We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Beyond Belief” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ca'Sagredo Hotel to your Saves list
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Luxury Beyond Belief”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a tour in room 205. Although the room was very difficult to find, it was spectacular. The room was huge; with a main bedroom, sitting area and grand bathroom. Everything was incredibly clean and comfortable. The room included various amenities such as 3 TVs (one in the bathroom!). The only downside was that we didn't have a view.

The location was fabulous. The hotel was located on the main canal and even had it's own water taxi port.

I would stay at this hotel again if I were to return to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    122
    42
    13
    14
See reviews for
84
503
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It has been a few weeks since I have stayed at this lovey hotel and I still have very fond memories. Not only is the hotel in a very stunning palace but also the staff is so friendly, they all knew us after the first day as if we were long standing guests and made us very much feel at home. The room where they serve breakfast is just amazing. It is a former ball room with beautiful ceilings and they played some music in another room; the atmosphere was just indescribable. Again the staff serving there was so nice and kind you felt like amongst family. The food, particularly the coffee, the orange juice and the hot chocolate were so delicious, I really missed them once I got back.
The room was nice and clean with a great bathtub and shower like a proper shower! We had some drinks on the terrace and got served with some complimentary canapes, crisps and and nuts which was a very nice touch. It was lovely to just sit there and watch the world go by on the Canale Grande. Also dinner at the restaurant was delicious, so if you are tired, you don't have to look far for a good and nice place to have some dinner.
Location wise the hotel turned out to be ideal, easy to reach by public transport (boat). When you come out of the hotel, the streets around it are wide and give you a sense of space which I need after all day long fighting my way through narrow alleys overcrowded with tourists. I think it must be horrible doing this with your luggage in addition... so I was very, very happy with the location of the Ca Sagredo it could not have been better in my opinion. There is a great Gelateria Ca'd oro around the corner and a shop that sells amazing biscotti and amaretti.
I would also recommend this hotel for people travelling alone, I really felt safe and well looked after, I would be very happy staying there on my own and I am sure I would not feel alone.
PS: the safe-box in the closet, takes a minimum of digits is 5 not 4 as I found out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've just spent my birthday weekend at this beautiful hotel. I can't say anything negative....it was just so perfect. It's classed as a "small luxury hotel" and unlike some of the bigger hotels (Danieli, etc.) it was quite and uncrowded all day. Service was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. I will recommend to all of my nearest and dearest.....we will definitely be back on our next trip to Venice. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel built in a refurbished old palace. Easy walk to shops and restaurants and the buzz of San Marco Square. Even though you are right on the Grand Canal, it is fantastically quiet at night. There is an outstanding Buffet Breakfast, first one I have had in Europe for those of us who don't want to eat bread, there were rice crackers and wasa crackers included! The breakfast is open till 11am. The bathroom is great, outstanding water pressure and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

our agent recommended Ca' Sagredo and we were delighted with our stay there which totalled seven days, a few days either side of a cruise.

The room was gorgeous and the hotel were very helpful about advising us on the choice of the room when we telephoned. Everything was very well kept and furnishings, bathroom and cleanliness were of a very high standard. The hotel position is perfect - we had a Grand Canal view room and the hotel is adjacent to a vaporetto stop. Although Venice was absolutely heaving for the commencement of the Biennale we were not disturbed by noise at any time.

The public rooms in the hotel are very grand and the breakfast was good. The staff were very nice and helpful and the hotel was perfect both from point of view of high standards and also position.

One little gripe - like everything in Venice, it was very expensive. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night and food was good, service excellent. We knew what everything was going to cost, but to charge us for two cups of coffee at the end of the meal when we had eaten in the restaurant and were hotel guests was small-minded. If you have coffee at the end of a meal and then ask for a refill of the coffee cup, it is too money-grabbing to charge for another cup of coffee when you are paying top prices for food and accommodation. It had the opposite effect from their intention. We told them we were surprised that we had been expected to pay for the second cup of coffee and told them we would not be eating in the restaurant again. We would probably have had another meal there, but they didn't take off the cost of the second coffee, so we found other lovely places to eat which were cheaper anyway.

This attitude can be what you get if you are not in a small owner-managed place, but apart from the appearance of trying to wring every last euro out of us, we did enjoy our stay there. You save a great deal of time if you want to be in one of the few five-star hotels in Venice as you can walk to most places and some of the other top hotels are on adjacent islands or further from the main sights.

Room Tip: speak to the hotel directly if you want a canal view as there aren't that many - our agent didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This palace is just beautiful, and an overall great experience. Gondola hire is very close, and shops right around the corner. Still very quiet and a great terraced fine dining restaurant. Great staff and people at the front desk were to very kind and helpful, not to mention the rooms were clean and elegant. The greatest part is the fact that you are living in a historical site which has spectacular ceilings and marble staircases. A fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view. You will be blown away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband's second time at this hotel and on his recommendations my first and it was just perfect! Arrival by booked water taxi via the Hotel across the Lagoon to the jetty was just amazing. We were helped onto the jetty, our suitcases whisked away and my husband recognised from his previous trip over a year ago. Our room over looking the Grand Canal was not cheap but worth every penny. This Hotel is classed as an ancient monument and at every turn its history is evident. Amazing frescos cover every wall, fabulous pictures hang in all the right places but the art and culture does not impact on the Hotel experience but simply adds to it. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in in Italy. The bathroom practical yet sumptuous with all the requisite toiletries, a mini bar, dressing gowns, slippers, tv in the bedroom and bathroom, free lifestyle magazines, clothes brush, shoe horn, bathroom scales, hair dryer all evident and in full working order. Room service efficient and quick. On the whole can't wait to go back! Just need to save up now!

Room Tip: Grand Canal view, pricey but pinch yourself, it's worth it! Not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca'Sagredo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca'Sagredo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Sagredo Hotel is Venice new luxury boutique hotel on the Grand Canal. A 15th jewel in a magical city, where the building's history intertwines with that of the Famiglia Sagredo one of the most important in The Republic, whose destiny was bounded to the Doges and the city itself. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms, most with magnificent panoramic view over the Gran Canal, a trendy restaurant with outdoor terrace over the water and banqueting/meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ca'Sagredo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casagredo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca'Sagredo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.