We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would choose it again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Kirsch

Casa Kirsch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Kirsch to your Saves list
Casa Kirsch
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Castello 4266 | 100 meters far from St. Mark's Square, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Denver
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We would choose it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our room was clean, comfortable, good shower, comfortable bed and had a good air conditioner. It is a sort of an annex to the main hotel, Casa Verardo, and cost quite a bit less. The location was handy as a base, and we found it easy to locate using the hotel directions (you check in at Casa Verardo and then get directions and key to Casa Kirsch, a 2 minute walk. It was very close to the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop and St. Mark's but even with windows open it was quiet. The rooms are not "Venetian ornate" but very nicely modern. Breakfast was at the more elegant and classic Casa Verardo, on a lovely balcony overlooking a canal. Breakfast was coffee, croissants, and a buffet of bread, crackers, cereal, juice, milk, cheese and meat... some fruit. Seemed very good to us. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We normally rent apts when we go to Venice but this was a short trip (4 nights) so a hotel made more sense. I was concerned about prices so Casa Kirsch (4 nights, taxes etc=$680) definitely fit the bill. The photos looked nice and although the main hotel where you have breakfast is up the street, it looked perfect.
We got a room called Venezia (no number) and overall it seemed fine. The beds are comfortable, nice flat screen tv and large bathroom. We had a problem with the shower head (detachable) because it kept shooting over to the side (and flooding the floor). So, we tried the tub instead but that valve wasn't too tight either...oh well.
We were comfortable but the room was warm and there was no A/C (too early?). So, when you opened windows, it helped but there are mosquitos in Venice..duh! Screens would be nice or A/C.
Breakfast at the main hotel is straight ahead- great coffee, rolls, 3 types of cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham. Nothing too fancy but honestly it did the trick.
The staff are all very nice and the LOCATION is amazing...close to all the main things you need. Great restaurant nearby too- Il Ridotto.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Great location close to San Marco. You need to go to the sister hotel to get your keys and it is very difficult to find. The map they supply doesn't do much good. I asked a local for directions after about an hour of searching and they led me right to it. The room was modern, clean and simple. The bed was great.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

Casa Kirsch was great value for money - although I think we may well have booked on just the right weekend as prices went up after the last weekend in March.

The hotel itself is modern and very comfortable, it is in a great location, the 'lane' runs parallel to the hustle and bustle of St MArks Sq but is remarkably quiet considering. Well except in the morning when the church bells chime but that was lovely in my opinion.

You will need to walk upto the other hotel for breakfast, check in/out but it's not far and the staff (on reception at least) were very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was continental so pastries, fruit, juices, cereal. There doesn't seem like a great deal to choose from as it's all piled onto one table but we thought it more than adequate.

I would reccomend going to Bacaro Jazz bar - they do lovely bellinis. We also had dinner one evening on the banks of Gran Canal near to the main Rialto which was lovely.

We both thought Harry's was overrated beyond belief, we like classy bars but we don't like having to remortgage just to pay for a thimble worth of bellini. I have been to many paces much nicer than Harry's and unless you have your heart set on going there i'd steer clear.

Venice is a wonderful place, just relax and explore, it's not a huge place so it's difficult to get lost.

The hotel is great, the nearest bus (boat) stop is San Marco/San Zaccaria.

  • Liked — Modern, good location, staff
  • Disliked — Legs hurt walking up the stairs after several hours exploring lovely Venice!! But the comfy bed made for good lying down
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Okay, so the place is a little difficult to find (we made three circles before we found Casa Verado - the sister hotel where you check in) but once you get there, you will be amazed at the location and the price you're paying. The location can't be beat - it's one block from the Hotel Danieli (where rooms start at $700 and up) and approx. 2 blocks from the middle of St. Mark's Square. There are delightful little cafes where you can grab a steaming hot cup of cappucino and a little bite to eat if you desire.

As for the room, we had a basic room with one double bed and one single bed, it was spacious and cozy. The bathroom is big, with a full bathtub - the shower had great pressure. There is a toilet as well as the standard bidet. There is a small closet which does contain a stocked mini bar.

If you're looking for service (think concierge and constant pampering), then this is not the place for you. It is the place, however, for the budget minded traveler who wants an extremely clean place to stay in a desirable location. It should be mentioned that there is no staff at Casa Kirsch. Calls are directed to Casa Verado - the staff there is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast (which was included in our price) is served at Casa Verado.

I know if we ever head back to Venice again (sigh, what a romantic city), then we will definitely opt to stay at Casa Kirsch again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

This place was wonderful. A little hard to locate, but the privacy is great. very metro rooms. Clean, great water pressure, located in the heart of everything.

  • Liked — We had a triple, there was a ton of room. very Private
  • Disliked — The Cada Verde (main hotel) not as nice--
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I was lucky enough to get an excellent rate for Casa Kirsch, so have absolutely no complaints.

No problems checking in at Casa Verardo, however, make sure you check
the Street number, as there is no signage on the door to Casa Kirsch what so ever. I walked past it a couple of times!

Room was lovely, light box on the wall was fab. I stayed in room 402,
which is image 7 of 8 on the web site gallery.

No lift, and stairs are quite narrow.

Breakfast at Casa Verardo was fine, no complaints, staff there very attentive.

Very central location, all in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Kirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kirsch

Address: Castello 4266 | 100 meters far from St. Mark's Square, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Kirsch 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly designed style hi-tech Inn located 1 min. far from Sights?? Bridge and Ducal Palace (St. Mark' square): glass walls, plasma tv screens, broadband Internet access inside room. Ideal place if you are searching for a quiet but very central place for your holiday or business in Venice, Italy. Our Inn is a good starting point to visit the main sights of Venice. All rooms are fitted with comfortable modern furnitures and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Kirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Kirsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.