We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff - just let down a little by cleanliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ca' Fortuny to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle della Mandola 3752, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff - just let down a little by cleanliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a great small hotel (I think 11 rooms), situated about 3 minutes walk from the Sant Angelo stop on the Grand Canal - serviced by Alilaguna boat (the Orange line) direct from airport. That journey takes about 1 hour. Its just off the main East-West path south of the Grand Canal - so its nice and quiet, but takes literally a few minutes to get somewhere busy. Rialto bridge and San Marco are close by - its genuinely in the middle of Venice perfect to go in any direction.
There aren't many rooms - but it does have a small lift, which might be helpful for some people. We stayed in room 205 - which was plenty big enough. The bed is large and comfortable, with large windows and good curtains if you want to block out the bright morning sunshine!!. There isn't much of a view but then, you aren't in Venice to sit in the room.
The bathroom is fine, although for some reason there is no shower curtain but the floor doesn't really get wet if you are a bit careful. My only gripe is that the room was pretty dusty. The bed linen was fine, and the bathroom too, towels changed no problem - but the cups, kettle and sideboard were all pretty dusty. I think if you used those items they would get cleaned..... In my mind it just needs a good spring clean. Other than that, it can't be faulted.
Breakfast is served 7:30-10:00 on the ground floor. Its a nice breakfast room, with an outdoor area when its sunny. There is a selection of fruit, and the usual breads and cereals. Free wifi is available and worked ok in the room - you can ask for more than one code, if you have more than 1 item needing connection. The staff are friendly and helpful with any requests you might have. It was possible to leave luggage early (before checking in time) and after check out (for a late flight). There are many restaurants nearby.
If I visited Venice again, I would certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea c, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind review. We do our best to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible and if there are some weak points we will improve them to offer you a better service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
104
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very good small hotel, with the usual basic amenities. Rooms well decorated and very clean; outside patio; good choices of breakfast; helpful, amenable and knowledgeable staff. The location was central, so the but in a small, quiet street, so no crowds of people passing through. The hotel supplies a good map of Venice; but I suggest bringing your own to help you get there. Those of us with a poor sense of direction got lost a few times in the narrow lanes around the hotel! I would go there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet street. Our room was towards the back, overlooking the courtyard and other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again next time you will decide to come back to Venice. Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel really is a little gem - staff incredibly attentive and friendly and help you out with anything you need to know. Breakfast very nice, with a lovely patio outside if the weather's nice. Great location as not slap bang in the middle of v. touristy San Marco but only a 5-10 minute walk there. After a nightmare journey into the actual island (booking a private water taxi that cost a bomb but dropped us on the wrong side of the island resulting in a half hour walk in the rain at 11pm) arriving at Ca'Fortuny was a small miracle. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you so much. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Greetings from Venice! Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was a short walk from the apartment of friends who are living in Venice, it was a fabulous choice. First, the location is great - on a quiet street, slightly off the tourist path, but only a pleasant 10-minute walk to San Marco, 5 minutes to a vaporetto/alilaguna (airport boat) stop on the Grand Canal, etc. Walking is what you do in Venice, so this was great. The room was very large, with a good-sized bathroom, all was very comfortable, well-supplied, extremely clean (but why do European hotels feel that a glass screen that covers only half the bathtub is a good idea for shower control?) I note especially the bathroom sink area, which had a lot of counter space, always excellent when several people are travelling and all need to put their toilet items somewhere. The wifi in the room worked well, there were plenty of lights, hair dryer, etc. The breakfast in the hotel was very nice, the usual pastries (with an excellent spinach pie most days), cereals, cold cuts, yogurt, fruit, etc., all fresh and nicely presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything that we needed. Finally, the rate was very good (Venice in March). If we were going to Venice again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guests, it is great to read such a good review. We will be happy to welcome you again during your next stay in our city. Greetings from Venice! Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel before in 2011 and 2012, and now in 2013.
It is still the best in this part of Venice.
Close to all important attractions, close to good restaurants and close to the Vaporetto and Allilaguna stop.
Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you very much. We are glad to know that every time you come you enjoy your stay here. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes from Venice! Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely little hotel, very clean, lovely people. Great location, loved it! Highly recommended. Situated in a quiet street and then just round the corner you have all the restaurants, cafes, shops and a supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again next time you will decide to come back to Venice. Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Looking at hotels in Venice on the whole I felt the standards are pretty low for the price you pay. It's not exactly value for money that's for sure. So when we took the plunge we booked the hotel for 2 nights. Seeing if it was awful.... It would only be for two nights...

Anyhow I'm glad to say it wasn't awful but it wasn't somewhere that wowed me. I would say the plus points for this hotel is the location, bathroom and slippers... ( it's not often you get slippers these days in hotels, so that was a nice touch).

But be aware before you book, please look at which room you book, as we booked the economy room annex. And in nowhere does it say its in there sister hotel. So when we got there, and the lady said we can give you a free upgrade to stay at Ca fortuny. I was bit startled as I thought that's where we booked. If I wanted to stay at you sister hotel ( which I since did some research on which I think is called san gorgio) I would of booked there. So I think it's a little shady and misleading to customers who book the economy room thinking its in ca fortuny but in fact somewhere else.

So in that respect that's not very good. However we were very greatful that they upgraded us to staying there. The location makes its a perfect area to stay.

Room Tip: If you see the word annex you should check whether its actually staying at ca fortuny or there siste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Fortuny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Address: Calle della Mandola 3752, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Fortuny 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ca' Fortuny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Fortuny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Fortuny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.