We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Becher

Save Saved
You added Hotel Becher to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Becher
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1857, 30010 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 382 hotels in Venice
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Location was great,you need to pay attention to where you are going instead of looking at the awesome sites and store windows so that you don't get lost, great location.
Fell in love with Venice,will be back!

Room Tip: We used water taxi service so finding hotel was easy Family room & bathroom was spacious We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    171
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
133
340
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Fairly decent hotel with great service and small rooms. The breakfast is free so it's hard to complain to much about the lack of options. Our room was clean, with a great view on the canal. The location is within a few minutes of St Marco square. If you do come in flood season no matter where you stay make sure to get a room above the first floor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October and arrived the day after the highest water levels in living memory. Despite this the hotel staff were helpful and our room was not affected. The hotel is 5 mins walk from St Marks Square and as we had paid extra for a canal view we could enjoy the sights and sounds of Venice. It's worth that little bit extra to get the canal view and would recommend room 302.

Room Tip: Room 302 has the small balcony and view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel Belcher is a fine hotel located near the La Fenice opera house in Venice. It is in a relatively quiet location, close to major sites.

Our room was nicely furnished. Staff members were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here. There is a dock that can be used for water taxis, and gondolas pass by the hotel's breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Location, breakfast, quiet room, friendly staff. All these things are important when you travel with a 14 and 12 year old teenager to Venice as a family. We splashed out on arriving by Water taxi, hotel has got it's own canal entrance. Did the same thing when we left, felt like film stars. Staff are great, family room for 4 people was very good.Location was brilliant.
Breakfast managed to keep my 12 year old son filled up until lunch time.
Had a room overlooking the canal, gondolas went past all day and in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

In all our travels, we have always managed to choose 'the perfect accommodation'. Not sure whether this is just good luck, or good research. In Venice, one is spoilt for choice. So many good accommodations.
HOTEL BECHER exceeded our expectations.
We booked through Booking.com, and right from the start, the communication was prompt - I even recieved an email from the hotel confirming my booking (and also confirming my request for a room with a canal view)
Knowing that the hotel has a private landing on the canal, we decided to take a water-taxi from the station. We were met at the landing by Massimo, who is the son of the owner- Massimo is also the manager.
He welcomed us, and lifted our luggage from the water taxi- things were looking up. A lovely welcome.
Check in was swift, and our luggage was taken to our canal facing room.
The room was.........just beautiful. Typical Venetian furbishing, with heavy brocaded curtains and bedspreads, Murano glass lamps, and deep pile carpet. The bathroom modern, clean and well lit.
After a wander around the hotel we went down to the landing, where there is a sitting area, with tables & chairs- and sat watching the Gondolas float by while sipping on tall glasses of icy cold fresh fruit juice. This spot we frequented daily, for breakfast, teas and at night after exploring the city.
The hotel is on a side canal, which was good. Noise levels were low, and water traffic busiest in late afternoons. At night it was quiet, only the lapping sound of the canal audible. Mozart stayed in a villa just opposite Hotel Becher. There is a plaque about his stay, with info and dates..
We had originally booked only 3 nights here, but loved Venice, and Hotel becher so much that we extended our stay to 8 days. Massimo was kind enough to juggle some other bookings around, and we managed to stay in the same room- except for our last night (of which I will post another hotel review)- Hotel Bechers 17 rooms were fully booked for our last night, so Massimo recommended another. He was so helpful , even moving our luggage himself (in his small motorboat) to the other hotel. Such quality service is rare, in my experience.
I can recomend this hotel with absolute confidence.

Unique Qualities: The breakfasts were pure joy. Served between 6.30am and 10 am, with traditional hot or Continental choices. Fresh juice (3 types)
The view and sounds from our room, and the landing, of canals with the singing Gondaliers made 'staying home' a pleasure. Often the midday sun was very hot, and we retreated to our hotel for a rest when this happened.
Free Wi-Fi and Flat Screen television in rooms.
Cleanliness and friendly staff.
Great location- within 5 mins to Piazza St Marco and surrounding shops and restuarants.

Address: San Marco 1857, Venice, 30010, Italy
Comparison: less expensive than average
Price: US$80-120
Theme: Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This little hotel is initially very hard to find but once you find it, it is a excellent start to visit Venice. You are close enough from everything but not too close to be in a quiet area. Once you get use to the city mazed, you noticed that the hotel is very central. Also they have their on very small deck for boats. You are minutes away from everything; shopping, historic locations and restaurant. In fact you are right in the middle, that's why the prices are all very high. The staff is excellent and helpful. The breakfast area is small but just enough, same thing for the breakfast. We needed a little bigger room for our party and had the family room. It was very spacious for Europe but a little old and needed some cleaning on the carpet and walls. It I go back to venice, this hotel will be on the top of the list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30010 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Becher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.