We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Petrarca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Petrarca to your Saves list
Casa Petrarca
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The place is in a good location, the staff were nice and the breakfast was good. We stayed in a double room overlooking a street and had shared bathroom. Room was clean although very small. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the place did get noisy from time to time - this was not even the peak season. The shared bathroom was across the central seating area which we had not expected. The bathroom itself was clean.
We have not stayed in any other hotels in Venice so not sure what to expect - it is possible that most hotels are small!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    115
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
189
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was beautiful with a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were clean and well presented. Would definitely stay here again :) very hospitable. Jayson & Richard UK

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A friend and I stayed three nights in Venice and were lucky to find Casa Petrarca. Located directly between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square in a quiet street, Casa Petrarca is in a perfect location with a great price. It's a quiet little hotel with very comfortable beds, a nice breakfast service, and a cheerful, super friendly, and helpful staff whose activity and restaurant recommendations were spot on. I would definitely stay at Casa Petrarca again the next time I visit Venice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Yes! We all dream of that perfect Venetian holiday with a room overlooking The Grand Canal, watching the gondolas coasting lazily by! The peak July holiday season, however saw me settle for second best! And thank fully Casa Petrarca did not disappoint! No, you won't get a room overlooking The Canal, but you will get a room that is just a 5-minute walk from it! It is clean, quaint, with a wonderful welcoming vibe!

It is so so so easy to get lost in Venice - so make sure you follow the directions given on their website to the T! The journey from St Lucia Station to Rialto takes about 20 odd mins (direct Vaporetto), and its a 5 min walk from Rialto Bridge. St. Marks Square is a 10 minute walk!

The rooms are really quaintly decorated and even though we didn’t have an ensuite bathroom, privacy was never an issue! I didn’t meet another soul throughout my three night stay! You often think of B&B’s as being over-crowded and claustrophobic, we however were so pleasantly surprised! Even breakfast, in this sold-out holiday season was managed smoothly! Kudos!

Don’t go expecting The Ritz, and you won’t be disappointed! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTEHERMOSO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovely place, lovely people, nice breakfast and perfect location!!
So friendly like the Venice people
Thank you
I will recommend it to everyone!!!
and I will come back the next time I visit Venice!!!
Please still like this forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Pro's:
- 5min from St Mark's Sq.
- 5min from nearest vaporetto station (Riatlo)
- Strong shower
- Filling breakfast, not the tastiest buffet but good enough to keep you going till lunchtime
- Lovely owners
- Comfy bed (room 1)

Other points:
- Easy to find if you follow the map sent to you by owners
- Make sure you get off at Riatlo and not Riatlo Mercaito like we done (oops!)
- Lovely to find umbrella's accessible to visitors

Last point:
This is great for a weekend stay, longer than this, I would want a room with a fridge and a TV - but that's personal choice.

Room Tip: Room 1 was ok, window overlooked other house's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My family of six stayed here during the New Year's holiday and it was lovely. It is a small warm inn and the owners are very very helpful. They gave our family great restaurant recommendations and helped make reservations for some activities. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. You can't beat the location --very close to St. Mark's square . The view of the canal out of my room was so lovely. It truly is a little gem.

Room Tip: Choose the room overlooking the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Petrarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Petrarca

Address: San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Petrarca 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Petrarca is a small 'locanda' (inn) located in a corner of peace and tranquility in the heart of the city, in an ancient building of 14th century, half way from the fabulous San Marco square and the Rialto bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Petrarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Petrarca Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Petrarca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.