We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Venezia

Save Saved
You added Bella Venezia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - Calle dei Fabbri, 4710, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 382 hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.

The location is between Rialto and St Mark Square and perfect to visit all the touristy areas. When you take the Vaporetto line 1, stop at rialto, and you only need to cross the canal once to reach Casa Del Fabri.

We are placed in palazzo la scala guesthouse, which we knew from the booking details. Our room and the bathroom was clean. The room is one of the smallest room that I have stayed in. Roughly a 2.5x2.5 m room. The bed occupy most of the room and we cant move freely nor find adequate space to put our 2 standard size luggage in the room due to lack of space. We found noise insulation are inadequate and therefore will be quite noisy at night. Light sleeper would probably found some problem in resting at night due to all the noise.(from the street as well as the lift)

Bathroom is good size and amenities are well provided.

Wifi working well

Breakfast includes some
cooked item, (scrambled egg and one type of meat normally). We found the quality not at a 4 star standard that we are accustomed to.

Staff & Service was average and they are professional in helping us with our query.

One thing that we enjoy is the murano trip that is being arranged by the hotel. It was for 5 euro per person and we thoroughly enjoy it except the sale pitch part at the end of the tour to buy the Murano glass. Please note that we found the price during the sale pitch are much higher compared to other stores in Murano, therefore please take heed and bargain! (up to 75% reduction in price)

Overall an average stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    96
    30
    15
    25
See reviews for
47
143
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Please be clear that you are booking the main hotel and you will be good. We have a lovely large room with amenities and a small canal view on 2nd Floor. We stayed for 2 nights - the staff was helpful, knew and understood English well. They were courteous, gave us nice ideas on exploring Venice by ourselves.

We do need to keep in mind that Venice Island is a city on canal. Hence there is no escaping walking 200-300 from Rialto bridge station with your luggage. Carry ones with 4 wheels and you should be good.

Venice is a costly place but its worth your while to lose yourself and enjoy its charm..

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel as rooms are much better there. It will add to your experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you Go to Venice, and is not in good shape, carry small bags.This hotel is midway between Rialto station and Plaza San Marco.From both boat stops, we must walk at least 300 mt.
Great breakfast and simphatetic
Team
Nice room. Ours had a pleasant view of a small channel and one of its bridges

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I agree with hotel staff reply to recent negative reviews. The booking info seemed clear enough. We booked a room in the main hotel and were very happy with it. The hotel is in a superb location, v.close to major attractions so you can go back to relax for a bit very easily. Staff have been freindly and helpful and I was offerred a v.good rate for an additional night.

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions carefully so you get what you expect. My superior double had no view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I arrived in this hotel they told me that my room was outside in a dependance near there; I was a little bit surprised because my reservation was absolutely clear "Hotel Bella Venezia", nevertheless I was silent and followed the porter into this other room. In effect this room, that they presented me as a dependance, was the room of another hotel called "La Scala", the room was claustrophobic, without any night-tables nor mirrors in our room, you can't walk properly in our room because the bed occupied all the space and you had to walk back flanked the wall because there wasn't enough space; the bathroom was dirty and the shower broken, our room was near the lift so it was really noisy...
I went to the reception explaining my complaints and they answered me that the responibility was of the website on which I had my reservation....I phoned the website on which I booked this hotel and they gave me confirmation that my reservation was for Hotel Bella Venezia and not for this external room that in effect is another hotel without any star I think!!!!
It was really a bad experience and I felt sad mostly about their lack of honesty: they gave me wrong and false explanation, I could rebut because me too I work in a reception so I know how portals' reservations are managed...

Room Tip: Make sure that you are placed in Hotel Bella Venezia and not in external rooms which are part of ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBellaVenezia, Direttore at Bella Venezia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Ambrosino & Mr Virto,
we are really sorry to read this misleading review, usually also if negative we are happy to read the reviews of our customers because they help us to improve the quality of our hospitality, unfortunately your review, in our opinion, is not correct.
We just report here the exact words of the web-site where you made the reservation: "This is an economy room located in another building, Palazzo La Scala a Luxury Guesthouse, (next to the main building) and rooms can be small." Do you think that is not clear?????
We don't think is necessary to add anything...only that maybe from a person that make our job, like you wrote, some more reasonable and moderate opinion is expected...why did you mention the price you paid? and also on your check-out our Assistant Manager expressed you very kindly all our regret for your negative opinion in the same time illustrating you step by step your reservation and our fairness.

Arrigo Matterazzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vergne, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through venere.com and realized several weeks before our trip that the dates were wrong. venere.com didn't do a good job in resolving this issue, but Hotel Bella Venezia was notified several weeks before our trip that we would not be able to make the dates booked. They had plenty of time to re-book the hotel. We thought all was fine and then noticed a charge on our credit card for this hotel. Even though venere.com was responsible for the problem, I feel Hotel Bella took advantage of this situation. I sent three e-mails directly to them and never received a single response. I feel they collected money from us for a room we never used and were also able to book the room to someone else. I feel this was dishonest and wish they had had the courtesy to reply to one of my e-mails. I'm going to Venice again next month, but I DID NOT book this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBellaVenezia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bella Venezia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Debbie,
we are really sorry to read how upset you are concerning the reservation, but on the same time we'd like to point out that you made a reservation on Venere.com for advance rate not refundable, that is very discounted rate but it does not allow cancellation or amendment as it is very clearly stated on the web-site where you made the reservation, so you were aware about cancelattion policy.
Furthermore you did not inform us or Venere immediately, ) please note that Venere sent you a confirmation on the same day...) and we have replied to your email, though our answer cannot agree with your request.
Anyway I think that when you wrote "Hotel Bella Venezia ripped me off", it is not true at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
københavn
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked and paid a 4 star "hotel Palazzo La Scala" according to photos and descrip-tion on there webside, but was directed to one of their other properties, (the Bella is one of a group of three) "Palazzo La Scala", 100 m down Calle del Fabbri.
A horrible place, comparable with a 2 star non serviced guesthouse.
A room with no view and tap remounted with tape in bathroom!!!!
We complained but they refused to change the room. Upgraded they called it, but not at all what we booked!
It seems that little of the 4 star rooms are in "Hotel Bella Venezia" and the rest 2 star are in other locations.
The change to get what you paid for, is less than 30% and we would advise anyone to go another place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Venezia

Address: San Marco - Calle dei Fabbri, 4710, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#118 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Venezia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Venezia is a four stars hotel located in Calle dei Fabbri, in the heart of Venice, just few steps from Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark Square. It is easily reachable by all the public and private service on duty in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Bella Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Venezia Venice
Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.