We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on first visit to venice. Pleased with the hotel on all dimensions. Super helpful staff. Would say decent but not outstanding alien for money. Could not ave wished for a better location. Would certainly return and recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    195
    13
    11
    0
See reviews for
93
495
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

After reading TA reviews we booked a junior suite for our first visit to Venice and were not disappointed. We travel a lot and this hotel must rank on the high side of four stars. As in all places in Venice it can be a bit difficult to find, we got off Alliguna ferry at Rialto and just kept on asking people. It is only about 5 minutes walk but might take a bit longer. Room service and breakfast service was superb. Breakfast will not suit people who want a full English but there was plenty of other choices. Would certainly go back if we visit Venice again. If you fancy a glass of wine in St. Marc's Square, go to Caffe Lavena and go inside and ask to stand at the bar. 3 euro's. If you sit outside 11 euro's.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra and book the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just arrived home after 5 nights at La Codega and wanted to share just how good this hotel is. By the way,for directions I would say from Rialto take Calle del Fabbri, then Campo San Luca, Calle Goldoni turning right immediately in front of Armani and then turn right through the archway ( not a street or alley) with Corte del Forno Vecchio sighned above it, and the peaceful oasis that is La Codega is right in front of you. It is 5mins from Rialto and even less from San Marco. We had room 407 which is a junior suite and it was very comfortable with great super king sized bed and nice sitting area. The hotel is beautifully furnished with elegant decor and is spotlessly clean. There is a great selection at breakfast, which you can also have in your room. The hotel's ethos of customer service is excellent with very attentive staff and we were made to feel very welcome. When we next visit Venice we will definitely stay at La Codega.

Room Tip: Junior suite 407 is just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our visit to Venice. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and the hotel is very comfortable and a good place to stay, The location of the hotel is good as well as it was only minutes away from rialto bridge and the main attractions at venice. We have a pleasant stay and would definately recommend to stay here.

The only set back is the hotel is diffcult to locate. We got lost looking for the hotel and it was raining. But hey getting lost in venice is an experience itself! Loved the stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel right in the centre of St Marco, a few minutes from the Rialto and St Marc's square. Very clean rooms furnished in typical Venetian style. Friendly staff, good choice at breakfast. Quite difficult to find in St Marco as I found it very difficult to get my bearings, though my husband didn't appear to find it difficult at all!! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We travelled to Venice for my sister's wedding and having not been to Venice before I was unsure of the area and which hotels would suit our needs. My sister actually suggested Hotel Al Codega as it was near her hotel and within our budget. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is within a small enclosed square that is a little difficult to find, however aside from this once inside it is warm and welcoming. There is a lift to take your heavy luggage easily to the reception area on the 2nd floor. Our room was spacious enough for the two of us and the bed comfortable. Visitors to Venice need to be aware that it is not common for irons to be present at hotels (mine or my sister's hotel did not have an iron at all) due to fire regulations. I had to have my dress pressed and this can be achieved by using services that are prompt and not overly expensive. The hotel breakfast is plentiful and tasty. The standout feature of this hotel is the service and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found this hotel without any problems using the provided map and would recommend getting the Alilaguna water ferry from the airport. It cost us E27 per person return but ensured a short walk from the Rialto Bridge rather than hiking across the city from the Piazzale Roma with suitcases if you get the bus. A clean and charming hotel set in a peaceful courtyard but within 10 minutes of both St Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge. We were greeted by the charming Salvatore on reception who was very helpful as were all the staff who were only too pleased to help in any way they could. The choice for breakfast was very good with an extensive selection. We requested a high floor overlooking the courtyard and were very pleased with the lovely room we were given which was 410.

Whilst in Venice we would recommend a trip to Burano which is beautiful with colourful painted houses and a lovely atmosphere. Please don't avoid the restaurants along the canal by the Rialto bridge because you feel they may charge more, they are competitively priced offering free Bellinis' and no service charge or added tax to entice you in (at the time we visited). It made our anniversary being able to sit outside by the bridge .............albeit under a heatlamp!

We would definitely recommend this hotel for price and location and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter but we didn't get to experience any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#24 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.