We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with a good friend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Petrarca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Petrarca to your Saves list
Casa Petrarca
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 383 Hotels in Venice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like staying with a good friend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite hotel of our two week adventure thru Europe. It's a boutique hotel full of charm. The owners personally communicated with us a few times prior to our stay, and were very accommodating to check us in late when our travels lasted a little longer then anticipated- she even had recommendations on where to get a good meal. Our room was right off of the kitchen, which didn't lend a lot of privacy, but we were of the mindset of staying with a friend rather than at a hotel. The breakfast was excellent. The location was great...just a few minutes walk to St. Marks square or the Rialto bridge (and in turn the water taxi). Fun to watch and hear the gondolas go by outside our window in the evenings. If we came to Venice again, I wouldn't even look at a different place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    111
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
178
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had an amazing time in Venice, capped off by the wonderful accommodations at Casa Petrarca. What a gem of a hotel. Fantastic location. Both Stefano and Valentina were great to deal with; warm, helpful and informative! The breakfast was plentiful and was a great way to start the day. Definitely book the larger room if you can. It has an awesome view of the canal and lovely Venice streets. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetang
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The bed was comfortable, location is great and the light breakfast is also very nice. But we didn't get the room we booked and the attitude of the man we dealt with, left a bad impression. He promised to fix it the the next day and we never saw him again.

Room Tip: Request to NOT be put in room 5 unless you are travelling solo. We booked a room with 2 single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our favorite hotel in our 10 days in Italy. It is a stones throw from Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge, but it is also hidden away on a quiet side street. This might make it hard to find without GPS. Our room was surprisingly large for Italy, and it had a wonderful canal view. The owners, Stephano and Valantina, were very helpful and available to answer questions. Rica was very friendly and prepared a great breakfast and coffee each morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for several reasons. First off, Valentina makes you feel genuinely welcomed and cared for. She gave us easy to follow directions to find her place, which in Venice is no small feat. The hotel is located almost exactly between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's square, so no complaints there. It's on a quiet little side street with no through traffic. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the windows opened on to a canal, with gondolas floating by frequently. It was lovely. And last but not least, Venice was HOT when we visited, but the air conditioning in the room made for a comfortable refuge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place because of the location, and boy we were not disappointed. Valentina gave us great directions how to get there and we did not get lost. The hotel is a 5 min walk to Rialto Bridge & St. Marks square. The rooms are small but, we were only there to sleep. The breakfast was GREAT!!! Eggs, cheese, deli meat, toast, croissants, coffee, tea, cereal, fruits, juice... I will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband booked 3 nights at Casa Petrarca in May. This is a good little boutique hotel in a great location of Venice. Although everything seems old in Venice, this hotel is kept in a very nice condition. We certainly appreciated the breakfast every morning. Make sure you get there early though. If you come towards the end and there is not much left, I don't think you can request any more of the food. We have seen a couple of late comers to breakfast...
The room and the bathroom is a bit small, but I guess it is expected in Venice. Overall, we were pleased with our stay. It's a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Petrarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Petrarca

Address: San Marco - 4386 Calle de le Schiavine, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Petrarca 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Petrarca is a small 'locanda' (inn) located in a corner of peace and tranquility in the heart of the city, in an ancient building of 14th century, half way from the fabulous San Marco square and the Rialto bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Petrarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Petrarca Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Petrarca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.