We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, Above average room, Clean. Great location. Great value for Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 381 hotels in Venice
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay, Above average room, Clean. Great location. Great value for Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Here's my review after the 2-night stay in June

Location:
Great location but it's a bit hard to find for the first time mainly due to streets layout and street signs in Venice are confusing even though we expected it to be (it's my third time in Venice) and also hotel being located in a secluded courtyard. Once you find it, it's very easy to remember how to get back and very close to both San Marco and Rialto Bridge (about 5 minute walk). Take Vaporetto line 2 from the Santa Lucia train station which has no stop until Rialto Bridge so it took only 8 minute ride to get off. You can also take Line 1 but will take longer- about 20 minutes due to more stops. This hotel has no canal view but very quiet and peaceful but still close to everything. There's an elevator from the first floor to reception so you don't have to carry your luggage up the steps like other hotels in Venice.

Room:
Good size compared to Venice standard. Contemporary Venetian Style. Shower only, no bathtub. Very clean. My room has no view. Good breakfast.
The hotel requires you to leave the key card with the front desk when you leave the hotel. Since the electricity in the room shuts off if no key card is inserted, this would present a problem if you want to recharge your electronics gadget while you are out and about during the day.


Conclusion: Great stay, Above average room, Clean. Great location. Great value for Venice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    154
    10
    10
    1
See reviews for
77
381
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a fabulous time; our room was very comfortable and quiet despite the street view. The breakfast was very substantial and an incredible variety of foods; plenty to sustain us for much of the day of sightseeing. This hotel is also an excellent location although as others indicated in their reviews a little hard to find. The Armani store is a nice landmark indeed. Absolutely recommend. Felt it worth the price to be 5 minutes from Piazza San Marco and walking distance to many sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough The staff couldn't be more helpful,and the hotel was beautifully furnished in character with the surroundings.The breakfast was excellent and the hotel is well situated within 5/6 minutes of the Rialto bridge & the Piazza San Marco although it can be a little difficult to find the first time

Room Tip: the superior rooms face into the courtyard Other rooms face onto a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Picture prefect! Lovely hotel tucked away in a quiet courtyard . Very well located. Calming site after roaming the bustling city of Venice. Very attentive to detail. Great staff, helpful and welcoming. .
Lovely breakfast. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a room courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Once you are able to find this place, you will love it. Looking for it is part of the fun.

The hotel faces into a lovely quiet courtyard and the whole side of the hotel was covered in beautiful red flowers. So spectacular is the setting that we saw tours brought into the courtyard. Had my spacious room faced the quiet courtyard I would have been in heaven. It didn't. Instead it faced a wall across a "street". If my window were left open, it would have been a bit noisy in the evening. But with the air con on, and after wearing out myself walking the city, I had no difficulty sleeping. Were I to do it again, I would request a courtyard room.

Staff was friendly and helpful in giving directions to particular merchants and would make a G & T on request. The breakfast was better than average. And the hotel is in the shopping heart of the city - within an easy 5 minutes walk and roughly equidistant from Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor feedback and had a wonderful time, friendly staff, quiet area and great breakfast. Follow the directions and familiarize yourself with the entrance to the courtyard from photos on Trip Advisor, it's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here three nights in May, and had a great time, the best! Followed a previous trip advisors map details to hotel and had no problems finding this beautiful tucked away hotel, had a lovely stay, staff friendly and professional, couldnt ask for much more. Spent our 4 days just getting lost in Venice, it was great! Stumbled across beautiful buildings and churches hidden away. St Marks square literally just round the corner from hotel. Had hot sunny weather and on our last day we had rain which flooded Venice and the city looked beautiful. Everything was perfect from the start of our holiday to the getting off the plane back at Gatwick. Would definatley recommend this Hotel, I give it 5 stars!!

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was on the reception floor and overlooked the narrow alley below, seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice
Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#35 Business Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.