We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ca'Sagredo Hotel to your Saves list
Ca'Sagredo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm reviewing this a long time after we actually stayed here – but I can remember everything so clearly – perhaps that's the mark of a great experience and an exceptional few days in an unforgettable place? Ca'Sagredo is one of those places – it is like stepping back into another era – and feeling like you are experiencing another world altogether.

We stayed here to celebrate my 50th birthday and it was completely wonderful. We had a room overlooking the Grand Canal on the first floor and the day we arrived it also happened to be the day of the Annual Regatta. It was magical to watch.

Our room and the service was fantastic. Every evening we came in and it was spotlessly clean as you would expect. The location of the hotel was great - being right next to a water bus stop (Ca' d'Or) - so easy to get to any location - or easy to walk anywhere, which was fantastic too.

The breakfasts were served on the top floor - and the selection was extensive. All in all our stay was memorable and we couldn't fault it. We want to return - as we've been spoilt at Ca'Sagredo and it would be difficult to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    121
    42
    13
    12
See reviews for
84
493
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ca' Sagredo is the hotel for you if you want to stay at a five hotel without breaking the bank. The hotel is located about 10 mins walking distance from Rialto Bridge yet away from the touristy areas if you want a romantic getaway without venturing too far away from the main attractions. The rooms are clean and good size and if the hotel is not fully booked, they might just upgrade you to a junior suite which is what they did in our case. The breakfast buffet is large and one of the best I had during our 2 weeks in italy. They even offer champagne during breakfast if you want to start the day on the right note. Good restaurant options close by and the staff is pretty professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to canal view or canal suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I spent 3 lovely nights at this Hotel. I was travelling alone and the staff were very kind and friendly. The breakfast buffet was large and even included Prosecco! My room was very spacious. I did not have a view, but who spends much time in your room in Venice!
It is located in a less touristed area, which I enjoyed as this was my 4th visit to Venice. You will need to use the vaporettos to see many of the sights, but the stop is only steps away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived on November 21st in a private water taxi from Venice airport to one of the most beautiful and charming hotels in which we have ever stayed. When we arrived we were immediately shown to our room in this gorgeous 15th century Palazzo. We felt like nobles when we arrived in our suite, The Sebastiano Ricci, an amazing, historic Grand Salon that was converted into a guest suite. This was by far one of the largest hotel room in which we have ever stayed.

The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful (especially Laura at the front desk and Bruna who worked in the breakfast room every morning). They were a great help with dinner reservations and guiding us around the city. We loved all of the restaurants that they recommended which were local and gave us a feel of being not touristy which is difficult to achieve in Venice.

The location is perfect. It was easy to get around the city as the Ca D'oro vaporetto stop is just next door. We liked being farther away from the crowds at San Marco. We felt like we made the right choice as we were torn between this hotel and the Danieli. We will definitely stay at the Ca Sagredo on our next trip to Venice.

Room Tip: All of the historical suites are gorgeous, we did not see any of the rooms. Even though we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ca'Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback which has been conveyed to our General Manager and all Hotel staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back if you come to visit Venice again.

Our Best Regards,
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Right on the Grand Canal and just a short walk from the vaporetto stop. A beautiful old building with marble staircase, etc. The room was lovely and spacious. We had a great breakfast and to get to the breakfast room you walk through the lovely old rooms. Also had a very nice bar. The staff was wonderful - much warmer than most Venetians. We will be staying here from now on when we're in Venice.

Room Tip: We got a canal view and saw gondoliers in Santa costumes. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I loved this hotel. After traveling Italy for 2.5 weeks it was nice to end on this note. The hotel is beautiful, clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Our room overlooked the Grand Canal. They offer free internet which is a big plus! Water taxi dropped us right off at the door and cost about $48E from where we dropped the rental car. This hotel is about a 20 minute walk to St. Mark's square. There is a gondola office outside the door if you wish to take a ride (highly recommended--very cool investigating the canals and the buildings). Walking up the red carpeted stairway you feel like royalty!

Breakfast was very good-had a nice assortment of breads, smoke fish, cheese, cereal, eggs, etc.

A few very minor suggestions: 1) the safe in the room is not secured to anything. It just sits on a shelf. 2) it would have been helpful if the hotel had information on hand about things to do, taxi schedules, Murano, Burano, etc. I felt like a pain when I had to call them asking questions. 3) being a five star hotel I would have appreciated extra towels.

Room Tip: The beauty of Venice--no cars or mopeds BUT you will hear boats and smell exhaust if your windows ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ca'Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We always treasure our guests' comments and suggestions in order to improve our standards.

Our reception staff is always more than pleased to assist our guests in finding the most suitable plans to visit and enjoy the city, guests are more than welcome to ask! we really like our guests to feel like if they were at home.

We hope to welcome you sometime again in our beautiful Palazzo so you can fully experience our services and Venice!

Thank you and Best Regards,
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you want to travel like an insider then book your stay in Venice at Ca'Sagredo. It's a 15th Century palazzo lovingly restored (it took 7 years!) and staying her gives you the full Venitian royalty experience. We were on the second floor overlooking the grand canal in a two level room that was once a library, spacious, palatial and very, very Venitian. The complimentary WIFI worked well and the having 2 bathrooms was handy. The morning breakfast was more than adequate and the staff were cheerful and helpful at every turn. Another nice feature, the hotel has a dock so we took the water taxi from the train station and arrived right at the hotel door...no dragging suitcases across soggy planks when the tide comes in. The locaton is a plus too, a shop filled 3 minute walk to the Rialto bridge and 10 minutes to Piazza San Marco. We will definately return here when we come back to Venice, our room was super lux, quiet and the staff was wonderful!

Room Tip: We were there in December so it was quiet most everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca'Sagredo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'Sagredo Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 Ca' D'Oro | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#31 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca'Sagredo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Sagredo Hotel is Venice new luxury boutique hotel on the Grand Canal. A 15th jewel in a magical city, where the building's history intertwines with that of the Famiglia Sagredo one of the most important in The Republic, whose destiny was bounded to the Doges and the city itself. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms, most with magnificent panoramic view over the Gran Canal, a trendy restaurant with outdoor terrace over the water and banqueting/meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ca'Sagredo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casagredo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca'Sagredo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.