We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Becher to your Saves list
Hotel Becher
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queen Charlotte City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I loved this little hotel. It is in an excellent location, just a short walk to San Marcus Spuare. Gondolas went by everyday and the gondoliers sang - probably in homage to Mozart who lived across the little canal for two years while in Venice. Breakfast was great and the staff were excellent. I would go back there in a minute.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the canal, it is simply wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    192
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
149
386
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Booked this hotel through a pacakge deal with Briitish Airways, payed a bargain £185 per person for 2 nights in this hotel and flights in November.
A warning for others travelling this time of year...Venice easily floods! We arrived in Venice by the Water Bus and although the walk to the hotel isnt very far it was very difficult dragging our suitcases through flooded streets and we got very lost! Would definately recommed getting a private water taxi to the hotel if you can afford it (around 100 euros each way compared to 37 Euro return for the water bus.
The hotel itself was a lovely little hotel and we were greeted and shown to our room by the lovely Anna. She couldnt have been more helpful, drawing out routes on maps and explaining the easiest ways to get to all the sights! (I cant say the other staff were quite as friendly!)
The room itself was small but beautifully decorated and we were upgraded to a room with a balcony at no extra charge.
Very quiet hotel - hardly any noise at night even though our room was right next to the bridge.
Breakfast was adequate, quite a limited choice and a very small room but for the price we paid i cannot complain.
Overall we enjoyed a lovely two ngiht stay in this hotel. Very close to anything, literlally a 5 minute walk to both st marks square and the rialto bridge. Nothing is too far away.

If your staying in November bring your wellies! Although it didnt rain our whole stay many of the streets flooded from the rising water levels, this didnt effect our trip though - walking through a flooded st marks square in wellies was actually quite fun! All the shops and restuarants are prepared for this so nothing closes!

Room Tip: ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here with my dad and my 83 year old Grandmother. It was very convenient to have a private dock for taxis and gondolas. The front desk was very helpful when it came to taxi or restaurant reservations. The room was small even by Italian standards. It is well situated in the heart of Venice and overall, I nice place to stay. I think it is a little over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just stayed at the Hotel Becher in October. 2 adults and 2 children.
We upgraded to a room which overlooked the canal for 20 euros a night. It was well worth the money (Prosecco thrown in!) The children loved looking out at the gondolas every morning and evening.
We sat on the terrace, whilst the children waved to everyone passing.
Staff were incredibly friendly and could not do enough. They gave great advice on places to eat with children, how much to pay for a gondola and where was the best place to hire one. They were always approachable.
Breakfast was a buffet, a small room, but you could eat as much as you liked.
The room was spotless and certainly worth the upgrade. It was absolutely magical watching life passing by on the canal.
The hotel is is a super location - so peaceful at night, close to St Mark's Square and the shops.
I would really recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We (3 couples) spent one night after a cruise before our flights home. We were all tired and ready to go home but WHAT A WONDERFUL SURPRISE to end our vacation. We only wish we could have stayed longer! We landed at the front lobby in our water taxi and were picked up to go to the airport the same way. Our room overlooked the canal and sitting in the open window was like a travelogue video. In addition the staff was helpful and so friendly, they even set out a great breakfast earlier than scheduled so we could eat before our shuttle to the airport. By the way, we were only a few blocks from all of the attractions of Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This lovely and charming hotel is truly a hidden gem. Anna & Massimiliano were the perfect hosts. As we arrived at their private dock by the water taxi they arranged for the 3 of us, we were greated with big smiles from both of them. They instantly made us feel welcome! We had the most charming room, it was a junior suite #310 that had a balcony that overlooked the Luca Canal. In the evening the singing gondoliers would glide by, it certainly added to the ambiance. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was more than adequate and quite delicious. The location is fantastic about 5 minutes walking to everything St.Marks and to Rialto. Massimiliano even arranged for us to have a bottle of Prosecco on their landing our last night, with the candles lit we sat and enjoyed the Gondolas going by. We will definately stay here again!!!

Room Tip: #310 is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My family of 7 and I stayed here this month. The beautiful Anna was so attentive in her service. She went out of her way to assist us wherever she could as my youngest daughter has a disability and we did face some challenges.
We occupied three rooms, a family suite, a junior suite and a classic room. The first two had a gorgeous balconies overlooking the canal and the family room, windows with canal views. The beds firm but comfortable and the furnishings classic Venetian style. As we were a large group we were provided breakfast in a separate dining room. The coffee was delicious and cold meats, cheeses and breads nice however we found the variety very limited. Some eggs and fruit certainly would jot have gone astray. I think this was partly due to the fact that we were not in the main dining room.
The other thing which was lacking in all but the junior suite was tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is not served until 730 so if you are an early riser or dealing with jet lag and awake early, you have to go out and try and find somewhere to get a coffee or tea.
As far as amenities and location for those with a wheelchair or pram, this is a great hotel. There is one small bridge which we managed well as the stairs are low and longish making it easier to scale up and down. Once over these you can make your way around most of the central area and San Marco without any further stairs, although all in al, Venice is certainly not disability friendly.
We travelled with a private water taxi to the hotel and back to our departure point which made arrival and departure easy.
All in all, this was a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay again, even if just to say ciao to kind and gracious Anna!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Becher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.