We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There has to be better for the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel alla Fava to your Saves list
Hotel alla Fava
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30123 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“There has to be better for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would rate this hotel higher, except the major detractor was the horrible smell coming from the bathroom. There had to be something wrong with the sewer as a gag inducing smell (something along the lines of swamp gas and rotting leaves) would permiate every article of clothing I had and was wearing. I'm not sure if the other rooms had the same issue but this one (116) was quite bad and took away from the overall experience.

The hotel itself was nice and small, all the rooms situated on one floor, tucked away in a corner of Venice quite close to Rialto Bridge. The location was ideal. 15 min walk, with luggage, from the bus station. 3 min walk from Rialto Bridge. And another 10-15 min walk (depending on how many times you get turned around in the streets), walk from St. Mark's Square. The staff are friendly and speak English very well. The morning breakfast was more than I was expecting from a place this small and was quite welcoming.

Within the room, other than the smell previously described, the bed wasn't very comfortable nor did the pillows have much give. Felt like they were filled with putty. I'm not one who needs to be surrounded by elegance or demands feather pillows, but this was enough for even me to complain. I wouldn't have mattered all that much except the weather was quite lousy, raining and cold, which meant I spent more time in the room than I normally would have. Therefore giving me more time to examine the issues in there.

Overall if you don't get this room the stay may not be so bad. The price for the stay in the location may make you want to check it out and if you do I hope you have better luck than me.

Room Tip: I would stay away from room 116, unless they fix the smell coming from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear jjhgillam,

since the new management of Hotel Alla Fava started a year and a half ago, things were never this catastrophic. We apologize profusely for this embarassing inconvenience.
Room 116 had indeed some draining pipes problems, which we have finally managed to fix. We have to admit the smell was intolerable!

We are also sorry about pillows being a problem for you, as we are usually ready to replace them with different ones according to every guest’s subjective needs.

Nevertheless, we are glad you appreciated our breakfast, and that you were able to easily visit Venice thanks to the Hotel’s location! Our multilingual staff is always willing to help our guests make the most of their stay, and to make our surroundings as cozy and welcoming as possible.

We are very grateful to you for being so kind and suggesting our hotel anyway, and we hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    103
    32
    15
    3
See reviews for
52
121
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Alla Fava for 3 nights, as well as a 4 star Hotel in Venice last September and can honestly say the only major difference between the two was size of the property. This hotel should be at least 3 stars, possibly higher. Hotel staff were extremely helpful in recommending places to eat, shop, and sight-see. Sara at the front desk was particularly helpful and spoke perfectly fluent English. This was not the case at the 4 star hotel which was located even further away from the main sights in Venice. The location is great and right in the heart of the island. The walk to Piazza San Marco is about 10 minutes, and maybe 15 minutes to the train and bus stops. My room and bathroom were both very clean. Also included with the room was a universal charger for iPhone, blackberry and other devices which was really great. The hotel is very small, but inviting and friendly. There is a complimentary breakfast served in the morning, just make sure to get there early as the dining room is quite small. All-in-All this was a great hotel and one of the best out of 5 hotels I stayed at in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear JohnnyBaird,
thank you for your detailed feedback and flattering comments!
We are glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.
All the best,
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my partnet stayerd here from 19th feb to 21st feb. This was our first trip to venice and wont be our last! And will be staying at the All Fava again! The hotel is clean and warm and located perfectly in venice with easy access to all the amazing sights. Also situated about 30 metres away is the Da mamo restaurant ( search on trip advisor ). The food is unreal!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Direttore at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much jonathan b!
We really appreciate your kind words and hope you’ll choose our hotel again next time you are in Venice :)
Wish you a great day,
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clean sheets, warm bed, nice staff, adequate breakfast in the morning. We actually stayed there for only one night. One thing to keep in mind is to bring a printed reservation. We had a unique situation. We had to change the day we were arriving due to a train scheduling problem. Through all the emailing back and forth with hotel they were confused as to when we were suppose to arrive. Luckily i printed our email confirmation and show it to her upon check in. She had me down as a "no show" for the night prior which would have been a one night stay charge. After I presented the email confirmation it was smooth sailing. We only came back to the room to change after breakfast then again to sleep. VENICE IS AMAZING!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is by far the best location for a trip to Venice! About a 3 minute walk from the Rialto Bridge and about a 5 minute walk to St. Mark’s Square. Another plus is that the rooms have charging stations (no cell cords or inverters needed!). Rooms were very nice and quite large. The bathroom was beautiful...blow dryer included. Breakfast was good, but not alot of variety. I've included directions from the train teminal.

Directions by Water Bus: When you get off the train, walk towards the water and find the Water bus station. Buy a timed pass and take water bus no. 1 or 2 to the Rialto stop. Walk away from the water to the “Campo San Bortolomo Square”. Look for the Disney store and take that street “Calle degli Stagneri”. You will pass Devil’s Forest Pub on your right (stop there later for a drink). Go over the bridge and Hotel Alla Fava will be directly on your right.

Walking Directions: It is about a 25 minute walk through the city. When you get off the train get on the main street “Strada Nova” and follow that all the way around the Grand Canal. It will eventually lead you to “Campo San Bortolomo Square”, take a left at the Disney Store, you will pass Devil’s Forest Pub on your right (stop there later for a drink). Go over the bridge and Hotel Alla Fava will be directly on your right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Decided on staying here based on other tripadvisor reviews. It was a pleasant stay. Friendly and awesome staff! Sara and Maricar are the best! This was the perfect location. Close to San Marco and Rialto Bridge. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelallaFava, Responsabile reception at Hotel alla Fava, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you SO much skarl3t!
We are really glad you enjoyed your time here, and hope to see you again soon!
Sara and Maricar send a big hug to both of you :)

All the best!
HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here based on other reviewers calling it a hidden gem, they're right. It's a good location only a few minutes away from the Rialto bridge and St Mark's - the directions on the website are handy to get you there in the first place. I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom - the room had its own wash basin and I never came across anyone else using the shared bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly, I will be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Address: Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava is situated in the very heart of Venice, justbetween Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark’s Square.It only takes a few minutes to find yourself immersed in thebeauty of the city: the Bridge of Sighs, the Basilica of StMary of Health, Grassi Palace and the Fenice theater.15 rooms in a small corner of history and comfort is what you are going to find in Campo della Fava: spacious andcomfortable, elegantly furnished and recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel alla Fava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.