to an Enormous suite because a pipe under our tub was leaking. The suite had a stunning fresco on the ceiling! The staff in the breakfast room were exceptional and very friendly. We truly enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our first visit to Venice and it was everything we hoped it would be. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel upgraded us to a suite with views onto the Grand canal! Breakfast was in the most beautiful setting and the walk up to breakfast from the lobby is stunning. Hotel is in excellent location and I highly recommend taking a private water taxi from the airport which will drop you directly to the hotel on the Grande Canal ..... Only way to arrive into Venice. Staff were really helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Negative part:
A visit to the Murano island CAM Vetri D'Arte glass factory was suggested to us by front desk at Hotel as they told us it is where all the light fittings that are throughout the hotel were made and they send a FREE private water launch to take you there and then they will drop you back where ever you want. We wanted to visit Marco Square so we thought we would go to the factory and then get dropped at harbour near Marco Square. When you arrive at the factory you are meet by a guide - sales man and given the tour. Very impressive but be AWARE prices for everything are massively over priced and all is not as it seems. I purchased a pair of earrings for my wife with 4 crystal gems as present for wedding anniversary. Our guide showed us the earrings and held them up to light to show how the light made the crystal change colour and said the assistant would package them and have them ready for us at end of tour. When we got home my wife thought that they didn’t look like the ones we were shown and took the earrings to our jeweller and he confirmed they were just glass!!!
I emailed the hotel and the factory and they have issued a full refund and asked us to keep earrings with their compliments. Once I see refund I will be sending back earrings.
The private boat was free and did drop us to harbour at Marco Square.

Venice is beautiful and we had amazing time and Hotel was stunning. Thank you Ca Sagredo Hotel for a wonderful stay. Please don’t recommend visiting glass factory anymore, I am sure you get a % of any sales but is it really worth spoiling someone’s stay at your hotel with a pressurised sales visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel is very well located, its sits on the grand canal and off of one of the main route from the bus/train station if you're traveling on foot. Don't let that out you off though as the hotel is on a very quiet side street. We arrived by water taxi, and the lady on reception came to greet us as if we were a member of her only family. She had the concierge there within seconds to take care of our bags and take them to our room.

The building itself is amazing, and all in very good condition.

We were upgraded to a Mini sweet, which was just stunning. Every thing was immaculately clean, and in a very good state of repair. Our room overlooked the Grand Canal.

There is aircon throughout the whole hotel.

Breakfast was on the second floor and was continental, again as you would expect from a 5 star hotel, lots of it and very high quality with plenty of staff to look after your needs.

I can't recommend this gem of a hotel enough, well worth considering if you're staying in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel. The weather at the time of our visit was extremely hot and humid so we were glad of the quiet and cool of the air-conditioned interior.

The location is excellent, right on the Grand Canal and just opposite the Rialto Market. This means that you are away from the teeming area of the Piazzo San Marco but still well located for all the tourist attractions of Venice. We took a shared water taxi from the airport - the best way to enter Venice - and this took us right to the hotel entrance.

The hotel has been converted - at enormous expense - from what was formerly the palace of the Sagredo family. Our room - not one of the most expensive ones overlooking the Grand Canal - was really comfortable and well furnished.We were on a bed & breakfast deal and the breakfasts each morning were plentiful and delicious.

Throughout our stay the staff, who all spoke good English, could not have been more friendly and helpful - we couldn't fault the service even if we'd wanted to.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, which looks extremely expensive, but many good restaurants are within easy walking distance.

The hotel tariff is expensive but there are deals to be done if you shop around, as we did. Venice is not a place most people will visit often so it's worth treating yourself and Ca' Sagredo is a fine hotel in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice hotel in a convenient location. Away from the hustle and bustle of St Marks but within easy access by using the Vaporatto stop just next door to the hotel or on foot. There is a public gondola across to the Fish Market and a “real” Gondola Stop just down from the front entrance of the hotel. The hotel has a small open air terrace onto the Grand Canal where our private water taxi dropped us off and where we ate dinner on the night of our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
Hotel reception area but the level of service not 5 star. Our biggest criticism would be front of house. Only one person checking in/out guests and also acting as Concierge which is not normal in a 5 star hotel. We had to wait at least 10 minutes to check in whilst an American guest was asking for advice on restaurants etc. Surprisingly no cool towels or drink offered whilst we were waiting.

Our room on the top floor had a tiny terrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops. Very comfortable bed and good quality linen. A turndown service was carried out but this has to be the only hotel ever where no chocolate was left on the pillow!! Large shower room but the shower needed attention as water not flowing away freely and had to watch it didn’t overflow. 2 sets of towel hooks fixed on wall but one of which had the “balls” on the ends missing – attention to detail?

Breakfast was good and I have to say the blond lady in charge was probably the best member of hotel staff we came across. Excellent attention to detail noticing when extra cutlery was required and remembering the type of coffee you had chosen the previous day. The breakfast room is beautiful with fine furniture and very ornate decoration.

We enjoyed dinner on the terrace and food and service were good but it would have been nice had the hotel made us feel a bit more special as they were aware it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary. It was very surprising that we did not receive as much as a word of congratulation!

Venice is beautiful and a city to which we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca'Sagredo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Also Known As:
Casagredo Hotel Venice
Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca'Sagredo Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Sagredo Hotel is Venice new luxury boutique hotel on the Grand Canal. A 15th jewel in a magical city, where the building's history intertwines with that of the Famiglia Sagredo one of the most important in The Republic, whose destiny was bounded to the Doges and the city itself. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms, most with magnificent panoramic view over the Gran Canal, a trendy restaurant with outdoor terrace over the water and banqueting/meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Ca'Sagredo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca'Sagredo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.