We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is the best you can find, very close to Piazza San Marco and everything else. Hotel is small but room is spacious and clean. Very quiet and secluded despite its very central location. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    211
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
108
527
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked this hotel many months ago after reading the review of course from Trip Advisor. We stayed four nights in this hotel. Our room is beautiful and plenty of space to move around. The furnishings were gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. Talking about bathrooms it was the most beautiful clean bathroom I have ever paid for. Location is a little bit difficult to find at first, but once you find the place very good access between Rialto and Saint Marks. Plenty of restaurants around. The only negative thing I would write is there was no coffee/tea facility if you would like to have a hot drink first thing in the morning before you shower or when you come back in the evenings. Otherwise a very pretty little place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked this great little hotel, after reading other reviews, for my girlfriends 50th birthday. Hidden through a little passage way, with a pretty courtyard, this hotel is a delight. Smiling girls greeted us on reception and took us to a lovely room on the same floor. Small, functional and with a massive bathroom, it was ideal. Breakfasts are plentyful, with amazing coffee and views across the courtyard. The hotel is smack-bang between St Marks Square and The Railto to Bridge. We spent 2 nights / 3 days here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our flights home weren't until late and we were allowed to leave our bags at reception and use a spare room for a shower before we left. Very, very friendly hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The location is excellent, the staff were fantastic, it was comfortable and clean. The wifi connection in the room was intermittent, but we had no problem connecting in the main lobby and breakfast area. The breakfast was very good with a selection of hot and cold, fresh fruit, juices, pastries, etc.....more than adequate. As everyone warned us, this hotel is a bit tricky to find....but look for the Armani store, face the store and go right then the first alley on the right opens into the hotel courtyard. Very central location. I will be recommending this hotel to our friends that are travelling to Venice next Spring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing into the courtyard for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very nice boutique hotel that sits behind St. Marco's piazza. Initially, it was a bit difficult to find, but with the map that was sent to us by the hotel we we given directions by several locals. The hotel staff/reception staff were all very excellent, no question was too small or too big for them. Our room, which I believe was upgraded (we reserved a double superior but they put us in a triple superior that had a very nice sitting area with an extra twin bed) was very clean and looked practically new. The furnishings, hardwood floor and even the bathroom all looked like they hadn't been used. The bedding was clean and comfortable, although the mattress was a bit hard but tolerable. Our room faced the alley, some noise during the day and into the night could be heard even with the windows closed so if this is a problem I would suggest requesting a room in the interior. The breakfast buffet was very nice. Plenty of fresh food, both hot, cooked food and pastries, along with fruit and yogurt. Nice assortment of juices, coffee and tea. I highly recommend this hotel. Not only is it handsomely priced, considering some of the other hotels just steps away from it, you know what you are going to get, there are no surprises.

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper you might want to request a room away from the alley/street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

What a find! Just had four great days in Venice which was a treat in itself but the whole experience was enhanced by this great hotel.
The room was beautiful and practical. Great bathroom and everything worked.
The staff were delightful and extremely helpful. Great breakfasts.
The hotel is also centrally located ideal for exploring Venice and all its wonders either on foot or by vaporetta.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Al Codega for a few nights at the end of September 2013 and absolutely loved it. The hotel is tucked away in an extremely tranquil little square away from the heaving crowded alleyways between St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge.
The hotel is absolutely spotless with marble staircases and dark wood throughout. The breakfast is an interesting eclectic mix of cereals, bacon, scrambled egg, cold meats and so on. There's even cake and tiramisu! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, superbly located in the centre of the most popular tourist spots but we found it very quiet. The room was an adequate size and the bed very comfortable.

The downsides are that it is quite difficult to find (but being tucked away this is also a bonus) and the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room is a disappointment. Having said that the mini-bar contents aren't too expensive for Venice so a late night Coke, beer and peanut feast is a possibility!

Don't hesitate in staying at the Al Codega in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.