We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“back in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This small hotel is tucked away in a lovely old neighborhood. The staff is marvelous, helpful, accommodating and oh, so friendly. Their included breakfast is served in the dining room on the first floor, next to the library and the bar. The food is superb!! Decor is neat and appropriate for the period, very comfortable and cozy European-size rooms.
Be aware....make your reservations early. According to one staff member, they stay full most of the time, as they were during our stay in May.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    195
    13
    11
    0
See reviews for
93
495
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, U.S.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here four nights in June and had a great experience. The hotel is perfectly located, about a 3 minute walk to St Marks Square, but hidden away in a courtyard so it feels peaceful and you can escape the crowds of Venice. The breakfast buffet was great, and had a huge variety of choices. We only had the standard room which was small, but it's not as if we spent a lot of time in the room. Staff were all polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend, especially because of the location. We walked everywhere throughout our stay and only used the vaporetto to come and go from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I love this hotel!
Some reviews have said it is hard to find but we found it easily using the great little map on the hotels website. (I will give directions later).
What a beautiful first impression. You walk through into a courtyard and there is the Hotel Al Codega, resplendent with red geranium filled window boxes, simply stunning.
A little lift takes you to the reception on the second floor. What a sincere,warm welcome. We were early (before 1.00pm) but within 5 minutes our room was finished and our cases had already been taken up! What a stunning room! Overlooking the beautiful courtyard below with three shuttered windows that open fully, flooding the room with light. The room is immaculate, very comfortable bed and superb air conditioning. Good size, very clean bathroom with bath and shower. Both nights we were here we slept very well as it is silent outside and with the shutters closed nice and dark. Breakfast is superb, a lovely continental selection but also catering for all by the inclusion of scrambled egg which was delicious. The coffee,as you would hope, is to die for!
I wholeheartedly recommend the Hotel Al Codega if you are staying in Venice. The location is perfect,a 5 minute walk to either the Rialto Bridge or St Marks.
To sum up, superb hotel superb,warm,friendly staff, very clean, quiet and in the best location.
Right........ How to find this gem of a hotel. From the airport, while you are waiting for your bags to arrive you will notice a ticket machine by the carousel. Here you can buy tickets for the Alilaguna water bus. Simply select your language, then, select 1 for a one way journey (€15) or 2 for a return ticket( €27) then the option is how many tickets. Select and pay. Lift the flap to insert notes/ coins and hey presto your ticket pops out. Once you have your cases, follow the signs for the exit and then the clearly marked covered pathway to the shuttle boat vaporretto Hop aboard and tell them where you are getting off , I recommend San Marco! This will take approximately 1hour and 10 minutes and is a lovely relaxed way to start your holiday. Be prepared to be in awe when you dock! So beautiful! When you have your cases head for St Marks square. With the tower to your left head to the back of the square. In the middle at the back you can cut through to a street. Turn right and ahead of you on the right you will see a narrow alley. At the end of the alley you will see the Hard Rock Cafe. Go down the alley then bear right and past the Hard rock entrance on your left. Here you will see gondolas on your right hand side. Walk straight on until you cross a small bridge. A famous designer shop is on your left hand side now. Take the next left and you will see a small gate to your right. This is the entrance to Al Codega, there is no sign on the outside. You are there. Relax and enjoy this wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking courtyard. Very quiet, very beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loved this hotel. We stayed for two nights in our honeymoon it's beautiful. Well worth the money, the staff were all fantastic, food excellent cleanliness fantastic. It's a little difficult to find but find the H and M store and Armani store and you have cracked it. Well worth the search I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else and will def go back if I visit Venice again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rekkem
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is situated close to San Marco but since it is located in a very quit square, it is rather hard to find. The rooms are small but to Venetian standards reasonably big and all the necessary comfort is there. Breakfast is simple but good and the staff is very helpful. While we were there the elevator was broken, and this was a bit of a disappointment (4 stories high)
Over all a good place to stay between Rialto and San Marco.

Room Tip: all the rooms look into a square so there is no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for three days, Single, windows facing the courtyard.

LOCATION 94/100
Venice and most of its sites are practically within 10-15 minute radius by foot. St. Mark's, Doge's Palace, Bridge of Sighs, Rialto, Marciano Library and Museum, within 5-10 minutes. Accademia and Sta. Maria della Salute and many churches, 15-20 minute walk. All the rest, 30 minutes.

Many say Venice is best explored on foot. The hotel location makes that possible. So you get ahead of the queues before the tourists arrive, you get to explore Venice at dusk, dawn and at odd hours, without too many people.

VALUE OF MONEY 88/100
Considering the location, facilities and friendly service, the price is good for a short stay. A longer stay would be really costly.

Buffet breakfasts were wonderful, quite a choice of pastries and sandwiches. Reception was very helpful especially when my brother needed to contact me. Staff were excellent as the rooms were cleaned and the towels were replenished daily. Nice little touches like the brocade linens, Murano glass bedside lamp, etc.

The common areas such as the hallways and the staircases were tight even for my Asian size and height. This can spell a bit of maneuvering especially with large luggages.

A minor bit, they couldn't fix the shower door during my stay. I was concerned because the heavy glass encasing derails as it slides to close.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had a small, clean, well-equipped room on an upper floor with a courtyard view. After just arriving in Italy for the first time, it was great to open up the shutters to let in the sound of the church bells and to look out over beautiful Venice. It's a charming little place, with flowers in all the window boxes. The staff was friendly, breakfast was nice, location was perfect...what more could you ask for? I would return.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.