We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property , but noncooperative staff , rooms not maintained” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Venezia to your Saves list
Bella Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Property , but noncooperative staff , rooms not maintained”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a not so good experience in this hotel. In-spite of my protest I was given a 2 bedroom apartment about 200 meters away. ( I had read about these bad rooms in trip advisor and actually told the reception Mr Matio the same. He convinced me that the rooms were upgrades and they were suites. And I had nothing to worry.) The rooms were well furnished and thats where it all ended. The phones didnt work for the entire stay I was there. Quite a terrible experience considering I was not staying in the hotel itself. The bathrooms were a night mare , the water taps were loose and we would suddenly get cold and hot water with out warning. On the second day the hot water stopped altogether. One thing about the staff , other then giving good directions , they couldnt resolve my water problem , my phone problem. When we realised that the staff were not helping us with the hot water and phone problem inspite of several complaints I asked them to change my room. At this point they changed my room and probably gave me the smallest room in the entire hotel.

Room Tip: Please dont get carried away with the upgrades and sweet talking staff when you check in , insist on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    104
    32
    17
    28
See reviews for
53
162
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is my first review on Trip Advisor and I felt compelled to write it after reading a lot of negative reviews on this hotel which couldn't be further from the truth. I booked this hotel in April for a 2 night stay on August 1-3. I was touring Italy the month of August with my husband and 2 kids. Prior to leaving for my trip, I read some negative reviews- mainly due to an 'annex scam' and so I was concerned what type of room I would get. When I arrived at the hotel, the location was exactly as mentioned in most reviews- between the Rialto bridge and Piazza San Marco. At check-in, I found the receptionist pleasant and she confirmed our room was in the main building. I had booked a quad room for my family at a reasonable rate (most hotels in Venice are pricey) and it was exactly as described on their website- it was a large room decorated with Venetian charm and was divided into 2 sections with a (clean!) bathroom separating both sections. The first section had 2 twin beds with a window overlooking a quiet canal and the other section had a double sofa bed with a window overlooking a quiet street. Each section had it's own phone and flat screen television with satellite channels. The bathroom was spacious and looked newly renovated- towels were fresh, we were provided with 4 robes and slippers which was great. As for the breakfast, it was one of the better hotel breakfasts we had in Italy. They had the usual- fruit, cereal, toast and the most delicious chocolate (Nutella) croissants. The women that worked the breakfast room were so sweet and hard-working. The first morning of our stay, we went down to breakfast a little late and my husband was disappointed there were no Nutella croissants left. Our waitress said she was off the next day but would have her co-worker set some aside for us. Sure enough, the next morning there was a tray of freshly baked croissants waiting for us! I was very pleased with this hotel- the service, room was spacious and clean. I would rate this hotel as a 4 star- it had everything I expected a quaint hotel in the heart of Venice to have and I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We booked a quad room with canal view- spacious for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which is not in the Hotel but approximately 200 metres away. It was very nice and the air conditioning worked wonderfully (needed as Venice in August is hot). It was in a very quite laneway with a restaurant below and a convenience store across from it. My only compliant about the room is that it didn't have any glasses, just plastic tumblers. Which are not the best to drink wine out of.
Breakfast was included in our room, we just had to walk over to the main hotel which was fine. The Hotel is in between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square - so really handy to all the attractions and transportation.
Staff were wonderful, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has great location close to the centre of Venice (San Marco in particular). I would never consider it being a 4 star hotel , it does 3 at best. The price is though exorbitant. Another inconvinience is that checkin is at 2.00 pm so if you arrive earlier- tough luck.

Room service is virtually non existent. There is no gym, not even a treadmill. The rooms have an old/outdated feel to them. I'd recommend looking at other alternatives which will end up cheaper and better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel as long as you book a superior room to ensure you are located in the main hotel building - staff good and helpful. Excellent breakfast although opening on time at 07:00 seems a bit beyond them on some days otherwise excellent

Room Tip: Superior rooms all OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

my boyfriend and i were happy with the little room we had, however, the receptionist at the hotel was extremely rude, she crossed her arms on her chest whilst you were asking if you could have two passes for two people in the room, and she looked down on you as if you disturbed her for checking out, she was the most miserable and unhelpful staff i have ever come across- she came across arrogant prob felt she was too good to be at the job, it really put us off of going back to the same hotel again. breakfast was terrible and room was small. only good thing was location was ok and room was clean, to avoid rude people dont go there!!!! you dont pay their salary to be treated like second class citizen.. worst receptionist i ever met in my life !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a reservation for June but unfortunately due to a medical issue I was unable to make my trip. This hotel refused to give us a refund or credit even though I provided confirmation from my doctor.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Venezia

Address: San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#112 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Venezia is a four stars hotel located in Calle dei Fabbri, in the heart of Venice, just few steps from Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark Square. It is easily reachable by all the public and private service on duty in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bella Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Venezia Venice
Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.