We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Save Saved
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 381 hotels in Venice
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous place in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Venice is expensive and this Hotel is no exception but the rooms are spacious and well appointed - luxurious actually. The staff is superb - endless patience with our questions and inability to operate the electronic keys ;-) They also added a third bed to a room when an additional niece joined our group at the last minute. The location is just a block off the grand canal very close to the Rialto bridge which really helps when you get a little lost in the maze of Venice streets and canals. Make sure you understand the electronic notification system for getting your room cleaned. We didn't and accidentally left the occupied light on all day so didn't get maid service.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are a bit smaller but have wood beam cathedral ceiling and quick access to roof t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    771
    179
    24
    6
    10
See reviews for
145
615
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overall very good, luxury rooms, great breakfast and central location and close to grand canal. Easy to find from Rialto bridge. Roof top terrace ideal, but closing for winter. Limited TV for English.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our first stop on a family trip to Italy. First time ever in Italy, so we were very excited. A la Commedia was wonderful! The hotel is a short walk from the Rialto stop. It was a great location!

After spilling some luggage into the canal while exiting the water taxi, we were a little discouraged. Once we got to the hotel, they were quick to offer us bags to stow the wet garments while waiting for our room. The bags and the rest of our luggage were stored until check in time. Meanwhile, we started exploring Venice.

Are rooms were ready when we return. They honored my request for 2 rooms on the same floor, near each other. The rooms were great and the bathrooms were luxurious (just like it's pictured).They brought in all our luggage promptly.

We did go up to the rooftop bar. Lovely view and very relaxing. Yes the drinks were pricey, but they were good! Definitely have to stop in for a SPITZ!.

The breakfast buffet was awesome and the staff was very attentive, Definitely would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not sure what to say about this hotel, its not fabulous but its not bad either. We gave it four stars because its better than average but its not really a 4 star. I think i would have preferred to be on one of the canals, for a more picturesque setting.
However this hotel is nicely located close to the Rialto stop on the water taxi so coming in from airport and leaving to go train station is quite easy.
The rooms are nice, but ours was a bit on the small side.
I think overall it's a nice hotel it may be that I just didn't love Venice...there were 12 cruise ships in port when we were there and it was just way too crowded.
We ended up leaving Venice and going to Burano, a small island about an hour from Venice known for its lace production, completely charming and picturesque.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs. UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As the rest of the reviews say this is a nice hotel in a good position with friendly staff and well decorated rooms. The roof bar is nice.

We had a junior suite which was on the back of the hotel looking directly onto a private house and it was the shady side.

The couple we were with had a standard room on the front sunny side with a nice balcony and the room wasn't much smaller, so the lesson is ask for a room on the front of the hotel if you like a suny balcony and don't bother with the suites.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are sunny, on the back shady
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was perfect last time ,3 years ago and on our return it still is perfect.
Our suite was beautifully decorated and appointed.Good air con,luxury bathroom.Attention to detail excellent.The most of the staff were still working here as on our previous stay,which is a good sign I think.
We loved the roof terrace for cocktails in the evening with St Mark`s Campanile in the distance.The location is perfect close to the Grand Canal ,Rialto and walking distance to St Mark`s square,BUT away from the hussle and noise of the Grand Canal.
The star rating is reflected in the prices,but certainly worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel's location was excellent, an easy walking distance to the major tourist attractions and surrounded by many restaurants and cafes. Not sure about previous reviews regarding breakfast as ours was very disappointing and the coffee didn't taste of coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a La Commedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.