We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Venezia to your Saves list
Bella Venezia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Please be clear that you are booking the main hotel and you will be good. We have a lovely large room with amenities and a small canal view on 2nd Floor. We stayed for 2 nights - the staff was helpful, knew and understood English well. They were courteous, gave us nice ideas on exploring Venice by ourselves.

We do need to keep in mind that Venice Island is a city on canal. Hence there is no escaping walking 200-300 from Rialto bridge station with your luggage. Carry ones with 4 wheels and you should be good.

Venice is a costly place but its worth your while to lose yourself and enjoy its charm..

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel as rooms are much better there. It will add to your experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    113
    34
    19
    29
See reviews for
59
170
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

If you Go to Venice, and is not in good shape, carry small bags.This hotel is midway between Rialto station and Plaza San Marco.From both boat stops, we must walk at least 300 mt.
Great breakfast and simphatetic
Team
Nice room. Ours had a pleasant view of a small channel and one of its bridges

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I agree with hotel staff reply to recent negative reviews. The booking info seemed clear enough. We booked a room in the main hotel and were very happy with it. The hotel is in a superb location, v.close to major attractions so you can go back to relax for a bit very easily. Staff have been freindly and helpful and I was offerred a v.good rate for an additional night.

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions carefully so you get what you expect. My superior double had no view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I arrived in this hotel they told me that my room was outside in a dependance near there; I was a little bit surprised because my reservation was absolutely clear "Hotel Bella Venezia", nevertheless I was silent and followed the porter into this other room. In effect this room, that they presented me as a dependance, was the room of another hotel called "La Scala", the room was claustrophobic, without any night-tables nor mirrors in our room, you can't walk properly in our room because the bed occupied all the space and you had to walk back flanked the wall because there wasn't enough space; the bathroom was dirty and the shower broken, our room was near the lift so it was really noisy...
I went to the reception explaining my complaints and they answered me that the responibility was of the website on which I had my reservation....I phoned the website on which I booked this hotel and they gave me confirmation that my reservation was for Hotel Bella Venezia and not for this external room that in effect is another hotel without any star I think!!!!
It was really a bad experience and I felt sad mostly about their lack of honesty: they gave me wrong and false explanation, I could rebut because me too I work in a reception so I know how portals' reservations are managed...

Room Tip: Make sure that you are placed in Hotel Bella Venezia and not in external rooms which are part of ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBellaVenezia, Direttore at Bella Venezia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Ambrosino & Mr Virto,
we are really sorry to read this misleading review, usually also if negative we are happy to read the reviews of our customers because they help us to improve the quality of our hospitality, unfortunately your review, in our opinion, is not correct.
We just report here the exact words of the web-site where you made the reservation: "This is an economy room located in another building, Palazzo La Scala a Luxury Guesthouse, (next to the main building) and rooms can be small." Do you think that is not clear?????
We don't think is necessary to add anything...only that maybe from a person that make our job, like you wrote, some more reasonable and moderate opinion is expected...why did you mention the price you paid? and also on your check-out our Assistant Manager expressed you very kindly all our regret for your negative opinion in the same time illustrating you step by step your reservation and our fairness.

Arrigo Matterazzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vergne, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through venere.com and realized several weeks before our trip that the dates were wrong. venere.com didn't do a good job in resolving this issue, but Hotel Bella Venezia was notified several weeks before our trip that we would not be able to make the dates booked. They had plenty of time to re-book the hotel. We thought all was fine and then noticed a charge on our credit card for this hotel. Even though venere.com was responsible for the problem, I feel Hotel Bella took advantage of this situation. I sent three e-mails directly to them and never received a single response. I feel they collected money from us for a room we never used and were also able to book the room to someone else. I feel this was dishonest and wish they had had the courtesy to reply to one of my e-mails. I'm going to Venice again next month, but I DID NOT book this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBellaVenezia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bella Venezia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mrs Debbie,
we are really sorry to read how upset you are concerning the reservation, but on the same time we'd like to point out that you made a reservation on Venere.com for advance rate not refundable, that is very discounted rate but it does not allow cancellation or amendment as it is very clearly stated on the web-site where you made the reservation, so you were aware about cancelattion policy.
Furthermore you did not inform us or Venere immediately, ) please note that Venere sent you a confirmation on the same day...) and we have replied to your email, though our answer cannot agree with your request.
Anyway I think that when you wrote "Hotel Bella Venezia ripped me off", it is not true at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
københavn
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked and paid a 4 star "hotel Palazzo La Scala" according to photos and descrip-tion on there webside, but was directed to one of their other properties, (the Bella is one of a group of three) "Palazzo La Scala", 100 m down Calle del Fabbri.
A horrible place, comparable with a 2 star non serviced guesthouse.
A room with no view and tap remounted with tape in bathroom!!!!
We complained but they refused to change the room. Upgraded they called it, but not at all what we booked!
It seems that little of the 4 star rooms are in "Hotel Bella Venezia" and the rest 2 star are in other locations.
The change to get what you paid for, is less than 30% and we would advise anyone to go another place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Bella is one of a group of three. We had booked and paid for four nights at one of their other properties. When we arrived we were told the one we booked had work taking place and they had moved us to the bella. Upgraded they called it
The Bella was a horrible dreary place not at all what we booked. They said if we didnt like it we could leave so we did.
they refused to refund any of our 680 euros which we now have to try to get back
I would never advise anyone to go here or any of their other hotels

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bella Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Venezia

Address: San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Venezia is a four stars hotel located in Calle dei Fabbri, in the heart of Venice, just few steps from Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark Square. It is easily reachable by all the public and private service on duty in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Bella Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Venezia Venice
Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.