We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Becher to your Saves list
Hotel Becher
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value and location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a great way to start our trip in Italy. The location can absolutely not be beat - it gets 100% in that category.

The rooms are small and the bed is hard - those are my only complaints. However, it is great value as it is ideally located, clean and safe. Overall, we had a great experience!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    191
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
148
384
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family of three stayed in a triple in this hotel in May 2014, and I'm really glad we chose to this hotel! We stayed in the triple that has two separate rooms, each with their own bathroom. It's perfect for families traveling with a surly teenager that needs his own space (i.e., my brother).

The location in San Marco was perfect. Short walking distance to a lot of sights and good restaurants. The walk from the closest water taxi stop is only about 10 minutes.

The best part of this hotel, in my opinion, was the service. Everyone at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The airline had lost my luggage on my flight into Italy, and the front desk was really helpful with communicating with the airline about directions for dropping off my suitcase. The one morning we slept in and nearly missed breakfast. My mom ran downstairs to grab us something to eat, and they insisted on preparing a whole tray to bring up to us.

Wifi was free, you just had to get a code to sign in with. It's one code per device, but they gave us as many codes as we needed without questioning it.

Overall, good location, reasonable price, good breakfast, friendly staff. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We arrived in Venice to start our vacation through Italy. Daniel and all the staff at the hotel made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with directions.
This is a small hotel that is beautifully furnished inside. There is a small patio downstairs on the canal.
The location is perfect, being far enough away from the touristy areas, yet within walking distance of everything.
The bathroom was very spacious considering European standards.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are the best. It is a small canal so not a problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Family of three stayed in Suite 310 for 3 nights. We felt this is a hard working little hotel that does it's very best to cater to budget travelers. Doing Venice on a budget is about prioritizing and giving up what you can sacrifice. All in all, I was satisfied with my choice to stay here.

Pros: The location is superb -- You simply can't beat that in value. 5 min stroll to San Marco and a dock that makes water taxis convenient. 24 hour front desk offers security. The free breakfast is good quality with excellent cappuccino and attentive servers. Room was clean and all the employees are pleasant and hard working. All the basic amenities like driers, hot water for coffee are offered. Everything, including the A/C and shower, was in good working condition during our stay.

Cons: Rococo style Interior could use a revamp in both the common areas and the private rooms.The carpets look like they have seen better days. Our room 310 was a decent size room that opened up to the 3rd floor sitting area, but when anyone on the same floor inserted their key into their door, our door would shake like someone was about to bust in. Don't expect a hand with your luggage as this is a small hotel that doesn't have manpower to spare. Tiny elevator is for 1 or 2 skinny people. Breakfast room is about the size of a small bedroom and you will be sitting elbow to elbow with strangers. Wifi works but is slow.

Room Tip: Room 310 is a good size room. We were a family of 3 and the hotel converted a sofa into a child'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We just came back after staying 2 nights. We had a great little room made up of 2 separate rooms - 1 with a double, 1 with a single and 2 bathrooms! (Room 206). Perfect as we were traveling with our 16 year old son! The rooms were nice - typical Venetian style and adequate space especially for Europe! Very clean, large bathrooms.Internet was spotty but also typical I think! Breakfast was good too and nice that it was included. Location was great - easy to get to st marks square. We took a private water taxi to and from airport. Expensive, but so worth it! Beautiful views and super convenient --- not walking through Venice with luggage! The staff was friendly and helpful. Having drinks on the tiny dock was also great! Would definitely recommend this hotel and come back again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a pleasant enough hotel in a good location, but really is a basic 3 star hotel with just ok service. If you don't expect much you won't be disppointed! There was no help with our luggage when we arrived, but thankfully there was a lift. It is very small but holds a person and a large case. The room we had was fairly spacious and looked onto the canal, or at least the building next door which was very beautiful. There were no closing curtains, but we realised that you close the external shutters each night to provide privacy and block the light. The bed and pillows were very firm but comfortable enough; the bathroom was very aged and a bit cramped with a stand in shower that has seen better days; and the decor was typically Venetian. The continental breakfast was ok and provided in a small room looking onto the canal or if you are quick you can get the table out on the boat ramp area. The wifi was very poor with little signal from one's room and if you could get a signal elsewhere, it was very slow. I heard the same problem from other guests. There is a computer but this is set up on a coffee table in a cramped space and was equally slow. I suspect the internet connection only works when one person is using it. Also, you only receive one key which is a problem when there are two of you and one wants to return to have a rest or the other is trying to get onto the internet. The best thing was that if you pay cash you get a 10% discount, so this is a welcome reprieve from high Venetian costs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this place. The hotel has its own private dock for water taxis which is a great plus when you are lugging your bags from / to airports . Another plus is the lift albeit small .
We stayed in the Junior suite ,which is a bit small to accommodate 4 people....but this is Venice !
There are a lot of restaurants close by , even a supermarket . St Mark's square is just a 7 min walk although you don't realize it coz of all the window shopping !
We asked the hotel to pick us up from the St Lucia station as well as got dropped at the Airport. No hassles , very prompt and reasonable charge.
Pros :
Clean, charming room , great location .
Cons :
Limited choice in the breakfast , more a cold one.

On the whole, will definitely recommend.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Becher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.