We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Becher

Save Saved
You added Hotel Becher to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Becher
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1857, 30010 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 382 hotels in Venice
Zurrieq, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely hotel although a little too hot even for February. Clean and tidy room with good en suite, free WiFi in rooms . Great breakfast. Very helpful reception. Only 5 mins from St Marks square and 7 mins from Rialto Bridge. Good restaurants nearby. Gondolas passing right by the window. Hotel located in quiet street near Fenici Theatre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    168
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
131
338
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is an excellent hotel that is everything you would want from a hotel in Venice. Tucked away on a small side street with it's own gondola stop. It was very well decorated inside and the rooms were lovely with very well appointed en-suite bathrooms and lovely painted furniture. The room also came with free wireless internet which is excellent for when you need to find a restaurant for the night. The staff of the hotel were lovely and were always so helpful, nice touches like coffee before you left are reasons to make you chose this hotel again. The location of the hotel is also excellent with it being just far enough away from San Marco to avoid the big crowds but not to far to be able to walk it in minutes. It also has a number of excellent bars and restaurants nearby. One piece of advice is to make sure you have a map of the route to your hotel as it with be invaluable when you get there.

I would definitely recommend hotel Becher and look forward to retuning one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

After a two week, three city European tour Hotel Becher was our favorite. Lovely rooms right on the canal. Gondalas with sing muscian passing under our window was something right out of a dream. Walking distance to every attraction. Lovely, helpful staff and the best breakfast and cappuccino in Europe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel which is authentically decorated and feels like a proper Venice experience. Its ideally located as its only a short walk to St Marks or to the Rialto bridge but its in a quieter area and the nearby bars and restaurants are reasonably priced compared to the St Marks tourist rip offs. We had the junior suite, which is one of about 6 rooms with canal views and it also has a narrow balcony. The junior suite is a huge room, which is unusual for this price range in Venice. The hotel can be accessed directly from the water so if theres a group of you then the 120 to 130 euro private speed boat taxi is a great way to get to the airport. Overall a great venice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view at booking or get the junior suite which is a nice large room with a narrow bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and i stayed for two nights.
Our room was fantastic, perfect in every detail.
The staff was super nice and courteous.
We met Massimo he is part of the staff, at the end our of our stay he brought our luggage from the hotel to Murano so that we could go straight to the airport without having to ocmr back to the hotel to pick up the luggage. It was very nice of him.
Grazie Massimiliano!
We want to go back, hopefully in the summer . Highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Becher in Venice on our summer Europe trip. We really liked the location, with its convenient walking distance to most of the sights in Venice. The canal to the back entrance was also fantastic, with easy access by water taxi and by Gondola. We enjoyed the included breakfast and sat on the intimate balcony over the water which was a nice treat. The rooms were pretty modest, even for Italy, fine if you are touring a lot but not for long stays. I felt the value based on what we spent was questionable, but the staff was very friendly and overall we had a good stay at this property. Venice overall was fantastic and a must see!

Room Tip: I would suggest working directly with the hotel to get a room suited for your needs. We were a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel located right near San Marco square. There is a little terrace overlooking the canal where you can eat breakfast or have a few drinks. Decorated beautifully, and the woman at the desk is very friendly and always willing to help. Breakfast is yummy and it is close to some lovely restaurants! Would definitely recommend staying here, especially at this price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30010 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Becher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.