We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 382 hotels in Venice
u.k
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A lovely hotel set in a small courtyard and very hard to find despite being given a map by the hotel! However that is the only criticism I have as everything else in this hotel was great. Breakfast was ample and had lots of different choices. Staff were more than helpful. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and very pleasing on the eye. We really enjoyed our stay here and it was lovely to return to this cool and calm hotel after the heat and hustle/bustle of Venice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    158
    11
    9
    0
See reviews for
86
422
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was the first of 6 hotels we stayed at in our 2 week tour of Italy. I had read various general reviews of Italian Hotels as to what to expect - especially in the summer. These included - ineffective AC, tiny old bathrooms with hand held shower heads, warm beverages etc. So NOT the case with this hotel. We had two lovely rooms - while not connecting the staff made a special effort to have our daughters' rooms close on the same floor as ours - for 2 nights in late July when Italy was having a heat wave. The AC in the rooms - perfect - the bathrooms new, clean, and full size showers, the breakfast and breakfast area were great with cold juice and milk and great coffee. Location is great - easy walk to Saint Mark's square or the Rialto bridge and just inside a quiet court yard away from the crazy of Venice . The staff are there 24 hours and were helpful with restaurants and water taxi pick ups. Place is secure, safe, comfortable, nicely appointed without being opulant. Everything you would want for a family location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Leaving the vaporetto near the Rialto Bridge, it was impossible to imagine a space of quiet relaxation, but just a short walk away that's just what we found at this hotel. Located within minutes of major sites like the Rialto and San Marco, the hotel sits in a quiet square whose entrance is at first hard to see. Our room was spacious, well decorated and appointed, and very comfortable (the powerful air-conditioning was a big plus during a spell of quite hot weather). The hotel staff were unfailingly helpful, welcoming, even enthusiastic. Directions to Il Frari? No problem and here's a map. Suggestions for a nearby baccaro? Here's a favorite and here's how you get there. Good wi-fi and an abundant breakfast buffet that included lovely pastries in addition to the more usual continental fare and cooked options. We stayed four nights and would happily have stayed another four. It's definitely where we'll go next time we're in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Perfectly located, not far from the Rialto bridge, nice, spacious room. The service was impeccable, any request was dealt with promptly and with enthousiasm. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Our room had a view on the inner courtyard, very pretty and very quiet. Very good value for the money, as it is in the heart of Venice. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just got back from a 10 day trip around Italy finished off by staying in Venice in this lovely little hotel. Set in a quiet courtyard in a fantastic location less than 5 minutes away from St. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge. All staff were so friendly and willing to help you with anything they could. Breakfast was amazing - you could have anything you wanted from your standard continental/cooked breakfast right through to the most amazing pastries and even chocolate mousse :-) !! Rooms were lovely, nicely decorated, spacious and very clean! On our return trip to Venice we will 100% be staying at hotel Al Codega and i would recommend it to anyone :-)

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all were fanatstic don't think there could be any bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The staff was fantastic--friendly, helpful--even sent someone out to find us when we got lost the first day finding the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located between the Rialto Bridge and the San Marco Plaza and off a quiet courtyard. Lovely breakfast buffet with numerous options. Room was comfortable and spacious by European standards with a extra sitting area off the bedroom. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The experience I had with Al Codega started positively as soon as I booked it. They were prompt with a reply (booked a packaged that included this hotel with another popular on-line booking site). They sent me confirmation and answered all my questions. Then a couple of weeks before departure they sent a useful map of how to find their location (more complicated than you would imagine...you have to go to Venice to really understand this!). It printed out in this cute little old fashioned scroll design. I am a not a luxury travel person but this was a special trip for me and my 12 year old, so I splurged a little and it was worth it! Upon arrival we were given our room early (it was only noon) and the place was lovely. Luxurious fabric on walls, heavy curtains, rainfall shower, toiletries etc. The layout was on two levels so there were twin beds, a substantial wall unit (with the TV built into the mirror! How cool is that? Not that it was watched...but still!) a sitting area and the bath. There was even turn down service in the later afternoon! The property itself is off a lovely little courtyard and almost directly between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. Very convenient! The breakfast was substantial including bacon, scrambled eggs, a selection of meats and cheeses, bruschetta, fruits, yoghurt etc. There are two breakfast rooms. I preferred the smaller one away from the food as it had more natural light and was less busy, but both were nice. There is a small elevator (it is Europe after all!) to easily move your luggage up and down. The service, in particular, was excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable, and were happy to answer any questions. In fact my experiences in the rest of Italy (Florence and Rome in a 2 star and 5 star) were not even close to comparable. My daughter and I both agreed it was our favourite hotel on our trip. I couldn't have been happier with my choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.