We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped, unclean and no service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Antico Casin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locanda Antico Casin to your Saves list
Locanda Antico Casin
Corte Contarina | San Marco, 30131 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cramped, unclean and no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The rooms are puny - we had to remove all the chairs and put them in the common area outside just so we could unfold our medium sized suitcases. The entrance is tucked away in some back alley. Actually, there is no real entrance - it is just a flight of stairs. You can't enter except with a passcode because the front desk is manned for only 2 hours in the morning - the rest of the time there is NO staff at the hotel.

The blankets are a nasty dark red that you know haven't been washed. The entire washroom is tiled dark red - walls and ceiling. Who tiles their entire washroom red? It looks horrendous. Water stains everywhere. Around the faucets there was a lot of mineral build-up. The AC unit didn't work well, so we had to open the windows, resulting in a lot of mosquito bites. Oh, and the window hinge was broken.

All round, this was a horrible hotel. Only saving grace was its location, which was good. I guess the owner's philosophy is we have a good location, so spend nothing on actually making it a half decent experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    47
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
11
89
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knislinge, Sweden
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is easily approached from San Marco waterfront with only a short walk. Still, ask for directions from the management that will promptly send you the required information. They also help with locating touristic sights and walks. We also found a good hairdresser with their help. The Hotel is only 5 minutes from San Marco square and the shops are around the corner. One shop sell excellent cheese, wine and bread should you want to take some into your room.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room on the first floor and avoid climbing to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean, and we were able to get in by about 11 am, greatly appreciated after our transatlantic trip. Manager was very friendly and helpful and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. Hotel had a lovely terrace where we had breakfast and were also able to sit and drink wine or beer. The location is exellent - a couple hundred feet from San Marco - easy to get to. I noticed in some other reviews that folks had some difficulty finding it but the manager emailed us very clear directions a few weeks prior to our stay and we found it immediately - a big help as we had lots of luggage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was a nice and very comfortable Hotel. Everywhere were clean and the rooms were good and large. The owner helped us for travelling around venice and going to AirPort . He was very kind and helpful. There is one thing that i didn't like and that is the price. Prices are not very cheap but the hotel was nice :)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel is very close the Piazza San Marco and many of the main attractions. If you're not looking for The Ritz, but want a place that's clean, good value and well located, I'd recommend this hotel.

My wife and I stayed at Locanda Antico Casin for three nights in late December 2011. The room we had was quite small, but the space was very well organised. It was essentially a bedroom with a small breakfast table, a large cupboard/wardrobe with an inset fridge, and a double bed. The main room also had a TV, skylight and aircon. The bathroom is tiny but modern and equipped with a hair dryer, a shower head with good water pressure and heated towel rails.

The breakfasts were simple - coffee (you chose which style of coffee the morning before), juice, toasts, spreads, croissants etc.

We could hear the couple in the room next to us talking and using the bathroom so our sleep quality could have been better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you stay there you are a few steps form the San Marcos Square.
The staff is very friendly, specially the owners. I recomend these place, why to throw money in expensives hotel outside the center of the city? Belive me its worth the money.
CQC Puero Rico

Room Tip: Take the upper floor room, with the small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This small hotel is located near the San Marco Vallaresso vaporetto stop in a quiet area. The host is helpful, but ill-advised us regarding a non-existing train strike, so we missed our scheduled train to Bologna. He allowed us to store luggage both before and after our one night stay. A small European breakfast is served in the room. We had an ensuite bathroom, but not all rooms did. Venice is expensive. The one night stay was $175.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Antico Casin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Antico Casin

Address: Corte Contarina | San Marco, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Antico Casin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Antico Casin Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Antico Casin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.