We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Codega to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 382 hotels in Venice
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was delightful. The rooms were not that big, but very clean. The staff was exceptionally helpful, especially Adriana. The tiny lobby bar was perfect for having a drink, and very reasonable. It was within walking distance to all the highlights of Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    166
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
83
418
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a great hotel, well-located in Venice. It is authentically European so the rooms are small but nicely furnished and spotless, with a small but well appointed bathroom. The desk staff were very helpful, particularly Adrianna. There is a lovely little lobby bar with very reasonably priced drinks. The included breakfast has a good variety of nicely prepared food. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel was a little hard to find but a nice oasis. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Could use more space on the counter in the bathroom to store toiletries , , , or perhaps a shelf above the toilet. Breakfast was good, simple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. What a find. In a secluded, quiet, courtyard right in the middle of Venice half way between St. Marks Square and Rialto Bridge. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a traditional Venetian decor, but everything was new and polished. The breakfast was elegant. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This is a secluded location in the center of Venice. How wonderful. Pay attention to the direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed in a single room on one of the upper floors of the property for two nights.

This is a very functional hotel. It is simple and clean. The decor, dominated by reds and creams was not to my taste, but certainly accurately represented on the hotel site.

Certainly, check-in was efficient, and the staff were consistently helpful, providing good restaurant recommendations.

The room itself was tiny, with a small single bed, and limited space to move. I was horrified that this upper story room, in a Venice that was still very warm in October was not air-conditioned. The reception simply refused to turn it on, due to what they report was a city regulation. This was not mentioned before arrival, and indeed, air-conditioning is advertised. In my tiny room, the lack of ventilation was unbearable. I tried opening the windows, at the advice of the front desk, and was bombarded by mosquitos which are a real problem in Venice. Do not open the window!

The breakfast has a nice continental selection, but is very average for hot food.

The rate I paid for the tiny single room was significant, and I think the worst value for money I've ever paid. If you get a good rate, this hotel would represent an excellent location for the first time visitor to Venice. However, its exorbitant rate for a single room, without any real added value makes it no more than a three star from me.

There was really nothing special to make me want to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I rarely write reviews as I generally find it not worth my time. However, after finding this "gem" I felt I had to share it with the world. I found this wonderful boutique hotel on-line quite by accident. It was rated "outstanding" and I couldn't find any other hotels rated that highly unless I wanted to break the bank. I thought about the difficulties presented by having to take water transportation to reach the hotel but, as my wife said, we wanted to be near the action and this little gem was right in the middle. When we got off the Vapporeto at the Rialto Bridge we were immediately presented with a porter ready to carry our 5 bags to the hotel...and he new exactly where it was. We simply followed him and soon found ourselves outside this hide-away hotel. We were immediately checked in by Salvatore who is the epitome of gracious service, then taken to our room. On entering the room I was immediately impressed with every aspect of the room, including the size, cleanliness, decor...and the king sized bed with a great mattress. The room was a corner room with three windows and a view of the "walking paths" of Venice. Simply a wonderful room. After putting our things away we edited the hotel to begin our discovery of Venice. Several hours later we returned to find that Salvatore had left and had been replaced by Adreana (not certain of the spelling of her name) but am certain that she is a wonderful asset for Hotel Al Codega. She not only acted as an alert receptionist but doubled as a bar tender in the small bar and acted as a concierge for us, making restaurant suggestions and reservations. She was extremely friendly as well as knowledgeable and helped to make our stay in this newly found hotel a real delight. You won't regret making this your hotel choice the next time you visit Venice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Like everywhere in Venice this hotel is hard to find. I'd recommend following the map from St. Marks square as the entrance to the courtyard faces south and it's a lot easier to find then from Rialto bridge. Note it's on the San Marco side so don't go over Rialto bridge if you get dropped off here by the Alilaguna from the airport! Look for the Giorgio Armani shop and the entrance to the courtyard is just beyond this on opposite side.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from either Rialto or Saint Marks so is perfect for venturing out and nipping back when necessary to drop of bags etc

The staff were very friendly helpful, always smiling and saying buongiorno when going up and down the stairs.

Breakfast is a good range of eggs, sausages, breads, crackers, mousse, meats, cheeses, cereals, juices tea, coffee etc

Prices of drinks in the bar is very reasonable and our coffee came free biscuits which you wont get if you go out into a cafe in San Marco!

Shower in the room is great. Could do with putting a kettle in for drinks when you don't fancy going down to the bar. The only channels in English on the "satellite television" are CNN and Euro News but you don't go to Venice to watch T.V..

Free wifi in the room and a safe to put valuables in. Mini bar is reasonably priced or there is a coop supermarket a few minutes walk away in the direction of Rialto.

If you are going soon take your own wellies or you will have to buy them when you get there due to the flooding at high tides!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vecchio - S. Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#43 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Codega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.