We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham, al
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Rome, Florence, Tuscany Countryside, and Venice. This hotel was my favorite throughout our trip. It is
beautiful and the location and service is perfect. After much research I was very pleased I chose this hotel. Just one word of advice. There are 2 options when hiring a private water taxi to return to the airport. There is the one where the water taxi will take you all the way to the airport dock and drop you with a 5 minute walk up to the airport. The other is the water taxi will take you through the canals for a 10 minute boat ride and then drop you at a dock where a taxi driver will take you from there on a 20 minute ride right to the airport doors. We thought we were doing the boat ride all the way to the airport and were disappointed with the arrangements. After emailing the hotel once returning home to inquire about this (they set it up) it was a misunderstanding between my husband and the hotel front desk attendant. It was still a great stay and Venice was wonderful, along with this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracym2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It was very central for San Marco and the Rialto. It was very clean and the staff were exceptionally helpful with any questions we had. We were in a junior suite which had its own, small balcony with a table and chairs, and inside a sofa and plenty of room. At night we heard no noise from any other guests in our bedroom. Breakfast was good and the roof terrace really a delightful place to relax with a drink or something to eat - away from the bustle of the streets below.

This area is very crowded with tourists; but it only takes a short walk to find more peaceful and very pretty areas close by. We ate, one evening, at the nearby Aqua Pazza restaurant which was situated in a lovely piazza. We would recommend this for the ambience and good service. Allow 60 euros per person including wine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnv_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from 3 night stay at La Commedia, nice interior, lovely comfortable rooms,nice terrace to return to after busy sightseeing day or shopping !!! , for a few G&T's or cocktail, even if drinks are a little expensive. Breakfast room on small size but not a problem.
Would definitely return. Just one thing no female staff on reception, noticed the same at hotel in Rome, not wishing to be sexist but would say hotel lacks the femine touch at reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April-illy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel has lovely rooms that are very clean. The roof top bar is a great idea and is an ideal place to end the night.

This is however a 4 star hotel trying to be a 5 star hotel. The day time staff seemed nice enough, night time staff are rude and unhelpful.
At check in, nothing about the hotel was explained to us. The WiFi does not work, you can not log into the system.
We asked the porter for an iron and he told us to ring reception to ask for one. We rang down to reception to ask for an iron straight away and the same porter brought it up. The porter could have done that without us ringing down.
I would describe this hotel as pretentious, the staff think they are better than you and they have ago at you if you don't do things the way they want you to.

The breakfast is a very small buffet and did not fill us up in the morning, which is a disappointment.

Because the level of service is not up to standard I would not spend the money on staying there again. I would try and find somewhere equally as a nice with staff that are not as rude.

I enjoy 4 star hotels and like the quality that you get however this place made me feel very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ka8dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

First class service and accommodation in the centre of Venice. This was our 3rd visit to the hotel and I'm delighted to confirm that standards have not slipped. We stayed in one of the junior suites which had 2 balconies and was on the 3rd floor (room 308) and did hear some noise from the rooftop bar,but only in the morning when furniture was being moved for cleaning. The room was exceptionally clean and the aircon was easily adjusted to a pleasant temperature for sleeping. Breakfast was good and their was a lovely relaxing atmosphere in the rooftop bar. Many thanks to all the staff for making our visit so memorable.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite if you can, but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbiet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. lovely spacious room (we did have a suite). Air conditioning worked well and quietly. Had a free bottle of prosecco on arrival which was one of a number of pleasant surprises. Only issue is on 3rd floor you can hear the rooftop bar at night. Wonderful location. Breakfast Ok, though not spectacular.

Room Tip: 3rd floor are under the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelphilosopher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wow what a beautiful place and fantastic service!! From the reception to the bedroom is pure class and great attention to detail! I recommend you stay here as every night they told us where to eat where the locals go where the quality food is!! Everyone says Venice is so expensive but we went to the main parts in the main restaurants and it was very good value far from expensive! This hotel is a must!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoRobertoBoffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing