We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Cendon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Cendon to your Saves list
Palazzo Cendon
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Calle Cendon Cannaregio 534, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and had a wonderful experience. The hotel manager was really friendly and he made a reservation for us at a restaurant nearby. I can't remember the name but it was one of the best meals we've had. You get 'what's on' tonight, and we were served a table full of little tapa-style dishes, followed by an amazing fish lasange and then a main fish meal. We had no room for dessert and despite the language barriers had a wonderful time. We wouldn't have found this place or managed to get a table without help from the hotel manager. The location of the hotel is excellent. It's in a non-touristy part of Venice so you get a feel for how the locals live. It was easy to wander through the winding lanes to the main tourist spots, or there's a vaporetto stop really closeby. The room was clean and comfortable in a old ventian style, and we enjoyed being served breakfast in our room. Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    109
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
178
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Went for Venice for a 5 day Conference. Palazzo Cendon offered a good, clean service, in exchange of a affordable daily rate compared to other hotels that I searched. The attendants were nice and attentive. WIFI was paid and only available at the lobby floor. The room was great, with good natural lighting and a nice and clean bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had booked the room online and when we arrived, it turned out to be a suite with a separate sitting room and beautiful paintings. All that, in the centre of Venice, with even a complimentary bottle of wine, at EUR 90 a night!
The location is ideal: close to the train station, in a beautiful old part of town, and yet very quiet.
The breakfast was good, the staff were friendly, there was a good airconditioning (in both rooms).
Our room was accessible directly from the street and we could keep the key with us, so we could come and go as we liked.
We really liked this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

When I booked this Hotel through Venere I got the Palazzo Cendron il Piano Nobile on sale for 100 Euros a night, reason for booking this room.  Upon our arrival we were put in the Mansarde, way at the top of the hotel, where the rooms are extremely small and hot!  When I realized that we were given the wrong room I asked to have us moved, and the staff insisted that for that price they do not give the other rooms away, and it was all based on availability.  So what’s the point of booking a relatively great room if you are going to be given the cheap room when you get there???  We were had by these people, and during this season it was almost impossible to go anywhere else.  Beware of booking with this hotel!  Since we were only there for two nights there was nothing I could do, but this review will also be posted on Trip Advisor.  I will not go back there!!!!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton onTees, Uunited Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Palazzo Cendon is a 15th Century house converted into an hotel, with an unpretentious entrance down a narrow street off the Cannaregio Canal within walking distance (or a few stops on the vaporetto) from the bus & railway stations. The staff were very friendly & English-speaking. The house wine was delightful - we brought a bottle home. Our room was quite stately, with traditional decor & a high ceiling. It takes some time on the vaporetti to reach the San Marco area, but there are plenty of restaurants near the hotel and the canal-sides are not quite as busy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We actually booked this hotel when we found it was 15th century, on a canal and had a Juliet balcony! 3 of our wants for our anniversary trip to Venice! Although the Cannaregio district is away from the main tourist sights, it is conveniently located to train station and Ferrovia Vaporetto (5 minute walk) and the bus station 20 minute walk and the Aliguna airport taxiboat at Ponte Giulie is few hundred yards down the canal. There are plenty of delightful restaurants just down the canal from the hotel and a busy touristy area 5 minutes away. the room was lovely with a 4 poster bed (mattress and pillows hard though!) and large marble bathroom. We spent an evening sitting on our pretty balcony watching the world float by on the canal, while eating a cheap meal of pizza and drinking the complimentary bottle of Prosecco! One morning we had a quick breakfast in the sun on the same balcony. The staff were very helpful in telling us times of boats etc and the best way to get to the sights-fun and easy by boat or walking-that we did not mind being off the beaten track. One morning we wandered into the Jewish quarter-the Ghetto Vecchio. In the main square there is a memorial to those who were deported to concentration camps- it is worth visiting and remembering.
Breakfast rather standard and served in a cramped ground floor room-bread and croissants were often burnt-coffee pretty bad! Fresh fruit muesli and yogurts were appreciated however. Air conditioning needed to be on the whole day to really cool the room-however they gave us a fan when we requested it and we were able to sleep much better.
On the whole very good value for money in a romantic and historic atmosphere-after all we spent less time in the hotel than out in Venice-gave us more money to spend on seeing the sights and dinner!

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal -suites with balcony are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Cendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cendon

Address: Calle Cendon Cannaregio 534, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Cendon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cendon is a palace rich in history and a peaceful retreat in a perfect venetian style. Overlooking the “canal di Cannaregio” - one of the ancient arteries of venetian trade - in the heart of Venice, it puts together the elegance of a 15th century palace with the modern services of a high level residence. The particular care for details and the utmost attention to guests’needs makes every stay a charmed and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Cendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cendon Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Cendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.