We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located spacious apartment for family on city break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Ca' Foscolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Ca' Foscolo to your Saves list
Residenza Ca' Foscolo
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Castello 5526, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly located spacious apartment for family on city break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our family (2 adults, 3 children) spent 2 nights at Residenza. The 2nd floor apartment (reached by stairs, no lift) with a twin and double room (and sofa bed in lounge/dining room) was perfect for our needs. Also had 2 bathrooms (both with showers and 1 with washing machine) and a small kitchen with fridge, dishwasher and food for breakfast/snacks (tea, coffee, cereals, bread, nutella, jam, meats, yoghurts and milk, which was replenished daily). Our teenage son was delighted that it also had free wi-fi! Located a few minutes from Rialto Bridge and about 10 mins walk from St Mark's Square so an ideal base for sightseeing, shopping and dining. Caught a river taxi from the airport to the Residenza's river boat stop and caught the river bus from Rialto (1 hour to airport, 14E per person) on way back. Apartment was spacious, clean and quiet, so perfect for us in every way. Friendly service and advice from Elizabetta and her colleagues. Would definitely recommend to other families who prefer apartments to hotel rooms, and would stay here again if we return to Venice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    42
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
150
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family, with three teenagers, spent 5 days in Venice at Residenza. It was a beautiful and spacious apartment . Clean and quite a new feeling room. The breakfast provided was mainly dry products but delicious and there was ample supplies . The staff were lovely, friendly and very accomodating to any request. Location was brilliant so close to the Rialto Bridge and 5 mins to St marks. Able to be dropped off at the door by water taxi was great. The piazza out the front was a bonus as you stepped out into plenty of room. Although there is no lift the staircase is wide and steps are a decent size. Would defintely come back here if ever in Venice again. Highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This residenza had a superb location right near the Rialto bridge and close to the vaporetto to get to/from the railway station and from the airport. It was also close to St Marks square and supermarkets, pharmacies and shopping. Elizabetta and Eleanora were so helpful with directions, providing me with an umberella and setting up a helicopter tour of Venice which I had vague details of. My room was so clean and spacious and warm. They catered very well for my gluten intolerance when providing breakfast to the room. I had a room on the 2nd floor which was tiring carrying my too large suitcase and other items up but I was prepared for this as the building is old and part of the charm was its character. Don't be mistaken the rooms had all modern amenities one could need. So if you are unable to climb stairs it would be advisable to point this out on booking. Overall I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Ca'Foscolo is an apart-hotel. The location is very good, few minutes from the Rialto stop. The service was awesome, giving a lot of information and very helpful with luggage.

There isn't an elevator, so it could be a trouble for some families. Despite that, the room is very spacious, clean bathroom and a huge living room. Ideal for big families or groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in November 2012, 2 adults and 2 teenagers for 2 nights prior to meeting up with a cruise ship. We took the airport bus directly to Venice and picked up a water taxi. ( Bit pricey, 70 Euros, but a great way to see Venice for the first time). The taxi driver was unsure where the hotel was and consequently the price went up when he rang and discovered the hotel was a little off the Grand Canal. The hotel is a short walk from the Rialto bridge and now with a little knowledge and hindsight I would have caught the local water taxi to the bridge and walked.

The reception staff were extremely helpful in explaining all the aspects of the apartment, attractions to see, restaurants and supermarkets. The apartment was spacious, clean and a continental breakfast, milk and water were supplied daily.

There is no lift available so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs.

The location is excellent for all amenities, attractions, restaurants, shopping etc and Venice is so small and compact you can easily walk everywhere and the numerous bridges certainly keep you fit.!!!

The only down side as mentioned previously is finding the place initially, make sure you take the phone number !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

During our recent visit to Venice we shared a 2 bedroom apartment with friends at Residenza Ca' Foscolo. This was our 2nd trip to Venice and both times we chose to stay at this lovely apartment hotel.
The staff members are wonderful and could not be more helpful! They advised us about tours and helped us to organise transfers as well as making us feel very welcome and comfortable. The apartments are beautifully presented, clean and comfortable. The location is ideal as it is so centrally located near the Rialto Bridge providing an easy walk to all the attractions of Venice.
Love it there!

Room Tip: Ask for lower level if mobility a problem. There is no pool or fitness centre but unable to revers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Residenza Ca’ Foscolo in Venezia during the third week of November 2012 for a few days. Overall our experience at Residenza Ca’Foscolo was outstanding. Upon arrival we were greeted by the very hospitable Eleonara. She helped us with the luggage (since there is no elevator), but wasn’t a problem for us at all. She also helped us with maps and recommendations.

The location of Residenza Ca’Foscolo is tucked away from the very busy foot traffic near the Rialto Bridge. The apartments are really close ( 2 minute ) walk from the Rialto Water taxi stop (which was extremely convenient since we had our granny traveling with us and it was perfect for getting from the airport and to the train station by water taxi). When you arrive you will see a Disney store and the building is along the right side alley behind the store ( as you keep on walking you will come across a bridge and its directly across the bridge). All the main attractions ( San Marco Square, Doges Palace etc) are within walking distance (10-15 minutes walking from the apartment). There is also a grocery store very close by which was good for basic things such as water, snacks and wine.

Residenza Ca’Foscolo is a beautiful building consisting of several apartments. Since we were a large group, we were split into two apartments. The apartments were modern, extremely well kept, clean and comfortable. The apartments were fully equipped with amenities such as clothing washer, safe, dishwasher, fridge, stove, and free wifi. It definitely felt like a home away from home which we enjoyed. During our stay we had the standard continental breakfast (cereal, pastries, jam, nutella, crackers, tea, coffee) which was prepared for us on the counter every day. We did have a few treats (packaged prosciutto, salami, and soft cheese) in the fridge.

This was my second trip to Venice and the first for most of my family. Overall Residenza Ca’Foscolo is a great base for long or short stays. I would definitely return to Residenza Ca’Foscolo in the future again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Ca' Foscolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca' Foscolo

Address: Castello 5526, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Ca' Foscolo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious dwelling of the noble Foscolo family, one of the most ancient Venetian dynasties and founders of the Most Serene Republic, this newly restored residence opens its doors to guests in its new role of upscale apartment-hotel. Ca' Foscolo is composed of spacious suites whose design and modern comfort meld with the gothic architecture of the courtyard whose the original well-head is decorated with bas-reliefs, and with the water entrance for guests who arrive by boat. At the ground floor of the palace, you will be welcomed in an elegant reception leading to the different apartments, which are located on two floors, each with a slightly different layout and named for a ship from the fleet of the Venetian Republic. The residence offers high quality service, and our staff, attentive and professional, will be at your disposal for useful information and suggestions for your stay in Venice. Strategically located in the heart of the city and easily reached by public and private transport, Ca' Foscolo overlooks a quiet Venetian square, a few steps from the Rialto Bridge and a few minutes from St. Mark's Square, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Ca' Foscolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca`Foscolo Hotel Venice
Residenza Ca Foscolo Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Ca' Foscolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.