We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find but good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, it is really hard to find this hotel. But luckily, with the help of google map, we finally found it. The place is quite good, not noisy, clean, bright, with modern facilites. Most importantly, for the travellers with heavy luggage, it is no need to come accorss bridge from port and has elevator in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    227
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
120
588
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

You need a map to get here the first time. It was recommended to us by an Australian couple on our last cruise. A little pricy perhaps but not for a well located hotel close to San Marco and Rialto. great service, friendly staff, good sized rooms. we were upgraded to a junior suite. Breakfast is excellent. We would return

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel Al Codega is a terrific boutique hotel located between the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square. it has less than 30 rooms but the rooms are large by European standards and tastefully decorated, and, most importantly, located on a quiet courtyard which shields you from the noisy alleyways of Venice.

During our 2 night stay, Lorenza and Michelle were extremely helpful with arrangements and reservations. The morning breakfast buffet is amongst the best I have seen. It includes eggs, bacon, cold cuts, fresh baked pastries, cereal, bruschetta, coffe, juice, etc.

The bed was very comfortable and the free wifi worked great. The lobby has a nice sitting area and a small bar.

If we return to Venice, we will definitely stay at Hotel Al Codega.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which is the front desk floor and our friends stay on the fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Al Codega mid April and had an excellent stay. It wasn't too difficult to find with a good map, 5 minute walk if you get off the alilaguna at Rialto bridge.
Check in was quick and friendly, Adriana was fantastic, told us the best places to go, eat and how to get there.
Our room was small but as we only slept in there really it was sufficient - our only slight complaint was that we appeared to have a disabled toilet in what clearly wasn't a disabled room! Took a bit of getting used to that!
Breakfast is great loads of variety and keeps you going til lunch time. The hotels location is perfect right in the centre of everything but equally quiet and secluded in a small courtyard. Excellent value for money and we will definitely return after falling in love with Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a two night, romantic stay at this lovely hotel.
The service was excellent, staff super-friendly, spotlessly clean rooms and a tasty breakfast to boot. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Venice. Perfectly located in the city centre, this hotel is ideal for first-timers to Venice. Situated in the quiet windy backstreets of Venice you will enjoy a restful nights sleep and the feeling that you are tucked away in your own world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
381 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Tripadvisor Family for your views on this hotel. I used it to decide where to stay in Venice. The Hotel Al Codega was perfect for our needs. The location is ideal, it is within 5 minutes of St Mark's Square and about 3 minutes from The Rialto Bridge and Vaporetta stops. Within few minutes you will get your bearings and have the best of both worlds a central location in a quiet courtyard. The hotel itself is modern, extremely clean and of good 4 star quality. The staff are outstanding, cheerful and helpful and always ready to solve any issues you might have. They are great sources of local knowledge such as where to eat. We used the Venice Pass which we purchased online, we had museum passes, Vaporetta passes and toilet passes. You pay to use the toilets in Venice 1.50€, buying online you get 10 passes for 7€, and you avoid the queues. Collect your passes at Marco Polo Airport, it is quite difficult to get them once in Venice. The manned ACTV booths, should be able to help you, but it depends on the operator, some are helpful others not. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent, both hot and cold foods, typically Venetian but of a high quality. If you are going to Venice then check The Al Codega Hotel it will not disappoint you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We hastily booked a room here as we were leaving another hotel due to issues with our room there. I'm sure our bar was a bit lowered due to the poor experience we were leaving, but we were very happy with Hotel Al Codega.

The hotel is nice and quiet, tucked away in a courtyard but only a short walk from Piazza San Marco and the Rialto bridge. The vaporetto stop is a short walk away as well, which was very convenient for getting back to the rail station.

Our room was a bit cramped, but was comfortable and pleasant. I think the cramped-ness was due to the room layout (a function of our specific room, I think, not all that are laid out this way) with the sitting area in a divided area of the room rather than open to where the bed was.

The breakfast was adequate, with meats, cheeses, pastries, eggs, etc. Pretty standard.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#25 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#21 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
San Marco
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#29 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#34 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#21 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#39 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.