We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B San Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B San Marco to your Saves list
B&B San Marco
Castello 3385 / L | Fondamenta San Giorgio degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Absolutely wonderful! Convenient location (although anywhere in venice is convenient), service was fantastic, marco was so helpful and friendly, and the room was really comfortable with a gorgeous view from the balcony :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
49
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at San Marco's very much. We chose the large room and loved our afternoon siestas listening to the lapping waves in the canal below. It was a great retreat from the hot afternoons of August this year. The owners were especially nice to us. Helping us navigate the Venice Biennale and what would be the best restaurant for that late evening meal. The only issue is carrying our suitcases up the stairs. That was hard! But it was worth it; especially sharing time with this lovely Italian family and their friends. Russell and Jo

Room Tip: Big one is the best but the other rooms are good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I was in Italy with my sister in March and we spent 3 days and 2 nights in Venice. Needless to Venice is gorgeous, but we were even more thrilled with our accommodation at San Marco. When we got there, Marco was extremely welcoming, he showed us to our room, spent time with us in the common kitchen to recommend us places to go, how best to get there, and even recommend restaurants to us!

The room itself was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The only drawback was that the bathroom was shared, but it was very clean and well maintained, so we had no problems. Our room even had a nice view of a canal, and when the sun came out, it was a breathtaking sight!

If I ever go back to Venice again, I'd be sure to stay at San Marco again! It's prices are very affordable by Venice standards, and the stay was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our booking with B&B San Marco was last minute, but because of a cancellation, they were able to accommodate my husband and I for a couple of nights. Clear directions, including a map, were emailed to us to accurately guide us through the labyrinth streets of
Venice. Less than ten minutes from the boat stop. Just a fantastic location! Very quiet, clean and comfortable. The large bathroom is shared between three rooms, but it was never a problem. And an additional bathroom is in future plans. The hosts were extremely helpful in directing us to our particular areas of interest, and also recommended wonderful restaurants off the beaten path. I definitely recommend it to singles or couples who don't love hotel living, and want local flavor!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I recently spent a few nights in the apartment of the B&B San Marco, with my 2 year old son and mother. It was perfect - great location, extremely comfortable, with all amenities and lots of space. Alice and Marco are tremendous hosts - extremely welcoming and generous and will give you as much information as you want right down to where the local supermarket is. In addition, Alice has a 6 month old baby who my son adored and played with from time to time, so everyone was happy. We were there for the Biennale, and the location was perfect - but even if you were going for sightseeing it's still a brilliant location, just past San Marco and at the centre of everything but still managing to be off the beaten track. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Reasonable prices for being Venice. Room was huge and always clean. Alice and Marco were great hosts and recommended good places to visit. It was quiet and very central.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This beautiful apartment is in a fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from San Marco square but quite and away from tourists. The apartment itself is light and airy and very tastefully set up with everything you need. The supermarket a few doors away was superbly stocked with all sorts of Italian delicacies as well as all your basics. Alice suggested going to the fish market which we did and cooked some beautiful meals. Marco and Alice are great hosts with perfect English. We were very sad to leave. We hope to return and next time we will make sure we bring lighter luggage. The apartment is on the third floor and the walk from the public transport is across a couple of bridges so make sure you have easy to handle luggage. Thanks to Alice and Marco, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Marco

Address: Castello 3385 / L | Fondamenta San Giorgio degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 cosy rooms overlooking the canal in central Venice, traditional b&b where residents really live and run since more than 12 years, friendly atmosphere the hosts dedicate time, information, advices for guests, and Marco is a real expert of Venice and grow up in the house :-) to travel low cost enjoing the real luxe: to live genuine experience of the local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b San Marco Hotel Venice
Bed And Breakfast San Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.