We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hockley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a really good hotel. Lots of reviews mention probems in finding it but we got a private water taxi from the airport and it dropped us just by the bridge recomended on the hotel's map and within 2 minutes we were in reception being checked in. Recommendation - do your research on location, there are enough reviews on this hotel to give you all the clues you need !!
The location is excellent, within a few minutes of both San Marco and Rialto.
The staff at this hotel without exception were all very nice and helpful. My wife is coeliac and therefore requires a gluten free diet. We did mention this on the online booking form, not expecting anything to come of it, but concierge were aware of it on checking in and at breakfast next morning we gave staff our room number and a basket of gluten free goodies appeared and this was repeated each morning. Top marks ! Breakfast is buffet style and there is a good selection to choose from.
We had a junior suite on the top floor overlooking the courtyard and it was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was a kettle, safe and mini bar in the room. The hotel has a cosy and traditional feel to it.
Would definately recommend this hotel, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    211
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
108
527
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in Venice on 15th Feb 2013 and had the most wonderful time!!

We arrived on boat into San Marco, via Alliguna service, and started the short 5-10 minute walk using directions from the hotel's staff to Al Codega. The directions were great, and if you're prepared there really is no reason to find it a difficult place to find.

The hotel is tucked away in a sweet courtyard, and the external looks made me smile. It was exactly the kind of place I wanted to stay for our trip to Venice.

The receptionist was welcoming and a gentlemen met us in our room with our bags. We helped ourselves to the mini bar and cracked open a Processco and beer, both reasonably priced for a minibar.

The room was a nice size, clean and nicely decorated.

The location of the hotel was perfect. It sits nicely in between San Marco square and Rialto.

Breakfast was continental, with plenty of choice.

I would highly recommend staying here if you have a couple of nights in Venice. It is very reasonably priced for a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard view, you never know! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First things first, it is quite a challenge finding this little hotel! But when you finally do, it's worth it.

The staff here was incredibly friendly and informative. Be sure to grab a map, althought you'll inevitably get lost anyway :)

The breakfast was plentiful and delicious! The breakfast staff was very friendly and courteous.

The room itself is pretty standard size-wise, but by far the most comfortable bed we had in all of our Italian hotels!

The highlight of our stay here was when we checked out, because our waterbus left before the hotel breakfast started, the lovely staff had prepared a thoughtful breakfast-to-go in a bag for our travels.

That kind gesture really set the mood for a long day of travelling, and we left with a wonderful impression of the Hotel Al Codega and it's amazing staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is perfect. We chose this hotel having read reviews on TripAdvisor. Although some reviewers have stated that the hotel is difficult to find, we had no problems with the map provided by the hotel. The booking process was swift, and we were allocated a room on the top floor as we had requested..The room was immaculate, bathroom very clean and looks absolutely lovely, comfortable beds and we slept very well.The hotel and staff are very welcoming and helpful, always smiling. Buffet selection for breakfast, with various breads and cereals, fresh croissants and cakes, hams, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, eggs and home-made tiramisu!

As our flight was late in the evening and we had to vacate the room, we could leave our luggage as we were visiting the city, and came back to rest our feet several times, in the cosy and comfortable sitting area with sofas available for guests. The location is very quiet, in a courtyard, and right in the centre of town by all the shops and a few minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and S.Mark Square, perfect for a walkabout during the day or at night. Very near Rialto stop for the Alilaguna speedboat public service to/from the airport.

Could not fault anything and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 408, top floor, 2 single bed, spacious room quite bright and it looks over the roofs of neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a hotel that feels spacious yet cosy at the same time. It was difficult to find, but then I found everything in Venice hard to find unless there was a sign on every corner (like is done for the Rialto Bridge). Once you have your bearings though, it’s easy to find again, and it is in a fantastic location. You can walk to all the tourist sites including the different neighbourhoods mentioned in the ‘Things to Do’ section, which is definitely worth doing. As well as the great location and that it was quiet, I liked the comfortable bed, spacious room, view over the courtyard with block out blinds and friendly multi-lingual staff working there who are most helpful with questions and always have a map handy for you to take with you. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast every day and if you want something less Italian then there is a McDonalds in Venice so go there instead. There were lovely home made pastries including a variety of delicious croissants; there was a cheese plate, eggs, cereals, and meats. We sat in the library to enjoy this each day which was a lovely way to start. The only areas which weren’t to my liking were the bathroom which was quite small with limited storage space (however if this means a bigger room in general, it’s worth it – and there was a heated towel rail which was VERY welcome) and sometimes we found the room temperature a bit variable (either too hot or too cold but this was not a major thing). I don’t think photos do the room décor justice – it is a very nice room. I would stay here again if I was returning to Venice, and have already recommended it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

cute little 4 star hotel
they say it is hard to find the hotel. trust yourself. you can find it. find campo s. luca. then face H and M. follow the street on the left corner. go straight ahead. you will come to G. ARMANİ. turn right and after 3 meters turn right again . you will see the entrance of the courtyard and lovely
Hotel al Codega. do you know what CODEGA means.? if you dont you will learn when you read the hotel booklet :)))))

Room Tip: rooms looking to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Al Codega for two nights while in Venice, Italy. It was tucked away in a quiet corner of a piazza and just full of old world charm. It is a small hotel with wonderful staff that is eager to help. They have a nice breakfast buffet included in the price.

This was our last stop on a 19 day Mediterranean Cruise so we had about six bags/suitcases. When I saw how small the elevator was I thought OH MY! But before I could blink there was a bellman there making it disappear. After we finished checking in and arrived in our room our luggage was there waiting for us. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know that where the room is located really matters since the hotel is tucked away in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.