We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for more!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gottardi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Gottardi
Save
You added Casa Gottardi to your Saves list
Rialto - Calle del Sturion - San Polo, 688, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 440 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We are traveling for a month with two adults and two kids (6+8). This stop in Venice is a massive highlight.

We got the directions in email that were easy to follow, arrived on a reasonably hot day to a welcome drink and smile.

We went upstairs, and for those who winge on trips to Venice about stairs and carrying luggage, it is a very old city with not many lifts when built.

The rooms are located on Level four in a stunning quiet lane close to everything. There is the grand canal, food, wine and shopping all close by.

We thank Eugiena (hope spelt right) for her warm hospitality and offers of assistance. They know the area well.

For the money you pay for the room and breakfast you get a full luxury service that will leave you wanting more.

I can not recommend this place enough for making our dream Europe holiday more than that. We will return and we will stay here again. Maybe a romantic week in Venice might be the go.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was in the perfect location - so easy to find. Susanna sent us precise direction to get to her BnB with best price options as well. Her son Giovanni was there to meet us upon arrival and helped us with our bags up the few flights of stairs. Her gave us a welcome drink and recommendations for food and shopping areas. We met Susanna when she brought us an amazing array of breakfast choice the next morning. It was the perfect place to stay with air conditioning and so easy to find. It would be our first choice if visiting Venice again and would be our first recommendation to others traveling to the beautiful water city!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Gottaradi for 3 days, May 15-17, 2012, and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Venice. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Suzanna's son, Giovannii, who spoke excellent English. He was able to answer all our questions as well as provide recommendations for dinner. Yes, the B&B is on the 4th floor; however, Giovanni offered to help carry our luggage - we do travel light so not having an elevator is not a problem for us. We stayed in the double room with our bathroom outside the room which was fine for us. The location is perfect for visiting Venice - a couple minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and a 10 minute walk from San Marco's. There is a vaporetto stop very close by as well. Suzanna was a welcoming, kind and knowledgeable host. The breakfasts were perfect for us - capucino, expresso, juice, croissants, and a variety of cakes. Having it delivered to our room each morning was a nice touch. Thank you Suzanna and Giovanni for making our trip to Venice so memorable. Tina & Andy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights April 2012. It is a 3rd floor walkup, but they helped us carry our bags up and down. The rooms are clean, bright, spacious. Susanna went out of her way to get me delicious gluten-free cakes and crackers, etc, for breakfast, even tried finding fresh bread (I told her ahead of time I was celiac). Made us great coffee and nice breakfast trays every morning. Answered all our questions, helped make reservations. Great location right near Rialto bridge, nice restaurants nearby. My only complaint is the first night we were given a room with bathroom in the hallway, despite having made request for ensuite bathroom. They moved us the other two nights to the correct room with bath, but never got an explanation. This happened to me at another b&b in Verona, perhaps this is just how Italians roll. Other than that, no complaints, they couldn't be more helpful and friendly, which is much appreciated after hauling you and your luggage into Venice!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

After a great ferry ride to the Rialto bridge we walked 200m and we arrived at this charming b&b. The rooms are sizable and make sure you request an en-suite as they don't all have one. You need to carry your bags up 3 levels unless the owners son is here, but that's easily forgotten after the amazing breakfast that arrives, have a look at the photos, it's truly great to have breakfast in bed with such choice. Free wi-fi and a stocked communal fridge which you can help yourself to - fruit, biscuits, fizzy and still water, yoghurt, coffee/ tea etc.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the delightful Casa Gottardi. The location is ideal, just 100 feet from the Grand Canal and 100 yards from the Rialto Bridge. Only 10 minute walk from Piazza San Marco, it is just enough off the major tourist routes to allow guests to enjoy restaurants where some Venetians actually eat.

The rooms are large, beautifully decorated. Each of the three rooms have modern, private bathrooms, two are en suite and one is across the hall from the room. Two of the rooms have room for a family with bunk beds for a couple of kids.

A hearty breakfast includes fresh fruit, buns, croissants, yoghurt, butter, jams and a variety of biscuits as well as juices and a choice of hot beverages.

Owner Susanna is an excellent hostess providing maps, tourist info and suggestions for best places to eat, etc. She went out of her way to provide gluten free products for my wife.

Potential guests should be aware that it is necessary to navigate 65 stairss from ground level to Casa Gottardi. While staff will help get suitcases up and down the stairs, the stairs could be a problem for people with mobility issues.

Casa Gottardi is an excellent choice for a few days in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Spent three great days at Casa Gottardi in November. Suzanna and Tanya were wonderful hostesses. Tanya helped with our bags, gave a map and orientation session, and welcoming refreshments. The rooms are large and very clean, as is the bathroom. You have free range of the kitchen and its appliances. Breakfast is large, healthful, and delicious. The location, just three blocks from the Rialto Bridge, and less than one block from the Grand Canal, puts you right in the center of Venician culture.

Room Tip: All rooms are prime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gottardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gottardi

Address: Rialto - Calle del Sturion - San Polo, 688, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will live in the very heart of Venice, just fifty meters from the Rialto Bridge, surrounded by its most important monuments, only a few steps from the antique market, soaking up the typical Venetian lifestyle. You will feel perfectly at home with us. You will find all the comforts you could need or desire. Our "casa" is a bright sunlit attic in a small 17th century palace near the "Canal Grande”. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gottardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.