We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Port St. Lucie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Although this hotel is hard to find, it is worth it. The staff were informative, friendly and there to help us. Convenient location to walk to everything. Breakfast buffet was include and was on of the best breakfast buffets we've ever had. Rooms were lovely and all newly renovated. TV was located in our mirror so it was not obvious in the room. I would recommend this hotel for anyone, a real gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    171
    11
    9
    0
See reviews for
91
456
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is excellently located in a quiet courtyard 5 minutes from Rialto and the same to San Marco. All staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, particularly on recommendations of very good restaurants. The room was well appointed and quiet having been recently refurbished, and included free wi-fi. A computer was also available. The public rooms were clean and freshly decorated. Breakfast (between 7.30 and 10.30) was excellent in variety, quantity and quality of choices in the continental style. Overall an excellent hotel in a very convenient location. We would certainly plan to stay there next time.

Room Tip: Our room on floor 4 was spacious, quiet and warm, with a reasonable outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights last December. We had a fantastic time. The rooms are beautiful , clean and very romantic though a bit small. Every day we woke up to a nice breakfast and the staff at reception were very helpful. Good value,

Tatiana and Patrick from Australia

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Al Codega helped make what was already a magical stay in Venice just that little bit more special. The rooms were nicely decorated and well appointed, free wifi was reliable, and breakfast was good. What particularly impressed me was the staff; they were of the highest quality in terms of friendliness and professionalism. Every single staff member greeted us warmly whenever we crossed paths and we felt comfortable to ask for any advice we needed about our stay. The location of this hotel is also exactly what we were after. It is almost dead centre between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco, making it convenient for taking in the main sights, yet, tucked away in a quiet courtyard, it feels like you have discovered a hidden corner of Venice, which was nice in the winter, and I imagine akin to paradise in the busy summer. I have already recommended this hotel to people I know who are travelling to Venice soon and I will definitely stay here again if I return to Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wow ???Wow ???Wow???
Absolutely amazing, we checked out other reviews from Trip Advisor on Hotel Al Codega and it was even better than we both thought. Close to Piazza San Marco,Rialto,Teatro La Fenice, and just a (5) five minute walk to the Ferry services (Canal Grande). The hotel is a little hard to find, BUT I do recommend you catch a water taxi from the Airport to S Marco (cost 120 euro for two people) but is worth every cent, just for the views and ambience. It only takes about forty minutes compared to other transport( a bit cheaper) but anything up to one hour. The water taxi drops you just about at the front door. You will eventually get lost in Venice, but what a place to do it. Would haft to be the number one on our bucket list. Staff at the hotel are amazing, nothing is a problem, even an Aussie trying to talk Italian (ha ha). The breakfast would be the most decadent ( in a great way) that we have ever had. FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC..........

Room Tip: Deluxe double is the way to go......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A small hotel located in a cul de sac, very quiet at nignt and yet close to the main land attractions of Venice.
Housekeeping was impeccable, decoration sober and tastfull, staff most obliging, breakfast varied and well presented and renewed with guests arriving between 7.30 and 10.30 .
management was most obliging in spite of our early arrival and offered us a buffet breafast and kept our luggage in safety until the room was ready.
We were also allowed a late check out in view of our flight schedule.
The hotel is located half way between St Marco and the Rialto, about 5 minutes each way with easy communication to the airport by water transportation.
We would certainly use their facilities again and we recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality at reasonable price, Proximity to the center of Venise and removed from the buzz of tourists.

Room Tip: ask for a room located facing the inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a great find. Located in a little courtyard this hotel is very quite. We stayed at Al Codega for a week. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Their restaurant recommendations were very good, some places we went back to twice. When we strayed from their recommendations we generally had bad service and a bad meal. The hotel did everything they could to make us comfortable. Our room looked out on the courtyard. The room was clean and all the furnishings were modern and in good shape. While not huge the room had enough space for me and my wife. The hotel is perfectly situated so you can make it anywhere in Venice with just a short walk.

The only negative about the hotel was noise from other rooms and the hallway. While not horrible I could clearly hear the person coughing in the room next door. It wasn't loud enough to wake me up but when I was awake I could hear things. The hotel was very quite most of the time because of it's location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
#25 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.