We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class All The Way!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #17 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Class All The Way!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was extremely happy with this hotel if I ever go to Venice again I would stay here again in a heartbeat. From the reception to breakfast it was class all the way the reception staff were so friendly they made it a point to remember our names and joke with my boys. The rooms were clean and superior to any other hotel I stayed at in Venice. Breakfast was included and it was well worth it the food was terrific very fresh and a great selection. Wifi was free just get the passcode from the desk. If you stay you must give the rooftop bar a try even if you don't drink it's a fantastic view and atmosphere. In summary great hotel do yourself a favor and stay there you won't regret it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    207
    26
    6
    10
See reviews for
177
712
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

For reference, I traveled around Italy for two weeks and stayed in four different hotels in four cities. All of the hotels were in comparable price ranges and were comparable quality.

This hotel was in a great location, and the hotel itself was pretty good. The front desk staff was mostly helpful. I felt our checkin was kind of rushed and they didn't give us all the information (like the wifi password). The wifi was frustrating because I had to enter the randomly-generated username and password every single time I unlocked my phone.

The room and bathroom were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The decor in the rooms is a bit much (not my style!), but that seemed typical of the area. There was no view of anything from the rooms. The bed was actually two twins pushed together, but was surprisingly comfortable. I never noticed the seam in the middle. The beds are firm, which was consistent in all of my hotels in Italy. Sometimes when I would return to the room, it would be warm and stuffy and would take a while for the a/c to cool it off.

Breakfast was exactly what I expected, pretty much the same as all the other hotels. They have a lot of cakes and pastries and then eggs and bacon for the tourists. The food was ok, but I did get a cappuccino that was luke warm. :(

I loved the rooftop bar and bartenders, but I mistakenly thought for some reason that the rooftop deck would have a view of the canal. It did not, but it did have a view of the top of the campanile.

If I were to return, I'd probably try to find a hotel right on the water if possible. If that were not possible, I would return to Hotel a la Commedia.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We only spent one night here. I wish it was many more. From the moment we walked in the door the front desk manager was great. We was a polite gentleman and made us feel welcomed. Later on he even arranged a gondola for us and even walked us there. Then there was Giovanni the bartender. He was so nice it felt like we were family. These two gentleman are PURE CLASS! I just cant say enough about everyone there. We loved it! As for the hotel and room itself. They were awesome too. If you are going to Venice, this is the only and only choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had booked a 3 night stay in this hotel as a surprise for my wife's 50th birthday but unfortunately our daughter became seriously I'll so we had to cancel our trip.
The management of this hotel, despite Expedia pleading our case, refused to reimburse us a single penny of the £600 cost & as there's not a single available room on those days I can only imagine they could have sold them over & over again easily.
Absolutely heartless!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A La Commedia is conveniently located near Teatro Goldini, close enough to Rialto and San Marcos but just enough off the main road to avoid the tourist mayhem. The staff was very friendly and helpful meeting all our needs, giving directions and suggestions, and the bartender was friendly and didn't mind when the bar was filled with World Cup fans (some who ordered and some who didn't). Our room was on the upper floor in the front, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was great -- Italian style with lots of variety, fruit, tarts, cheese, meat, great coffee (and scrambled eggs and bacon for those who wanted) -- our waiter Emmanule was friendly and attentive.The room was small but easily accommodated three with a roll in twin. The bed may be harder than most like but I preferred that. The rooftop garden bar is a nice touch and very relaxing. Will definitely stay here on my return.

Room Tip: Higher floors better if in front to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at La Commedia for three nights in Venice the end of June. We were traveling with our teenage children and had requested interconnecting rooms. We had arranged through the hotel for a meet and greet at the airport and was met with a driver who helped get us to the water taxi to the bellservice to the front door of the hotel. Awesome after flying for 19 hours! The hotel had a great centralized location and after a day we were able to wander around Venice and find our way back with ease. Our rooms were interconnecting and wonderful- this is a top class hotel- it would put some of our US hotels to shame. The rooms were beautiful and extremely clean. Breakfast was very nice along with friendly service. They offered a nice selection of hot and cold food choices so that you did not have to eat the same thing every day. The Cappucinos were wonderful! We did have some Internet issues as well but found that we had Internet issues ALL over Italy not just at this hotel. This is a pricey hotel but everything in Venice is pricey- the quality, service, friendliness, cleanliness, rooms - everything met expectations and is worth the price. The only negative experience we had is the "free Murano glass tour" offered through the hotel- we took that, got to the Island had a "Guide" assigned to our family- sat down for a 10 min glass blowing demonstation then ushered into the showroom where he followed us around trying to show us glass peices for thousands of dollars. When he realized we were not in that market we were told we could go to the "gift shop" to purchase glass in our price range ($500 range). Then we were left to fend for ourslelves to figure out how to get off the island and back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Since we were staying for three nights- we paid extra for a "Superior" room and the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our last of 5 hotels on a 2 week Italian trip. Its a nice hotel in a good location. The staff was helpful. The breakfast was fine. The bed was somewhat uncomfortable as it was two twin beds pushed together.

the roof top bar was nice - bartender is a character

The only thing that I really didn't care for at this hotel is they ask for your room key when you leave to go out and about in Venice. They then reset your room temperature to 22C - which was very, very warm. We learned this after coming back to a hot room, and prevented it from happening again by holding on to the key instead of giving it to the front desk to hold.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a La Commedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.